We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from a 4*!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
Ranked #109 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I would advise people to avoid the Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt. I booked this as I though staying in a 4* hotel would be ok but this hotel is horrible and really does not warrent the 4*s. Not only is is situated in the heart of the red light district with people sat begging directly outside the hotel but it was disgusting and really run down. The staff were not particully help full and when we reported that the window was letting water in and all the carpet around it soaking, they didnt care and no body came to take a look. Also, the aircon blew air but there was no chill to it. The standards were very poor and the glass on the fire alarm call oints were broken. The hotel was not especailly that clean and the lift was in need of urgent replacement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 425 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 1 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here for 7 nights, part business for my partner, and the rest leisure. Leonardo is very central, we could walk most places within 15 minutes. Located right across the road from the train station which is very handy. This end of Muchener Strasse is a little seedy as it borders on the red light district, but 3 blocks down finds you on the outskirts of the main shopping and banking areas.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, and a few staff members in particular gave us outstanding service and were very friendly. It is only a small hotel and often only has the one reception person at night, so dont expect the service you would get in a 5 star establishment.
Housekeeping on the other hand were the only let down - a 7 night stay and our bed linen was not changed once (actually I requested twice for clean sheets, which I put on the bed myself). Also the coffee/tea and milk in the room was not re stocked each day so I had to keep getting that from reception. There was also no full length mirror, and only the one mirror in the bathroom. The airconditioner didnt work (it was quite warm during our stay) which made the room uncomforatble, and the hoteles wifi went down for 3 days which made business difficult for my partner. They did not seem too concerned.
Otherwise it was a handy hotel to stay in - we went for the motor show and most hotels prices were ridiculous at this time.
I would probably stay elsewhere next time, but it is ok for one-nighter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyMaree8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This place is very close to Frankfurthbf,in fact just across the street.
Reception staff were very helpful.He printed the name ,addreess and map of a few places we were searching for.He also kept our luggage sine we arrived before check in time and our room was not available/ready.
We had booked a triple bed room.Room was big.Even with three beds there was enough space.
However,the internet did not work,when we tried.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

After reading the reviews on this hotel, we were not sure what to expect. We were very suprised. We loved it. I can not say enough about the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. We were there during the Iron Man and the hotel was full. There seemed to be a lot of cranky people at the hotel and the staff handled them all very professionally and very quickly. Each staff member always had a smile and were willing to help in any way they could. The hotel is very close to the train station, we had no problems finding it at all. This was the last leg of a very long trip which was full of 5 star hotels and it was nice to finally have an authentic European hotel. We are from Canada and found the room somewhat small but very comforatable. Breakfast was included with our room rate, and it was very good. We were able to walk out the front door to the trolley and take it to the Frankfurt Zoo, which was very nice. We also used the nearby subway and trains. It was so exciting as we do not have a subway were we are from. We were on the second floor in the back and did not find it noisy at all. I find if you travel with a smile on your face and an open mind you will have way more fun. I recommend this hotel. Great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canada_girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

If you're looking for a conveniently located, clean hotel, then the Leonardo Frankfurt City is a very good choice. The rooms are spacious, well sound-proofed and complete with a large bathroom, as well as a safe and minibar. The hotel is situated only a fifteen minute walk from central Frankfurt and the surrounding area is essentially safe, even if it appears to be a little run down. The reception staff were polite, spoke several languages and were willing to help with any enquiries we had, and at €45 a night for a double room, the value of the hotel was hard to beat. If there is one negative aspect of the establishment, it would have to be that the communal areas (lifts, stairs, corridors, etc) would probably be more commonplace in a prison than a four-star hotel, however this is a minor criticism that did not hinder out stay. Overall, a good option if visiting Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hifh_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The hotel was unfortunately one big disappointment. They say that it is a 4-star hotel, but is should be maximum 3 star. Allthought it probably has all facities of a 4 star hotel on paper, we would not rate this as 4 star.

Complaints: The doors of the elevator are stickey (dirty), there was no iron for my shirts, we coudn't get breakfast on our room, the parking is smelly and worst of all: it is above a pub/disco that kept us awake untill 04:00. We had a room on the fifth floor, streetside, but were offered a room on the seventh, backside. Even there we could hear the disco.

Positive points: The location, which is almost next to the railway station. Staff at least tried to give us another room. The manager who was friendly enough to give us our money back. The room was large.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morningcoffee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#24 of 271 in Frankfurt
286 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
The Frankfurt Hotel
The Frankfurt Hotel
#50 of 271 in Frankfurt
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#56 of 271 in Frankfurt
585 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Ibis Styles Frankfurt City Hotel
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#33 of 271 in Frankfurt
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center

Address: Muenchener Str. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £49 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located adjacent to the central railway station and has optimal transport connections. All rooms have modern furnishing and facilities, just under half of the rooms have a balcony and are facing inwards, and all rooms have W-LAN access and a flat screen TV. Enjoy a peaceful and relaxing lounge atmosphere in the middle of the lively Main metropolis, ideal for business travelers and city tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing