We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a friends wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Birkenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Birkenhof
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hanau
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed here for a friends wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here while attending a friends wedding and it was a great location. Hotel staff were friendly and breakfast was lovely. Also ate in the restaurant and they had a good bar service. Rooms were spacious with lovely views not overlooked by anything. The ensuite facilities were also great although I was unsure of the frosted glass door but it seemed to be a feature in a few venues in the area. Close enough to the train stations and the trains run so frequently that it was easy to get in to Frankfurt for a night out and easy to get back too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoeaholic1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here for business when travelling from the US. The hotel is 20 meters from a walking / jogging path that runs along the river for many kilometers which was nice to get out for a run. The staff was friendly and the location back off the main road such that it is a quite stay. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the local square where several very good restaurants can be found.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vadodara
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have recently stayed in this hotel during biz trip. This hotel is well located from the city centre of Hanau and has well decorated room with air con. They serve nice breakfast and has good spread and if you are lucky and have nice weather you can enjoy your meal in the terrace adjoining restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

First stay at the Birkenhof and I was very impressed with the friendlyness and attentiveness of staff.

Evening meal was very good, interesting menu and good selection of game which is in season at the moment.

Rooms quite small but perfectly adequate and meeting room was well stocked, free wifi and cake in the afernoon!! Nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worjacky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved this small hotel -- very clean, quiet, nicely designed and well-decorated, with wonderfully helpful staff. Well priced, including breakfast and on site-parking, good location, free wifi. Breakfast was wonderful, with an offer of eggs to be cooked as we would like them. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvija777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been coming to Hanau every 6 to 8 weeks on business for the past 15 months and stayed in many of the hotels. This is my first time at the Birkenhof and it will not be the last. The rooms are great (at least mine was), the atmosphere is friendly and cozy, the staff could not be more pleasant and the food is outstanding.

It is very close to Steinheim and not far from the river if you want to go for a walk or a run.

I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for about a week traveling from the USA. I was there for pleasure and my girlfriend was there doing business with her company and some pleasure. As far as her business goes, it was excellent for the meetings that they had there. They even met outside at times and it was a great place for the group. The hotel arranged for a BBQ for the company outside one night that was really nice. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty. The location is good, near the old section of Steinheim which has some good restaurants and has the look of a classic old German town. The nearest train station is a bit of a walk but not bad if you do not mind the walking. You can take a taxi there also. There is a nice paved trail starting near the old section of Steinheim that runs along the river all the way to the main road where the train station is located. You can take the train from there anywhere. It pays to do some research on where and what time the trains run to various locations. We took the train to Frankfurt, Seligenstadt, and Gelnhausen and found it to be fairly easy if you just take the time to read the information in the stations. Seligenstadt and Gelnhausen are awesome towns worth the trip and not far from the hotel! Now about the rooms... Our room was good for what I have experienced in other places in Europe. Clean and fairly simple. They need more pillows! The bed is basic with just comforters, which is common in Germany, but really ok. The bathroom was nice but the door is an opaque glass that some people might not be happy with. I did not like the soap dispenser in the shower. Bring your own shampoo and bar soap. They do have some small bar soaps but really tiny. I happened to have some travel versions from other trips in the US. The room had large windows with one that opened like a door which was nice since the weather was great while we were there. There is also an in room air conditioner which is nice since in Germany they do not use air conditoning in a lot of places. We used this some in the afternoon but it was nice and cool at night. The internet access was great! We were able to connect laptops, iphones, and ipads via wireless. We were able to run multiple devices at the same time despite the fact that they said we could not. They also do not charge extra for the wireless and it is all throughout the property. The restaurant is nice. The breakfast is great and included in the room charge. They will prepare you eggs of your choice to order. The coffee is strong! Use the cream even if you like it black. The dinner looked good but we did not eat there so I cannot comment on that. The prices looked a little high. The staff were awesome! Very nice to us and spoke english to us mostly. The older lady at the front desk was like your grandmother. I think she owns the place. When we were leaving it was like we were leaving out grandmother's house!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisunreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanau hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Villa Stokkum
1.9 mi away
PLAZAHOTEL Hanau
PLAZAHOTEL Hanau
#15 of 17 in Hanau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Zum Riesen
Hotel Zum Riesen
#4 of 17 in Hanau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Residence
#3 of 17 in Hanau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel zur Linde
Hotel zur Linde
#13 of 17 in Hanau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Riesen Junior
#6 of 17 in Hanau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birkenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birkenhof

Property: Hotel Birkenhof
Address: Von-Eiff-Str. 37-41, 63456 Hanau, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Hanau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hanau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birkenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run 4 star hotel with restaurant, terrace, parklike garden, spa. Free internet and underground parking included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Birkenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing