We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, meat, meat”
Review of Surf'n Turf

Surf'n Turf
Ranked #104 of 2,473 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$146
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Innenstadt
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, meat”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is about meat. Lots of it. Huge portions. Cooked to perfection. Salads are simple but good. And the interior is faux antique. This is a bit of a rough, rugged restaurant, and the staff behaves likewise. So, if you want to go high dining (and the pricing here are steep) and except very polite and servile staff, don't come here. If you want superb meat, do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jhwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    99
    34
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excelent steak house!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

It was not my first time there. I was with some co-workers.
It's a steack house with great service.

As expected the menu is about Meat. You have a wide choise.
The starters are good. I had a ceasar salad and was perfect.

The main dish was a large steak. You can find examples of the steack rigth when you step inn the restaurant. They are huge.
They have cooked exactly as I asked and was perfect.

The side plates are also very good.

Great place to dinner ( or lunch)

The average cost per person (without wine) should be around 60 to 80euros.

I reccomend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We were up for some good meat and decided to go here based on the tripadvisor reviews. We managed to book the last table on a wednesday evening. Reservation really seems to be necessary. The restaurant is located in a residential area so we had to take a cab. The food was great, the portions were big . Nice atmosphere, dimmed lights. Service was ok. It ain't cheap however, especially the wine is on the expensive side, the list started at 49 euros. I would go here again.

Helpful?
Thank Kristof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Morton's/Ruth Chris with a German flair !”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Smallish restaurant in nice residential area... was recommended by German friends and I was not disappointed. Great STEAKS... good portions and cooked to request - rare ! Huge portions of sides - we shared a Caesar Salad and French Fries... More than enough food. Waitress, who was very efficent and fast, recommened a remarkable white wine which went wonderful with lunch. Not cheap - but well worth the price ! JA Wohl !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HH922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

A nice atmosphere, good food, but not the best you can find in Frankfurt. Service was awful. Everything is very slow... Empty plate wasn't taken away for more then 20 minutes....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Станислав М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surf'n Turf also viewed

 

Been to Surf'n Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing