We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining evening”
Review of Sushimoto

Sushimoto
Ranked #222 of 2,466 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Innenstadt
germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining evening”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The food was absolutely delicious, but rather expensive. We splurged on Kobe beef (extra 40€) and there was definetely a difference in texture and taste in comparison to the regular beef we ordered. Watching a chef prepare our food right in front of us was very amusing, especially for our 9 year old. The waitress was indeed grumpy and screwed up our order. But all in all we were quite satisfied.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nameless-cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    69
    21
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Japanese Sushi Chef that has sold his soul”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Looking at the reviews, I have already an expectation of mediocre service but maybe good Sushi. I was mistaken. The service was actually acceptable, but the food and ambiance was definitely lacking. The restaurant is a combination of Teppanyaki and Sushi. However, the ventilation was insufficient so you can actually smell the Teppanyaki at the Sushi Bar. I ordered the Omakase "Chef Selection" but all the Sushi was pre cut. Sashimi was served enbloc, as well as the Sushi. This was not what I expected for Omakase.
During the entire time, the Japanese Chef was yelling at his Indian Sous Chefs. I will never return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
293 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A most entertaining evening!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

There is nothing quite like sitting at the teppanyaki watching the chef preparing the food! It is also of great assistance to choosing from the menu, although you end up wishing to have something of everything!
Our chef (actually Chinese!) was very entertaining and scrupulous in his attention to detail. The chicken was the dish that my companions and I agreed was the best we'd ever tasted, although I cannot fault the steak or scallops either.
There is a wide ranging wine list, although 2 out of 4 choices were unavailable but what remained was of good quality.
The restaurant is inside the Westin Hotel in Frankfurt but cannot be faulted because of that fact. However, do not expect a "cheap" evening out!
Nevertheless, recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A friend had told me that this place does really good Japanese food and as I've lived in Japan for a few years, I was very keen to check it out.

We went for a lunch on a weekday and the place was packed. Regardless, this does not justify the rudeness and grumpiness of the staff there.

I was excited because they had unagi (eel) which is one of my favourite Japanese foods. Grumpy Waitress told me they had none left, and rushed me to choose something else. I chose the grilled saba (mackerel) since this is also one of my nostalgic Japanese food choices.

The food was ok. I see from other reviews that the sushi is what's good here, but what my friend and I chose was passable and probably not worth the higher-than-average price tag.

I won't be going here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_igirisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Frankfurt!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Sushimoto is a Japanese gem hidden inside the Westin Hotel galleria. Entering the quaint restaurant took me back to Tokyo and Japan in general. Two girlfriends and I went for lunch and we would highly recommend it. The lunch menu has an assortment of options including sashimi, nigiri sushi, tonkotsu and soba/udon, among other options. If you are a fan of good Japanese food, you will enjoy Sushimoto. If you enjoy Japanese rice and you know how it is different from other rice, you will love Sushimoto's rice. The lunch menu is a great value. I have heard that dinner is more expensive, but I hope to try that too one day. I would suggest you reserve a table for lunch. I reserved a table for three because I wasn't sure how crowded it would be at lunch (12:30). I am glad that I did; the restaurant was packed at 12:30 and all the tables were occupied. If I hadn't reserved a table, my friends and I would have had to find another restaurant. Because of their diverse menu option at lunch, this is a great lunch spot to go with a group- just remember to reserve a table in advance. We will definitely go back, take our friends and introduce others to this great find in Frankfurt. If you are craving Japanese food in Frankfurt, this is the place to satisfy that craving.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushimoto also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Sushimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing