We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Oriental
Ranked #118 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Something special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Villa oriental is decorated in oriental style. Although the owner is Persian, it is a mixture of Moroccan, Egyptian and other especially Arab styles. Despite the mixture of styles, it is not kitschy and works quite well.
The list price seems to be very high, but there are often very good offers, especially during the weekends. For the offered price (60-80 e / room), it is an excellent deal for the quality and location.
The staff is very friendly. I was actually brought to my room where I was shown how everything works!
The rooms are comfortable. There is a satellite tv, safety box and minibar.
Drinks in the minibar, wireless internet in rooms and a newspaper are included in the price. The breakfast buffet is somewhat more comprehensive than what most German hotels offer. Good coffee!
In connection with the hotel is a very nice Persian restaurant (Hafez).
Perhaps the main drawback of the hotel is the street noise, especially in rooms with windows towards the very frequented Baseler str. You may need ear plucks if your room is on this side, because there is traffic through the night. It is peculiar that they have not installed soundproof windows, because so much has been invested for the decoration.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room towards the inner court
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    55
    26
    13
    5
See reviews for
4
49
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

It is a bit different and interesting with an oriental hotel in the middle of a European business city and it was done into every detail. However, there are reasons for not having stone floor rough wooden furniture in European hotels. The former feels very cold in winter time and the latter is quite difficult to keep clean.

The breakfast was ok but with heat fans blowing hot air over the things that should be kept cool in order to keep the warmth in the restaurant means that an early breakfast could be a good idea.

The service was very good and helpful with everything from check-in to help with directions and lightbulb-changing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Really enjoyed our one night at Villa Oriental - different yet beautiful decor. Helpful staff (immediately changed us from a double to a twin room when we requested it) and all in all a hotel I'd definately recommend to others looking for somewhere close to the train station to stay - with lots of character.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLSJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

This hotel is very conveniently located near the main train station, only a two minute walk. Be prepared for an unusual experience -- the decor of the rooms is very unique and a wildly tiled bathroom with no shower enclosure. Staff were very helpful and the attached restaurant is Persian cuisine and quite good. The breakfast buffet is excellent too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Great boutique hotel in the centre of Frankfurt very close to train station with good access to the Messe exhibition centre. Room very clean with air conditioning, flat screen tv, room safe and mini bar - even had a balcony. Good breakfast also included in room price.Thomas on reception could not be more helpful checking out directions and flight details etc. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzatheblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
552 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Everyone said Frankfurt was not a city to spend much time in so I only booked for one night. My friends also said that the area around the central railway station was a bit sleazy (I've seen worse). I arrived from the airport by train and walked for 5 minutes to get to the hotel. Imagine my surprise when I entered this boutique hotel and found a little oasis decorated in a mixture of Iranian and Moroccan decor. I had arrived very early in the morning, so I could not get into my room, but they served me tea and let me get changed and gave me a map so I could walk to the Saturday flea market along the river. This was also past numerous wonderful museums where I could easily have spent several days. After exploring the old city, I came back and had a rest in my Arabian nights room, and later went down to the restaurant next door which serves authentic Persian food. Suri is the owner and passionate about her restaurant. Her son Alexander runs the hotel. The next morning there was a dazzling array of fresh food, fruit,and different breads to fortify me before I walked to the station to get a train to Koblenz. The staff were so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for me. Thank you Tariq and Thomas. I had such a great time there that I booked in for my final night in Frankfurt before getting my flight home after a wonderful 3 weeks travelling around Germany. This hotel is a hidden gem and in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#35 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Grand Hotel Empire Frankfurt
#137 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Hotel Europa Style
#34 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#50 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#9 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Innenstadt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
#151 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Oriental

Property: Hotel Villa Oriental
Address: Baseler Str. 21, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing