We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I needed silence and it was there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Kassel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Kassel
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I needed silence and it was there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed just one night with late arrival, I needed silent and comfortable room to have a good sleep and rest, it was there.

Breakfast did not impress me, it was standard for which I cannot complain either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aytun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your evaluation and the time you spend for this detailed review.
We hope you had a save trip home.
We are delighted that your stay has met the expectations.
We are constantly striving to improve thr quality of our house and our service.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements.

Kind regards
Wyndham Garden Kassel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    133
    118
    42
    17
See reviews for
77
97
18
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent almost two weeks in this hotel. The rooms were clean and I slept very well throughout the whole time even though occasionally the sounds from the big roads came through.

Breakfast buffet was ok, but not anything fancy. Service was very good throughout the entire stay even if not all personnel spoke very good English.

Price was very affordable and the swimming pool and sauna were a nice addition.

You could also get a good meal from the Hotel restaurant in the evening. One evening they even had a barbecue -buffet outside the hotel, which was very good.

The location may not be the best depending on where you have to go, but that was not a problem for me.

If I would come again to Kassel, I could surely stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 799samuliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review.
We hope you had a save trip home. We are delighted that your stay has met the expectations.
We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our hotel and our service. We woul be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements.

Kind regards
WYNDHAM GARDEN Kassel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is aprox 5 km from the city center, no public transport nearby.
Good parking possibility in front of the hotel. The room was clean and big enough. Had dinner in the restaurant, very friendly and caring waitresses.
Would recommend to business travelers (sleepover, breakfast).

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SJBK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed review and that you spent your time for this.
We hope you have a good trip to your home.
We are very pleased to hear that your stay in our hotel and restaurant was good.
It would give us great pleasure to welcome you a second time in our hotel.

Kind regards

WYNDHAM GARDEN KASSEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in many BW from Dubai to CA to Manila. This by far the most run down hotel I've seen. Don't know how they are able to keep the BW branding. Front house staff friendly and reactive but rooms and building is from early 70s or 80s, also smells old. In dire need of an over haul. Positives; friendly staff, waitress is new so her shortcoming are very overseeable, room price is ok if not a little high, but I have to say the mattress is new and very comfortable in my room!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJayJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review.
We hope you had a good return journey.

We are sorry that your visit hasn´t matched your expectations
We refurbished the hotel already partially. For example the lobby, two floors and the restaurant are already renovated.

We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our House and our service. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements.

with BEST regards

BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Kassel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kassel hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

On a journey through Ölvemarks Holiday in the month of August, we stayed one night at this hotel. When we pointed out that we wanted a colder climate in the too warm dining room, they refused to turn on the cooling system. At the bar, they refused to accept Master Card for amounts below 10 EUR. Dirty and torn curtains at the hotel room as well as a noicy aircondition from the 1970s.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review.

We hope you had a good return journey.

We are sorry that your visit hasn´t matched your expectations
We refurbished the hotel already partially. For example the lobby, two floors and the restaurant are already renovated.
We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our House and our service. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements.

BEST regards

BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Kassel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5 km from the city center with no public transport close by. The rooms are large and clean but the fhe feeling is that the structure would need a good refreshing. The personnel is friendly helpfull. All in all it is whatyou can expect for this level of price. Good for oone night stop in Kassel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br1xra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review.

We hope you had a good return journey.

We are sorry that your visit hasn´t matched your expectations
We refurbished the hotel already partially. For example the lobby, two floors and the restaurant are already renovated.
We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our House and our service. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements.

BEST regards

BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Kassel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This location is very close to the autobahn, which made it well-suited as a base for our visits to points slightly west and east. No, it isn't the newest hotel and no, it is not in the center of town. We found the rooms spacious and clean, the water hot, the staff willing to work with our limited German and the breakfasts delicious and a good value. Weekday staff spoke very good English.

Tea drinkers will be particularly pleased to have a wide choice of teas and hot water from a pot that has never held coffee. On weekdays the restaurant has an evening buffet which we felt was very good value if you don't feel like venturing out after a long day of driving and exploring.

Parking was secure (ask the desk to make your ticket valid for multiple entries/exits). Despite many business groups the hotel was quiet (we were on the side facing the parking lot). There is a supermarket not very far down the road should you want cheaper bottled water and/or picnic supplies. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlansAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian R, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Kassel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review.
We hope you had a save trip home. We are delighted that your stay has met the expectations.
We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our House and our service.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements.
With BEST regards.
BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Kassel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kassel hotels
4.4 mi away
pentahotel Kassel
pentahotel Kassel
#1 of 50 in Kassel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Kassel Hotel Reiss
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Kassel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
H4 Hotel Kassel
H4 Hotel Kassel
#6 of 50 in Kassel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.8 mi away
Schlosshotel Bad Wilhelmshoehe Conference & Spa
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Kassel Hessenland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Kassel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Kassel

Property: Wyndham Garden Kassel
Address: Heiligenroeder Str. 61, 34123 Kassel, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Kassel)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Kassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kassel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Kassel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Kassel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kassel
Kassel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing