We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College wine trip 2008”
Review of Hotel Rheinstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rheinstein
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I travelled here as part of a wine try for college. we were studying advanced wine in a college in dublin to complete our degree it was part of the course. our trip was arranged by our lecturer so im not sure about value for money but for our course it was excellent location wise. We arrived on a tuesday morning too a pre arranged coach(I think car travel is required to get here but it is worth it).

We drove to the vine yard first then back to the hotel. Its standard but that's all you want on a trip like this. The room was clean the sheets were fresh the bathroom was sparkling but it wasn't amazing it was a short overnight stay which wasn't a holiday as such. The only thing I will say is its more like a hostel and we were reminded the main door gets lock so not to stay out too late. Also we changed rooms as there was a dead mouse in our first room. (As I said its basic so don't go here looking for amazing accommodation remember its the views and the experience that makes it worthwhile).

I would recommend this as a weekend trip or as an overnight stop if travelling the views are wonderful and if your like me and into photography you will love the mountains. We did a 4 hour walk across the mountain and the experience made me forget everything but the natural beauty in front of my eyes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank zombie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel was close to the train station and right across the road from the Rhine cruise embarkation point. However, the train track is also right across the road and the trains are frequent and noisy. At one point in the night, they were passing at 5 minute intervals! I didn't sleep much but my friend slept through most of the niose. So, if you are a light sleeper, it might not be such a good idea. There are a lot of hotels on the same street, though and even the ones further into the town would probably still be affected.
The room was adequate. The breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KimWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights yes, the building is old - but very clean - the bathroom just recently renovated the room was really just great - and they also installed new windows to help keep noise out - from the trains that go by day and night! and the windows helped a whole lot

the staff - were great - spoke English well, breakfast was great, location great and there was free parking and wifi,
we had great view rhein river
would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank opth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The hotel is tired. The Resturant situated at the very front of the hotel is no longer owned by the hotel so the hotel only operated on a bed and breakfast basis. We had to park our car on some waste ground a good five minutes walk away and put a hotel card on the dashboard so there would be no parking charge. We were able to bring the car to outside the hotel to load and unload but were on double no parking lines. The weather was excellent so the parking was not a major problem but had it been raining then it would have been a different story. It is very convenient for the river cruise ships which are moored just across the road. Heavy goods trains with 15- 20 waggons plus passenger trains go past the window at the front every 15- 20 mins 24/7 and in between there is the warning pips of the level crossing gate shutting. There are numerious hotels in the town set away from the river front that would be less noisey but without the view of the river. There is a very small area on the first floor where you can sit outside on plastic chairs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wrightdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Myself and wife have stayed here 5 times in last three years. While it's undeniable, that,due to the railway and church,it's noisy,. I would think though,that if you stay anywhere overlooking the Rhine,especially this area,then the train is going to pass your digs,every village also has churches,so the noise will be similar. The hotel is not the prettiest in the village,but it is two star and prices compare to say Blackpool. The breakfast is adequate,usual buffet style. The rooms are very clean and the ones we've had,quite large.Sofa,chair,coffee table,tele,the bathroom has a double sink and bidet,towels changed daily. If like us,you just want somewhere basicbut clean to sleep,and a bite to eat before going out for the day,then,at least in our opinion.it's ideal. Just a few minutes from the station and across the road from the ferries. Just for value,i'll give it four

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keeprockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Stayed at hotel on Shearings coach tour
Hotel okay generally but very basic, went on scenic tour but hotel window looked out at wall.
Food was basic but okay
Problem with hotel is noise, at front of hotel about 30 metres away is main rail line running 24/7 with both passenger and heavy goods trains. Church 20 metres opposite way to railway bells play for 10 minutes every morning at 7.
The only time I slept was on the coach when i should have been sight seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank welshmanEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

The location of this hotel seems, at first glance, to be beautiful as it faces the Rhein. Unfortunately, the trains run opposite it all night and cause an awful lot of noise. The staff is friendly enough, but the hotel's decor is an absolute nightmare. Seventies style without chic, just dark and ugly. Everything was clean, though and the rooms had sizeable bathrooms, one of ours was even fitted with a bidet, rare enough in German hotels. As Ruedesheim is a small town, the hotel is very near to the retaurants and Weinkeller thronged by tourists. There are much nicer places to stay if you drive the route to Koblenz.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank persephone1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Ruedesheim am Rhein
Parkhotel Ruedesheim am Rhein
#14 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lindenwirt
Hotel Lindenwirt
#11 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#18 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#19 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinstein

Address: Rheinstr. 20, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinstein 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immer eine gute Zeit; getreu diesem Motto heißen wir Sie herzlich Willkommen im Hotel Rheinstein. Das im Jahre 1703 errichtete Gebäude wurde in den Jahren 2013 - 2016 einer aufwendigen Sanierung unterzogen und alle Bereiche des Hotels wurden modern, zeitgemäß und individuell gestalteten. Unser Hotel erfüllt alle aktuellen brandschutz- und sicherheitsrechtlichen Auflagen. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir als Einzelkulturdenkmal in die Denkmalliste des Landes Hessen aufgenommen wurden. Ein barrierefreier Zugang zu unserem Hotel ist über unsere ebenerdige Terrasse und dem vorhandenen Aufzug möglich. Aufgrund unserer zentralen Lage erreichen Sie alle Sehenswürdigkeiten unserer schönen Stadt in nur wenigen Gehminuten. Oder verweilen Sie auf unserer schönen Terrasse bei einem Glas Wein, einer Tasse Kaffee oder einem schmackhaften Abendessen und beobachten das querliege Treiben auf der Promenade. Unsere Küche bietet regionale und mediterrane Gerichte. Wir freuen uns auf Sie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rheinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rheinstein Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing