We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Das Spenerhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Spenerhaus
Ranked #91 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location to visit landmarks. It offers free parking and free internet.
The room is very basic. It does not have air conditioning. I would recommend a room with air conditioning to all travelers. This hotel is very noisy at night. The pillows are low quality. The breakfast is average. The reception service is acceptable.

Room Tip: Not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    39
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
26
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel in April 2014 for a day and definitely value for money.

PROS:
- Excellent location, walking distance from nearby attractions - I took the Frankfurt on Foot walking tour which had its starting point nearby
- Clean rooms
- Decent breakfast
- Free Wi-Fi in the rooms
- Friendly staff

CONS:
- Small rooms (Not a problem for a short duration stay)
- There is a little noise from the church outside but it didn't really disturb my sleep

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a value for money stay in Frankfurt for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHk2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Das Spenerhaus is in a great Location close to riverside and old city centre.

We were very surprised at how quiet it was being just in a side street off the main area.
The hotel is clean and staff extremely helpful with some nice touches such as free mineral water in the fridge and sweets on your pillow.

Excellent breakfast provided and we would definitely consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisscakeNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Das Spenerhaus has a terific location which is easy walking to most of the tourist attractions and it felt safe to come and go at any time even for a solo woman traveller. Nearly all the other average priced hotels in the Frankfurt city centre are located close to the main train station (Frankfurt Hofbahnhof) which is a sketchy area especially after dark which even the locals caution you about.

Coming from the airport take the S-bahn (train) in the lower level of terminal "1" . The S-8 or S-9 will take you right to the Konstablerwache station. When you get to the street level, look for a building with a big "C & A" sign, which is on "Kurt-Schumacher" - turn right and walk towards the Main River. Once you cross Battonn Strasse, you will see a church, just past it is what looks like an alley & if you peak down it, you will see the Das Spenerhaus.

If you are arriving from the main train station from somewhere else, you can take the #12 tram to the Borne Platz stop on Battonn Strasse at Kurt-Schmacher & the hotel is just around the corner.

The hotel itself is clean but very stark and you definitely notice that it is run by a religious order. The staff are pleasant and helpful but not overly warm or friendly. There doesn't seem to be much effort put into consistency. Even though I paid more for a "comfort room" when I reserved, which apparently means a quieter location facing the garden - that isn't what I was given and there didn't seem to be much point in pushing the fact that I was facing the church and Dominikgasse street which was not quiet nor "comforting".

I also noticed that housekeeping had small bottles of juice, beer, wine etc on their carts that I assumed would go into the mini-bars as other reviewers had mentioned, but mine had only one bottle of water for both days of my stay. Not sure if only some rooms get that "perk", maybe they have a loyalty program or you have to be Lutheran to get the free drinks.

The single room was small, but reasonably efficient. Unfortunately, none of the rooms have a/c and the room I had was too noisy to leave the window open at night. For this reason alone, I probably will not return, however for the price and perfect location I was happy enough in the month of May before it was too uncomfortably warm.

The Main Kai (River Front) is a 2 block walk, the Romer about 4 blocks, the Sachsen area is 2 blocks then over the Alte Brucke bridge.

Breakfast was included with the room price and it was a decent spread of mostly breads, cheeses and meats with some fruit, yoghurt and cerals.

You will have no fear of losing your room key - it is a huge "interestingly" shaped metal piece that will sink to the very bottom depths of your purse.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the garden - I can only asume it would be quieter than mine that faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vansportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spotlessly clean, centrally located, wonderful staff and little extras that weren't expected - this hotel was simple excellence. The room was basic but immaculate and with everything I needed for a night, plus free (yes, free!) drinks and snacks in the mini-fridge and on the pillow. Even the beer was free. It's a walk to the main shopping and historic areas of the city, but best of all was the service - my tour bus on check-out morning didn't turn up, and staff went well out of their way to make calls and find out what was happening. Without their assistance I would have been stuffed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel was clean and in good condition. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to the river and the main tourist areas. We found this to be a big plus as the area around the main train station where a lot of the other hotels are situated, leans a bit to the dodgy side.

The street outside our room was quite noisy, with a lot of church recitals going on as well as people coming back from pubs. However, the hotel provided earplugs as standard in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were one week in Franfurt, hotel Das Spenerhaus. Our room was god, it was handicapped accessible, plenty of room.
Breakfast buffee was very good, vegetables + fruits. Just enought. Clean, nice, eating room.
We came by flight to Hahn airport, taken a bus to Frankfurt (14,-e and 2 hours) and a taxi from Railway station to hotel (8,-e, 5 min).
Centrum is very near, 5 min to walk. QB shops are nice prises but there are the expencive shops too, of course.
Citytour by buss costs 19,- e and takes 1 hour. Nice to see city around.
We liked very much this hotel, just enought to us. We like silent hotels, we don´t need disco etc around us, we like to sleep good.

Room Tip: silent, good to sleep, near centrum, good breakfast buffee, no musik and noise, easy to find, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sinikka_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#71 of 269 in Frankfurt
258 reviews
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#105 of 269 in Frankfurt
310 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel am Dom
Hotel am Dom
#176 of 269 in Frankfurt
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#123 of 269 in Frankfurt
110 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#124 of 269 in Frankfurt
137 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#148 of 269 in Frankfurt
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Spenerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Spenerhaus

Property: Das Spenerhaus
Address: Dominikanergasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Spenerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Das Spenerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing