We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Marburg
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Marburg
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“central, but nothing special”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is very central, you are in 2min in the city center, at the Lahn etc. Therefore it is perfect if you want to explore the city. The rooms are spacious, but we had a huge crack in the wall, which they tried to cover up with a painting. We had some problems with the warm water, so we needed to change the room. The staff took care of it very fast and were very uncomplicated. The breakfast buffet is very good, but you have options for breakfast around the corner.
Parking is not included, so you have to leave your car in a public parking place, very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna-Lena S, Assistant to the General Manager at Welcome Hotel Marburg, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Eva,
Our overriding aim is to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. So we are delighted to hear from you that we succeeded! We are always very pleased and interested to receive feedback and tips from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Your WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    131
    86
    23
    7
See reviews for
24
70
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner was on a business trip, I tagged along. This hotel is situated in a great location for visiting this beautiful city. Staying for 2 nights. Although the menu looked inviting but a little expensive We only ate breakfast here as you are spoilt for choice, just a short walk to the beautiful Market square. The rooms are clean and of a good size. The staff are polite and helpful.
I was lucky enough to spend the day exploring this stunning city with lots of history.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seabreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna-Lena S, Assistant to the General Manager at Welcome Hotel Marburg, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are always very pleased and interested to receive feedback and tips from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Your WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

On the past weekend I stayed atthis hotel and my experience was very nice. If you want a good accommodation close to the city center, this is the right one for you. The Staff is very nice and helpful. We took the option with breakfast (buffet) included and we were more than satisfied!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly_travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna-Lena S, Assistant to the General Manager at Welcome Hotel Marburg, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guests,
Our members of staff play an incredibly important role in ensuring that our guests enjoy their stay. We are so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again. Your WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed at Hotel Welcome 3 times in the last 01 year.
During two of these trips, the AC in the room has been faulty and not been fixed inspite of repeated complaints.
And twice the Wifi has been non-functional.
What is quite interesting is that inspite of complaining about the WiFi not working, the charge is still levied.
During my last trip (this week), I complained about the fact that the AC in the room was blowing Hot Air. I was told to sleep with my windows open.
Why anyone would like to stay in this hotel is beyond me especially when they clearly dont care about guest feedback or comfort.
Personally I will never again stay there. The hotel is centrally located but when basic amenities like AC and WiFi dont work, you wonder what you are paying for.

Room Tip: Avoid the Hotel. Take a better hotel where things you are charged for work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logotherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna-Lena S, Assistant to the General Manager at Welcome Hotel Marburg, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,
Our guests come to us with expectations and we regret that we didn‘t live up to them on this occasion. We sincerely hope to do better next time you choose to stay with us. At the begining of this year we refresh our complete wlan-system. Please let us know how we can help. We hope to see you again soon. Please be sure that our employees are bother to make your stay as comfortable as possible. However, technical requirements sometimes prevent us unfortunately in this enterprise. We hope that we have not lost you as a guest. We hope to do better next time and looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Your WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marburg hotels

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in a bigger family room and had plenty of space, both in the room and bathroom. Hotel is clean, centrally located, with a very good buffet breakfast. Next to the hotel there are lots of restaurants, cafes, and the elevator to the old town is right across the street from the hotel.
All in all, a very nice experience, would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna-Lena S, Assistant to the General Manager at Welcome Hotel Marburg, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Marina,
We greatly value feedback from our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words. This shows us that we are definitely on the right track to ensuring that all our guests feel at home with us and enjoy their stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Marburg doesn't offer a grand selection of hotels, therefore even though I am rating this average it is probably one of the better hotels in Marburg.

It is centrally located in the city, restaurants and transport are easily accessible from the hotel.

The beds are not very comfortable, the bathroom/shower were not the best, water pressure varied as well as the hot/cold water.

Room was spacious but again nothing great. The staff though was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
549 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice rooms, clean and roomy. Bed is okay but not exceptional. Room was hot in March. Windows do open but on first floor so hesitant to leave fully open during night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I appreciated the tea available early morning since I had an early pickup for airport. Shower was very small but it worked. Great location to old town via elevator across the street. I like the section on the front of hotel best but this last stay was in a different area. Hotel is fine but not elegant. It gets the job done with no frills. Location is the best feature and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Marburger Hof
Marburger Hof
#2 of 13 in Marburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel im Kornspeicher
Hotel im Kornspeicher
#4 of 13 in Marburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Vita Rosenpark
Vila Vita Rosenpark
#1 of 13 in Marburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cala Luna
Hotel Cala Luna
#8 of 13 in Marburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Stadthotel Marburg
3.5 mi away
Hotel Stuempelstal
Hotel Stuempelstal
#12 of 13 in Marburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Marburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Marburg

Property: Welcome Hotel Marburg
Address: Pilgrimstein 29, 35037 Marburg, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Marburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Marburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Marburg 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG is an ideal place to stay for those coming in search of both business and culture. Elegant and well suited for all transport networks, this 4-star hotel lies right in the heart of the university city of Marburg. The hotel is noted for its contemporary design, its exclusive Restaurant with Bar, its homely pinte which is an ideal event location and its location just a stone's throw from the picturesque and historic centre of the city. Delegates visiting the WELCOME HOTEL MARBURG's six conference rooms appreciate the hotel's 150 comfort rooms, ladies' rooms and spacious apartments as well the professional level of service provided by our team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Hotel Marburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing