We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flying Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    120
    46
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
60
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was a good experience. Attentive staff took special care of kids needs. Large double bed of king size (not made of two smaller beds!) was very much appreciated as the baby sleeps with us. Safe and comfy baby bed. Minibar available. Bathtub is appreciated as well! The room was not very large but very good arranged so there was a desk, small table and chair, locker, adequate area to place a baby bed and stroller, all our bags and still kids had a play zone. There is no water heater in the bathroom but the ventilation works soo hard...we were able to wash&dry in one night everything we needed for kids. Located in the center, it offers a great possibility to visit a large and beautiful Christmas market with kids attractions (we stayed in December). Wifi provided for as many devices as we needed was stabile and quick. Parking below the whole building (the hotel is a part of a big shopping mall) has a lift to the reception, which is next to the hotel lift and appears to be cheaper if you pay hourly: it was 7.50 for 17 hours. Breakfast served in a brasserie in the mall (no street walk required, few steps from reception) was outstanding with delicious fish, hot dishes, fruits, it is excluded from the rate but well worth it.
The conserns are: the hotel is really in need of renovation. Old furniture, bathroom, old and very loud ventilation (although effective).
While check in, you have no option to park outside as there is no designated area. More, arriving by car, you have to drive the whole round again as the parking entrance is a little behind and the street is one way.
Parking at the mall parking is a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My second recent stay here on business. First visit had disturbed sleep along with 4 colleagues all located on 2nd floor room near 257 as each morning around 5am there was a lot of furniture being moved on the floor above us. We did mention this after the first night but it continued. However I am back this week and no such issues. Breakfast in the brasserie is excellent if a little hard to tfind on first visit! Location is perfect for a variety of nearby restaurants and the very beautiful Christmas market in Königsplatz. Interesting comments about pillows which I agree with. Nice to get free wireless access but it would be good to have one access code for the whole stay and for all devices. I have to get 2 sheets of A4 paper each day to connect an ipad and a phone. Some more English speaking channels would also be appreciated. I will in any case be back again in preference to other hotels in Kassel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenalgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel again for a week in November, 2013 and although a nice hotel, still needs a few tweaks in my opinion. The pricing was on the higher end but that is to be expected for a center city hotel. The rooms are comfortable but not what I would consider 4 star by American standards. We did ask for different pillows and received them promptly. The rooms were cleaned spotlessly, however, one day not until after 3:00 p.m. when we were ready to get to our room, we had to come back. The chocolates are a nice touch. The TV is again a big disappointment. Surely you can get some English channels besides Bloomberg Business News??? Since we spent 7 days in Kassel, there were times we just wanted to chill in our room in the evenings but there's only so much business news you can handle per day, especially while on vacation! The hotel restaurant is outstanding for breakfast, a small buffet but the food is freshly replenished and excellent quality. The location is superb, attached to a mall with a good variety of stores and restaurants, and also a casino which was a nice diversion since we had no TV to watch! The staff was always friendly and helpful. Overall, probably the best choice if you want to stay in the city center in Kassel but would love another stay with some improvements!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the side of hotel not facing church (bells ring regularly).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We liked this hotel so much that we stayed a second night. Our room was very large with plenty of room for three adults. My husband and son didn't like the pillows, but I thought they were very comfortable. The air conditioning only works when the windows are closed. We slept with the windows open and were very comfortable with the fresh air. Shopping and great restaurants are located within walking distance. Starbucks is just steps away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneB295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kassel hotels
2.2 mi away
pentahotel Kassel
pentahotel Kassel
#1 of 50 in Kassel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Kassel Hotel Reiss
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Kassel Hessenland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
H4 Hotel Kassel
H4 Hotel Kassel
#5 of 50 in Kassel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Schlosshotel Bad Wilhelmshoehe Conference & Spa
0.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Kassel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel
Address: Spohrstrasse 4 | In der Kurfürsten Galerie, 34117 Kassel, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Kassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the art metropolis. Experience a hotel with a very special ambience. A relaxing domicile for business travellers and private persons who want to enjoy the city of 'documenta' and its many-facetted wealth of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing