We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Days Inn Kassel Hessenland
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean but basic”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

the hotel is well positioned at the end of the main shopping area and close to the trams so convenient for shops and museums etc. Breakfast was typical German and the self service choice was average but plentiful. Rooms were basic and clean. There was no wifi service on our first nigh tand day (arrived Thursdayevening and not repaired until Saturday).The TV in the room was an old cathode ray tube with poor reception on some channels...it was easier to watch the large flatscreen TV of the apartment across the road whose owner conveniently shared the same taste in sports and didnt close the blinds !
the be3ds were comfortable but the room was hot with no A/C therefore you could leave the room fan on or open the window which then had the trams clanking through the night. this was added to by the revellers in the nearby nightclub on the Friday and Saturday nights However, we were so tired by our days that this wasnt a major concern but could impinge perhaps on families.
Staff were courteous and helpful throughout.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road can be noisy but you can at least watch someone elses TV !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    72
    48
    15
    2
See reviews for
40
31
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Rooms spacious and clean but staff not visible, particularly around breakfast time. Food was also disappointing as the selection was not great and of low budget. Staff used tables to eat their own breakfast and left dirty plates out. Wifi did not work even though the hotel advertises this as an amenity. That said, Kassel is definitely worth a visit although we would not use this hotel again as a couple or a family of four.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kassel hotels

California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Brothers Grimm museum was our target after missing it on two other occassions due to construction. Ok, not a big draw for a lot of people, but if you believe in Disney and fairy tale route and books and things, then it's incredible and an eye opener. You'll walk away from the town of Kassel with a greater appreciation of what Hessenland has to offer. The Days Inn is clean, and the staff are helpful. The parking is street side available. It is walking distrance to the museums, and services. The breakfast was less than lovely, but adequate I suppose per States standards. Don't take a room over the busy streets below with trams and cars, etc., take a higher room toward the north or east end. I think you'll be happier. Exec. Suites sleep four persons potentially.

Room Tip: Don't take a room over the busy streets below with trams and cars, etc., take a higher room towa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanPsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Located at the end of the main shopping street, parking nearby & restaurants within a few steps of the hotel. Staff were friendly, breakfast was good & plenty & rooms were fine.we had a family room which gave us plenty of space for a cot & five of us slept comfortably in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Great location, just a stroll into town. The hotel is quite dated however, but fine if you're aware of that (I wasn't). One concern was my door didn't close properly; concerning as I was a solo female traveller, but they called maintenance & fixed problem straight away.

Something that I know the hotels can't control, but bugs me, is that when I book a no smoking room (I suffer allergies & sinus troubles), I wish other visitors would respect that. But this room was reeking of smoke. But that's not really the hotel's fault, just inconsiderate fellow travellers.

Not great value either, but I'm blaming that on the exhibition/trade fair that was being held in Frankfurt that week. Rooms in Frankfurt were exorbitant, and Kassel is close enough, so I guess they suffer the flow on effect.

Staff were helpful and efficient. Overall pleasant stay, but average accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxytravelsAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

1950's hotel but designed in late art deco style. The staircase in the lobby & the ballroom if closed, ask to see it) are remarkable. But overall, apart from some remaining design features & it's central location, the hotel is only average & the breakfast barely average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david-206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Good hotel, nice crowd, good breakfast, a recommendation in kassel

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielgustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kassel hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Kassel Hotel Reiss
2.0 mi away
pentahotel Kassel
pentahotel Kassel
#2 of 50 in Kassel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Kassel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Kassel City Centre
1.1 mi away
Adesso Hotel Astoria
Adesso Hotel Astoria
#13 of 50 in Kassel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Hotel Kassel
Ibis Hotel Kassel
#9 of 50 in Kassel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kassel Hessenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kassel Hessenland

Property: Days Inn Kassel Hessenland
Address: Obere Koenigsstr. 2, 34117 Kassel, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Hessenland Kassel Zentrum)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Kassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kassel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Kassel Hessenland 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kassel Hessenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Kassel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing