We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a stop over”
Review of Hotel-Cafe Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Cafe Post
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I had an immaculately clean room, with en Suite shower, over looking the Rhine. The welcome as a 'Walk in' guest, was warm and the proprietor spoke good English. I was helped up to my room with my luggage from the private car park at the back of the Hotel, which, as there was no lift was a great help to me as a disabled traveller. I appeared to be the only guest staying as the only other People around seemed to be the staff. I got a weak smile from each of them, but as I don't speak German, that was fine. The meal I ordered was a shrimp salad, which looked to be an enormous plate of salad, but turned out to be nearly all lettuce covered with a Remoulade Sauce. I also ordered a diet Coke which turned out to be one of the tiny mixer size bottles and was served with a wine glass - not the thirst quenching drink I was hoping for. However, this was not the hotel's fault, but mine for not checking first. The room was a good size, but there were no toiletries, apart from a Soap, no kettle or tea and coffee making facilities, and only a very low coffee table if I needed to use my Laptop. However, the adaptor I had would not fit the German plugs, and the Situation of the sockets was extremely inconvenient. It would have been a contortionist who could have plugged into the sockets by the bed, and the only other socket was beside the door into the room. Strange Placement! The saving grace was the free wi´fi, the code for which is very thoughtfully engraved onto a small metal disc on the door. Breakfast was excellent. Fruit Juice, coffee, a selection of cheeses, cold meats and then a perfectly cooked boiled egg.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the front, as anything at the back will be disturned by the Trains which pass about e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

In an era of ever more homogenized global accommodations, here is a charming old school hotel with local flair! Situated right on the eastern bank of the fabled River Rhine, the unique selling point of this establishment is its fabulous location. The rooms are somewhat spartan but comfortable and clean, with a once-in-a-lifetime view. The owners and staff are friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant charming, with a good kitchen. We booked directly by email and phone and thought we got a very decent price. If you are arriving at Frankfurt Airport and traveling by car, this is a nice little place to stay on your first night (only 50 minutes by car from the airport). You might consider taking the cable car up the mountain from Assmannshausen, then walking through the woods to the rather bombastic Niederwald monument, back down to Rüdesheim with a different cable car, and back by riverboat down the Rhine to Assmannshausen (a trip just long enough to enjoy some Kaffee und Kuchen on the boat).

Room Tip: Specify a room with a view on the Rhine -- you might never get the chance again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mothtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great location to visit the "Rhine Castles" and view from your room. Well run family hotel, very clean, but rooms a little dated. The surprise is the restaurant!! Great food from such a small kitchen. We ate there 2 evenings, a party of six, and each had a different dish.
Great "spargels" [aspargus] with hollandaise sauce, served along with lamb, fresh fish, beef steak, pork goulash, and more.!!
Each morning a nice German breakfast is waiting for you.

Room Tip: Hotel only has 12 rooms. # 3 # 8 have seperate tv sitting rooms and have rhine castle views. Rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILL8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel is really old-school. You walk into the restaurant to check-in, are given the key without any questions asked and walk up to your quaintly furnished room.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but very nice.

A good option if you are in the area. Might be worth shopping around though as our rate seemed to be quite high for the room (it might have been the season though).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apfelwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

We read about this on Trip Advisor in the Germany forum while planning a trip down the Rhine. We wanted a place that would be a good jump off for a cruise -- while enroute to provence.

We had a small but comfortable room with a view of the Rhine -- charming basic, clean family run place with nice breakfast. They let us leave our car parked there while we took the 3 hour roundtrip from there to St. Goarshausen -- a nice stretch of the Rhine with many castles.

Was modestly priced and a solid choice.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank graceh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank cathasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
2.5 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#18 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Lindenwirt
Hotel Lindenwirt
#11 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rheinhotel Lamm
Rheinhotel Lamm
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#19 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alte Bauernschaenke
Alte Bauernschaenke
#12 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
153 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Rose
Hotel Rose
#8 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Cafe Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Cafe Post

Address: Rheinuferstr. 2a | Assmannshausen, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: £76 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Cafe Post 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Cafe Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Cafe Post Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing