We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
Ranked #110 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel as advertised.
It's very close to the Hauptbahnhof, so transportation is easy. The staff was not friendly and of little assistance. There are sets of steps everywhere, and moving large luggage
is a challenge (while the desk clerk frowns at you).
The room was a decent size. Bed acceptable but poor pillows. Bathroom tiny and shower streaked with mold. View of trash dumpster from window. But it was quiet. However, I must say breakfast was good and nicely presented.
Not a smile, thank you, can I get you a cab, anything at check out. Had to ask for a printed receipt, which caused another frown.
Acceptable for one night while transferring from train to airport, no more. There are many other choices in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwcii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

I stayed one night at this hotel which is very conveniently located near the train station. Overall, it's a nice hotel. However, there are several steps going up to the desk, which is a pain if you're hauling luggage. My single room was plain but clean. However, there was a lot of mold inside the shower around the frame, and that was NOT ACCEPTABLE. I complained at checkout to the front desk and was told the problem would be corrected.Also reportedly there was free wifi available, but it didn't work. Would be good place to stay if problems are corrected. Also, there are some good ethnic eateries in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katzenmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I would advise people to avoid the Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt. I booked this as I though staying in a 4* hotel would be ok but this hotel is horrible and really does not warrent the 4*s. Not only is is situated in the heart of the red light district with people sat begging directly outside the hotel but it was disgusting and really run down. The staff were not particully help full and when we reported that the window was letting water in and all the carpet around it soaking, they didnt care and no body came to take a look. Also, the aircon blew air but there was no chill to it. The standards were very poor and the glass on the fire alarm call oints were broken. The hotel was not especailly that clean and the lift was in need of urgent replacement.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntDNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 1 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here for 7 nights, part business for my partner, and the rest leisure. Leonardo is very central, we could walk most places within 15 minutes. Located right across the road from the train station which is very handy. This end of Muchener Strasse is a little seedy as it borders on the red light district, but 3 blocks down finds you on the outskirts of the main shopping and banking areas.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, and a few staff members in particular gave us outstanding service and were very friendly. It is only a small hotel and often only has the one reception person at night, so dont expect the service you would get in a 5 star establishment.
Housekeeping on the other hand were the only let down - a 7 night stay and our bed linen was not changed once (actually I requested twice for clean sheets, which I put on the bed myself). Also the coffee/tea and milk in the room was not re stocked each day so I had to keep getting that from reception. There was also no full length mirror, and only the one mirror in the bathroom. The airconditioner didnt work (it was quite warm during our stay) which made the room uncomforatble, and the hoteles wifi went down for 3 days which made business difficult for my partner. They did not seem too concerned.
Otherwise it was a handy hotel to stay in - we went for the motor show and most hotels prices were ridiculous at this time.
I would probably stay elsewhere next time, but it is ok for one-nighter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyMaree8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This place is very close to Frankfurthbf,in fact just across the street.
Reception staff were very helpful.He printed the name ,addreess and map of a few places we were searching for.He also kept our luggage sine we arrived before check in time and our room was not available/ready.
We had booked a triple bed room.Room was big.Even with three beds there was enough space.
However,the internet did not work,when we tried.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

After reading the reviews on this hotel, we were not sure what to expect. We were very suprised. We loved it. I can not say enough about the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. We were there during the Iron Man and the hotel was full. There seemed to be a lot of cranky people at the hotel and the staff handled them all very professionally and very quickly. Each staff member always had a smile and were willing to help in any way they could. The hotel is very close to the train station, we had no problems finding it at all. This was the last leg of a very long trip which was full of 5 star hotels and it was nice to finally have an authentic European hotel. We are from Canada and found the room somewhat small but very comforatable. Breakfast was included with our room rate, and it was very good. We were able to walk out the front door to the trolley and take it to the Frankfurt Zoo, which was very nice. We also used the nearby subway and trains. It was so exciting as we do not have a subway were we are from. We were on the second floor in the back and did not find it noisy at all. I find if you travel with a smile on your face and an open mind you will have way more fun. I recommend this hotel. Great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canada_girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#28 of 270 in Frankfurt
285 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
The Frankfurt Hotel
The Frankfurt Hotel
#50 of 270 in Frankfurt
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ibis Styles Frankfurt City Hotel
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 270 in Frankfurt
582 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#31 of 270 in Frankfurt
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center

Address: Muenchener Str. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £48 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located adjacent to the central railway station and has optimal transport connections. All rooms have modern furnishing and facilities, just under half of the rooms have a balcony and are facing inwards, and all rooms have W-LAN access and a flat screen TV. Enjoy a peaceful and relaxing lounge atmosphere in the middle of the lively Main metropolis, ideal for business travelers and city tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing