We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional German food and hospitality...”

Zur Schoenen Mullerin
Ranked #271 of 2,466 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Innenstadt
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional German food and hospitality...”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel (Alexander am Zoo) and what a recommendation!

Firstly, the one thing we noticed is how friendly and quick the service was from the staff. They were very patient as we picked through the menu, offering their suggestions. My wife and I had asked for the potato soup as a starter but the waitress advised us that a pot of soup between the two of us was adequate and not one each. She didn't give much away as to why except it would become clear when we received our main meal. We took her advice and boy are we glad. The portion sizes are huge, especially for the price you pay.

I had the Hessenschnitzel and my wife had the Frankfurter Schnitzel, both of which were delicious but only just managed to eat the dish as they were so big. We didn't struggle that much because we both had a dessert too. I'd recommend the Apfelränzcher, fried apple rings in a vanilla and cinnamon sauce.

The atmosphere here was great! You know it's a good restaurant when other locals eat here. The outside seating was completely full with locals and other Germans so had to take a seat inside, which soon filled up too.

I had a very nice white wine which was recommended by the waitress, asking for a sweet wine. I was recommended the 'Deidesheimer Hofstuck'. I'm not much of a wine buff but this wine was probably the best German wine I'd tasted.

If you want some traditional German cuisine, a good atmosphere with good drinks you most certainly won't be disappointed with Zur Schoenen Mullerin!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“If you like real local food”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

" Zur schönen Müllerin " is a very traditional local restaurant, such a " Fressstube", where you come to eat a lot ( huge portions) of the local traditional for Frankfurt cuisine. Pork ribs, Appelwoi ( local cidre, very sour) , dicke Kartoffelsuppe ( potato soup) etc. In comparisson to " Wagner" they offer you also some beers. In Frankfurt in such places a beer is not a must , despite the fact that you are in Germany. Here is the apple cidre a " König" ( king)
I know this place already for ca 15 years, in last years they seem to became pore popular which means more touristic despite they place ( rather hard to find for the firt time, really hidden in a back yard). But anyhow- recommemded for the people looking for the local cuisine. In the summer take the table outside, it's nice, long tables to share

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I liked this restaurant very much! They have typical German food, beer and good cyder. The waiters are kind and nice and the kitchen was opened even after 10pm. Prices are low despite of the quite big quantity of food they serve with every dish. I'm just satisfied with this place, if you'll ever go to Frankfurt make sure to go to eat here!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mano86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Went to this restaurant based on our hotel (Alexander Am Zoo) receptionist's recommendation. It is tucked away in a residential neighborhood. Without the map from the hotel, I don't think we would be able to find this place. Dining here is like dining in your neighbor's backyard. Laid back atmosphere with friendly service and reasonable prices.
We were lucky that we met a local family who suggested to us the foods that they usually eat when they frequent this restaurant. Apple wine is a must have as it is what they are famous for. Slightly sour with a hint of sweetness but very smooth.
We ordered their roast beef salad with green sauce, hand cheese in vinegar and onions, eggs and potatoes with green sauce and of course their pork knuckle with sauerkraut. I loved their pork knuckle skin with sauerkraut. Not greasy at all, just wonderful flavors. Their green sauce was very good too- aromatic sauce made up of 7 herbs with yogurt. First time trying hand cheese on bread with butter and I think it tasted fine. Overall, it's a great restaurant with a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anna9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
281 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very good traditional German food”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

A very old restaurant that began in 1896 as a place that made and served what they call apple-wine. It's different from the American cider and different from the French cidre.

Food was very good and service pleasant and attentive.

The Gegrilltes Rippchen (# 151 in the menu) are a grilled pork chop. It's very thick, very juicy and delicious. Perfectly prepared, perfectly seasoned.

The Hessenschnitzel (# 356 in the menu) is a Schnitzel filled with apple puree and is very good and special.

The Dampfnudel - gefüllt mit Pflaumenmus, Vanillesauce, Sahne (# 40 in the menu), is a large yeast dough dumpling baked not in the oven, but in steam in a well covered pot. The dumpling is filled with plum mousse with little bit alcohol and swims in a vanilla sauce. 3 whipped cream hills surround it and it's excellent.

We warmly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AllKnowMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zur Schoenen Mullerin also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Zur Schoenen Mullerin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing