We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location for Kassel.W station main selling point but very noisy rooms and if you pay 80-100Euros overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IntercityHotel Kassel
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Location for Kassel.W station main selling point but very noisy rooms and if you pay 80-100Euros overpriced”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Ok need to go through this one.

Positives :
If you are traveling through Kassel "Wilhelmshöhe" station (main through station for this City) and you want a business style hotel near station this place has location - 40M from station entrance.This is the big selling place and for me explains the price (85-100Euro). The hotel is efficient and rooms small but spotlessly clean. Also another plus it the 24hour city travel card you get on arrival .

Issues : I sleep well so I booked after reading about tram noise and I did sleep but it is an issue you really can here them and they squeal round the corner just outside hotel till early in the morning and they start up is again early !. The hotel really does need to invest in further soundproofing .Take earplugs and don"t stay here if a light sleeper.

The room had a very small corner shower which was not great , a small portable tv and it did feel budget . Wi-fi approx 4euro for an hour for me at this price should be free but again is this fleecing the business market? Even the minibar was more than usual , so on cost (I paid 87E) I think it is a budget hotel trading on location and with noise and price it is at best average overall hence the 3 stars .

To sum up the tram noise is the biggest issue but if you can sleep through this and get a good price and want to be close to the main station it is an option. Personally I will pick another hotel next time .

Room Tip: need to be high up and on opposite side to trams !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    66
    51
    6
    8
See reviews for
15
33
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

100 eur for a standard tiniest (although clean) room looks like a rip off. Plus it's located in a not so nice secondary railway station area. The hotel literally sits on a bunch of tram lines, buses etc.
Windows sills are cheap so forget soundproof and stay awake all night listening to the loud squealing of trams, noises of cars etc .
1-day internet at 14 eur is going to make your sleepless night expensive too.
AVOID! And stay in Kassel center, a very nice city.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank duke_clar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kassel hotels

Hong kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The Water Show in Kassel is now one of the UN World Heritage site. We went in August to see the night show. We were4 adults and 2 kids and booked two rooms.

The beds were of very good quality, very comfortable but small for 2 adults and 1 kid.

Breakfast room was very pleasant. I do think it is worth paying the extra for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel has one undoubtful advantage - the location - it is conveniently situated next to the ICE train station, so it makes it perfect especially with strange late night/early morning connections.

The room was very tiny, the bathroom even tinier. Nevertheless, both very clean. I could hear the street noises (even though I was very tired I had problems with falling asleep) and the bed wasn't too comfy (which always could be a matter of taste).

The staff was very helpful, although the housekeeping lady wanted to clean my room extremely early.

I would never like to pay to full price for this room, but if you find a good deal as I did, I can recommend to book a bed at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_not_likey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I chose this hotel because it is basically in the same building as the Wilhelmshohe train station where I had to catch a train to Frankfurt at six in the morning. The stuff was extremely polite even at a quarter to six when I checked out. The room was small but modern. A nice surprise was a free ticket for all trams and buses of Kassel. I only decided to have a look at the city centre because they gave me that ticket and it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Booked one of their two junior suites for two nights at a very competitive rate. Wasn't expecting anything special but have to admit it exceeded our expectations.
The room was simple, a little clinical but very spacious by European standards. Everything worked and it was very clean. Comfortable settee and two televisions, a small work desk and best of all, a decent level of room lighting.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but we tried a couple of wines from the bar - pricing was ok (although not cheap) - the Silvaner was good but the star for me was the Weissburgunder, quite outstanding.
Adjacent to Kassel's long distance train station, it has a very convenient location.
The hotel also provides a free travel pass for the local transport network for the duration of your stay - with a tram and bus station right outside the hotel it proves very useful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Next to CEE trainstation with many connections. Very friendly staff. Rooms not to big but comfortable. When we were there they offered a free 3 days publictransport pass. Breakfast was up to standards. Service excellent.

Room Tip: On the inside court. Less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritarobtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kassel hotels
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Kassel
pentahotel Kassel
#2 of 50 in Kassel
1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
H4 Hotel Kassel
H4 Hotel Kassel
#4 of 50 in Kassel
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Kassel
Wyndham Garden Kassel
#8 of 50 in Kassel
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kurfuerst Wilhelm I
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Kassel Hotel Reiss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Kassel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Kassel

Property: IntercityHotel Kassel
Address: Wilhelmshoeher Allee 241, 34121 Kassel, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Kassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — IntercityHotel Kassel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Kassel is located directly at the ICE station Kassel-Wilhelmshohe, with good connections to the A 7 and A 44 motorway junctions. The exhibition grounds are not far, located a mere 4 km from the InterCityHotel. The Wilhelmshohe spa area and Europe's largest Bergpark with the Wilhelmshohe Castle and the Hercules monument are practically on the hotel's doorstep, and it is also only a stone's throw to the city centre. And additionally, for the guest who is still expecting a little more, the use of local public transport in Kassel is free of charge with the FreeCityTicket included in the room's price. The InterCityHotel in Kassel has 146 comfortably furnished rooms with a work corner, minibar, Pay-TV, Sky and WiFi. Five rooms for conferences and events catering for up to 90 participants are available. All of the rooms in the InterCityHotel are air-conditioned, have daylight illumination and are equipped with WiFi. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IntercityHotel Kassel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Kassel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing