We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst of our trip”
Review of Hotel Zum Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zum Baeren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was a big disappointment. The room was tiny and very hot (August & no fan) with thread bare linen. It was so bad we checked out 2 days early and paid a substantial penalty. We went to a hotel a few minutes walk away which had rooms twice as large with A/C and a full restaurant.- SAME PRICE. I could never recommend this hotel. Of all the places we stayed in Germany this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nchaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flairbaer, Owner at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear guest,
first of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to comment our hotel (a second time; first review was removed by tripadvisor…….)
Actually we do remember you very well. You had booked a room for three nights via booking.com. We are sorry, that you didn’t like the room. Telling us directly your complaints after check in (and even the next morning), we would have had the chance to give another room and remove your inconveniences. And for SURE, we would have given you a fan.
Without having any chance to improve our services, we were surprised by your check out after the first night.
Being obliging we offered you to pay us only the booking.com commission (EUR 35,00). Due to the contract via booking.com we would have received EUR 228,00 from you.
Unfortunately you didn´t like our offer and threatened us with bad reviews…….
Over all we are very sorry that we disappointed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zum Baeren
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed in Rudesheim several times and believe this is the best hotel. It is located on a quiet street only minutes from the cruise dock and the village center. They recommended a local winery for dinner which was one of our favorite meals , views and experiences in Germany. We bought our cruise tickets at the hotel, too. The rooms were clean, modern and spacious. Breakfast was of Germany fare and each table had our name written on a personalized plate. Cute! Parking was only a block away in the central lot. Try it, it's one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank prairietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flairbaer, Owner at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Wonderful location for the Rudesheim Winefest, 5 min walk around the corner from the town square but far enough for some peace an quiet.

Staff are super friendly and the breakfast is a plentiful help-yourself affair with scrambled eggs and toast too.
I did think however that for the price we paid it should have included the breakfast (€5 pp pd) but I guess it's a way of reducing the cost for others who don't want breakfast at the hotel.

Excellent walking area through the vineyards - no need for serious trekking gear. If it's still warm, take water, a hat and sun tan lotion - there's literally no shade until you get to the one or two restaurants located towards the top.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank safiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flairbaer, Owner at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for detailed review. Especially we enjoyed reading that you liked our new and improved breakfast buffet.
Hope to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Although we stayed in a town popular with tourists (not our usual practice) that has a busy railway line running beside the Rhine the hotel Zum Baren is in a quiet location, but is still within a few minutes walking distance of the main square with quiet restaurants and bars and the Drosselgasse where the bars provide entertainment with their food. It is close to the chair lift that carries you up to pleasant walks and wonderful views. It is also close to the departure points for the river cruises.
We travelled in a friend's camper van that was too large for the hotel car park system but the receptionist directed us to a car park just 2 minutes’ walk away where 24 hour parking was only 5 euros.
The main rooms have lovely decor. We stayed 5 nights and our room was modern, stylish, spacious with a super wet-room that had quality fittings. All the Zum Baren staff were very friendly and helpful and were pleased to give information on local sightseeing and shopping. They provide an excellent breakfast for 5 euros. We intend to visit the beautiful Rhine valley again and we will make the Zum Baren our centre.

Room Tip: When we were there when it was very hot (30C+) hotter than any of our previous visits to Germany so...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flairbaer, Owner at Hotel Zum Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Located on a quiet street near a large public car park, Zum Baeren is a small family hotel that is impeccably clean. Our room had plenty of storage space and a modern bathroom. Breakfast was good with a choice of good quality meats, cheeses and breads together with eggs. They also offer packed lunches which we found useful when going off on walks or river trips. The staff were very helpful and tolerated my limited German. They sell tickets for various river trips which can save time and make for easier planning of days out. All in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jonelle234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel which is in a quiet side street. Although we had asked to reserve one of the car park spaces when we booked, there was nothing booked for us when we arrived so we had to move the car to the public car park. However, this was only a short distance away and was 10 Euro for 2 days. Rooms were fine but the best thing was the breakfast! Great choice and variety of food. Good location too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 115DianeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Good place to stay in Rüdesheim. Hotel located in city center in a small and quite street. 5 minutes walking distance from famous street and all restaurant and bars.
Familly type hotel with nice breakfast. During my last stay, i have got a single room. Was quite nice even if bathroom was slightly to small and few details inside bathroom require maintenance.
Good internet access via wireless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hleg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.2 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#17 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rheinhotel Lamm
Rheinhotel Lamm
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindenwirt
Hotel Lindenwirt
#10 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Baeren

Address: Schmidtstr. 31, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: £84 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Baeren 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zum Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zum Baeren Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing