We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small expensive hotel with an unfavorable location”
Review of Hotel Monte Cristo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Cristo
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Offenbach
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel is very small. The rooms are very small. Cleanliness is different. Entering the room, the power was shut off. Nothing works. Need to call the receptionist. After half an hour, they found out, that the fuse was switched off. Rooms are not really comfortable. The stairways look old and dirty. Price performance ratio is out of limit.
The breakfast should cost 8 € for a limited choice of bread, cheese, eggs and slices of sausage. The toast as well as the bagels and I estimate the cheese and stuff like this are the cheap and low price products from a supermarket. Not tasty, more awful.
The location of the hotel is not very invitational. Almost all of the buildings surrounding are old and in a bad state. There is no parking lot available. Only from the hotel and they sell it for a high price. The city center of Offenbach is about 10 Minutes walkway from the hotel. It is no comfortable feeling in that area. Strange.
All in all the hotel cannot be recommended since they rise the prices more than 4 times during exhibitions, where even the standard price is too high and not worth for the performance you get.
Keep off that hotel and that area.

Room Tip: There is no recommendation for that hotel or rooms. Just choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwoodblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We (family of four) spent one night in this hotel. It was easy to find and staff very friendly. The room was oversized and so was the bathroom.

At first glance, everything looked fine but when looking at the details, the bed was broken (the slates fell off and my husband fell on the floor with the matress!), the large closets were also broken but we did not hang anything so did not need them. The bathroom was tired and tiles had black dirt in between them. The stairs were very edgy so watch out when you climb the stairs or you could fall.

All in all, it was ok for one night but the owner should plan some renovations soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontogosouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The room was quite large and elegant. The bathroom was very nice; towels were included. During the evening and also during the night it was cold in the room (radiator almost not heating) but I think you will not have this problem during the summer. Wifi signal in our room was very poor, barely usable, but better than nothing. Hotel service was trying to be helpful. Its probably the best choice near Frankfurt if you want to save some money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Stayed at the Monte Cristo for three nights on a recent trip through Germany. The price, location and availability of parking led me to choose this hotel. We arrived on a Thursday evening and had to call the number on the door to get someone to check us in. They arrived in a timely manner.

We were given two keys (one for the main door and one for the room). I also got the key for the wireless internet, which had a weak but usable signal in our room. The upper floor may not have a usable signal, but this is conjecture on my part. After we unpacked, I went to wash my hands and realized we had no towels! It was late and I decided to wait until morning to get some.

I called the same number from the front door and a staff member who apparently sleeps in the hotel met me in the hallway with one set of towels. I explained that we had three people and needed two more sets. For some reason, she seemed reluctant to give me more. Strange. Maybe it was my rusty German.

Our room was very large and the bathroom was ridiculously large (I booked the 3-person room since we wanted a separate bed for our 5 year old). The room was clean and had a very large armoire.

We were a 10-15 minute walk from the Offenbach-Ost train station, which was good since we basically got up, spent the day in Frankfurt and then came back. The neighborhood seemed safe for walking in the daylight (didn't go out at night).

The bad:

The windows were right on the street and our room was at ground level, so it was very noisy. It wasn't so bad that it interfered with sleeping (as the town was fairly quiet at night), but this is not the choice for a quiet weekend getaway.

Breakfast was adequate at best. Bad coffee and some stale pastries (I noticed the night I checked in that they were out and had been sitting out all night), stale cereal (the muesli was OK) soft-boiled eggs and little else. They could do better for 8 Euro.

Overall, the hotel was a good value and suited our needs as a place to sleep with convenient access to Frankfurt-am-Main. I think we were still in the off-season rates, though.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Long_Term_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I was there for just 1 night. The room and the bath was big and clean, but the atmosphere was cold and unfriendly ... I was just looking for a hot bath and a good sleep, so it was ok for me since I get those two things. I don't recomand it for a vacantion.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cosmin_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

The room was big but dirty(under a bed I found a lot of things).The staff is unfriendly and in the breackfast room it was so cold,our teeth were chatterring.The cost of the room is too high.Save your journey don't destroy it.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank BINDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Franktravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Offenbach hotels
0.9 mi away
Mainbogen Hotel
Mainbogen Hotel
#20 of 28 in Offenbach
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Offenbach Hotel
Sheraton Offenbach Hotel
#3 of 28 in Offenbach
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novum Hotel Offenbacher Hof
Novum Hotel Offenbacher Hof
#17 of 28 in Offenbach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Frankfurt-Offenbach
0.6 mi away
City Hotel Kaiserhof
City Hotel Kaiserhof
#14 of 28 in Offenbach
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Frankfurt Offenbach Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Cristo

Address: Bieberer Str. 61, 63065 Offenbach, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Offenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Offenbach
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Cristo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing