We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stadthotel Kassel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Hotel Kassel(Kassel)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Gude(Kassel)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Kassel(Kassel)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
2
14
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
14
17
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just a night for a business trip.
Everything is there you need. Simple breakfast, clean bed, shower and WLAN internet.
The room is not big, bur I needed only to sleep and a chair with table to put my laptop on.
Parking lots (only 5) are rare, so you probably have to park your car in the street. Between 21:00 and 09:00 is free parking.

Interior has only stairs to get to the information desk and the elevator is very small. Only I and my lugauge fitted in there.
Therefore I will not recommend this hotel to persons, who uses a wheelchair.

Room Tip: Rooms at street side (201-203-.....) have a nice few over the square. Rooms at the rear side (202-204-..) are more quite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollywood1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was our second visit. The main reason for staying here (and this 4 star rating) is the toplocation during the Documenta art exhibitions (walking distance). The hotel is 3 star and quite expensive. You pay for the location. The rooms are unpretentious (no airco, no minibar), and you do hear citynoise at the front (and the back: restaurantkitchen) during the evening. You can open a window. Beds are huge. Pillows very soft (you need 2). Good shower. Breakfast is quite good and is the second reason for staying here. Bummer: no fresh orange juice.
The hotel has a small car park but there are plenty of public parking garages nearby. The staff was two out of three times grumpy. Could improve a lot considering the amount you pay for their jobs. This hurts because service in German restaurants, shops and hotels is kind and with a smile.
When you get tired of the steps outside the hotel (obvious the name of the street is Treppenstrasse - in 1953 the first pedestrian zone in Germany) you can use the escalators in the mall Konigsgalerie. In the mall there is also a food court (sushi). Good restaurants are hard to find in Kassel. The Italian restaurant at the front of the hotel is not recommended. In case of emergency: opposite Stadthotel you'll find a McDondald's for your fastfood.
If the Documenta is not your goal, I would consider -except budgetwise- the Mercure hotel for staying in Kassel.

Room Tip: The room 206 is one of the largest on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have come to Kassel for Documenta. I arrived, jet lagged, and wanting to take a shower. I had made my reservation in advance, and they didn't have it. There were some moments of uncertainty if they would even put me up. I was calm but terrified. Ultimately, they had one room left. But a smoking room. Ugh. This is a no frills hotel. Centrally located to much of the documenta activities. For the location sort of worth the price....for the price...I'd like a little cleaner place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larrybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

For visiting Documenta this location is perfect, near all exhibition venues including Hautbahnhof in one direction and the Karlsaue Park in the other, all in walking distance.

The room and the service is average/decent.

The breakfast is quite good even though the selection is not that big (no fried bacon/sausages). The bread and buns are freshly baked, the coffee is OK.

The room was very hot in July; even with windows open it was difficult to sleep. And although the room was called quiet, this is absolutely not the case with open windows. Bring earplugs!

The worst downside is the wifi internet: It is very unstable, one can only get online half the time (as of July 2012), so if you rely on wifi connection this may not be the hotel for you. I was quite frustrated with this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Stadthotel is conveniently located and is very close to the main Documenta venues and walking distance from the train station. It is in the middle of the shopping district with restaurants and shops in close walking distance. Our double room was really huge - in fact it could have easily accommodated an extra bed. There was an internet connection and a coffee maker in the room. Very helpful and efficient staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews