We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great expectations, average satisfaction”
Review of Holbein's

Holbein's
Ranked #25 of 2,465 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Bucarest
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great expectations, average satisfaction”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The restaurant is located on the river Main, 800 m from downtown Frankurt. We have booked for a business dinner (19 persons), expectations being quite complex among the group, as we were somehow heterogeneous, from our country of origin. As the dinner menu was pre ordered (to avoid long waiting times, they said), I can say little about its complexity, but, I can tell you that you have to avoid fish dishes (Dorade Royale), as the fish is to salted and...not exactly fresh. The only remarkable part of the dinner was the desert: tasteful and elaborated.
The service is average and, not all employees speak German (to say nothing about English...).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DragulanescuGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    172
    39
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I went to this restaurant for a Easter dinner with my family. The setting is marvelous inside the museum where the restaurant is located. Food was very good, I had a asparagus soup and a steak very well cooked. Wine was excellent.

Service was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
145 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Trendy and Delicious”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Villa Kennedy Hotel (lovely) and this restaurant was a 5 minute walk away. We were three dinner guests and we loved it. It had a great hip feel, it featured changing displays of the art from the State Art Museum wherein it is located. There is a huge oven and great fixtures, lamps, etc., all around. The food was of superb quality, the staff friendly. They did serve me an incorrect first course, but graciously let me have the wrong one and within minutes brought the correct dish. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A perfect "little lunch"”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had the pleasure of having some lunch in need of a break from the excellent collection of art works. I had a seared steak of yellow fin tuna with spinach and shitake mushrooms, which was served with a potato mash laced with wasabi. This very clever dish was beautifully executed.Together with a glass of fruity crisp Riesling, this 'little' lunch was a memorable experience. The professional service must also get a mention. Go there !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarcophilus_harrisii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Place - you should visit”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

VGood location and an excellent venue, good service and great choice of food. Sushi was excellent and the steak I had was one of the best ever. Desert was sublime. Was a work dinner, but excellent place for social also. Had the "stairway to heaven" Majorcan wine, amazing choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holbein's also viewed

 

Been to Holbein's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing