We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel on the riverfront in Ruedesheim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hajo's Hotel Germania
Reviewed 27 August 2014

It is clear that the newish owners are making a go of this place. There is not a lot that can be done to the structure but the rooms are adequately proportioned and have been neutrally decorated. The owners are friendly and will help as much as possible.

Rheinstrasse is the main road along the river front. Therefore, there is a busy road in front and immediately beyond that is the railway line. This is a busy line but although we did not have difficulty in getting sleep, others may. There is a large car park nearby and we initially parked there but there is a limited car park at the back of the hotel, approached by driving slowly down a ramp and turning into the side alley before either driving in or reversing into a space. The car park cost EUR 10 per night, and as we had bikes and were not planning on using our car during the stay, this was a no-brainer. The car park is secure with a gate and the owners make sure that the spaces are used by those who need them. Check in was fine and we were given a family room number 4 on the first floor and at the front of the hotel. We were shown the room and could see that the children each had their own bed, (therefore two singles) and we had a large double bed. There was a separate bathroom area with washbasin, toilet and bath/shower. It was necessary to draw the curtain to the side as it was visible to the outside otherwise. The children's sleeping area was to the front and they had their own television, but it was also the way to a very nice and large balcony, with wooden table and chairs, and also a sun lounger chair. The view from the balcony was lovely. There were also a number of power points so you could charge your electrical items. Wifi was free but you need to ask at reception for the login details.

The ground floor has both a reception, a games room (including table football that my children really enjoyed, and was free) and the Irish pub. You do get noise when there are musicians playing and this seems to be generally Thursday nights and the weekends, but otherwise it seemed quiet. The whole bar area is very interesting with wooden benches and tables almost surrounding the bar itself with tables and chairs a little further distant. This room is also used for breakfast. Breakfast included cereals, meats and cheeses, boiled eggs to order, tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc. Tables were allocated to your room, but were laid with a proper table cloth. The hotel is popular and although we stayed for two nights, it was clear that they had around six rooms in use on both days with a mix of people from the US, Germany, Japan, and France as well as us from the UK.

The location is also very close to the main shopping "alley" which is just around the corner. You are also literally 100m from the cable car station so everything is just a short hop away. Note that the coach tours generally get in around lunchtime so some shops only open at 10 or later so things can be quiet in the morning. If you have time take the round tour of cable car, and walk to the monument celebrating Germany, the magic cave, a view of Knights Castle, some coffee and ice creams at Jakobs hotel before seeing some interesting deer before descending by a cable lift. At the bottom, and with your tour tickets you will have a queue before getting on a boat that will deliver you back to Ruedesheim. It might be quieter if you did this in reverse.

Ruedesheim is noted for its toys and also for its Christmas decorations, very touristy and seek out the places where the quality is evident, and we found some very nice things for all the family. We would hope to return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: There is noise from the pub but this is more so on weekends. You have to use your room key to lock t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastal_Plainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your detailed review. We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay. One thing we would like to inform you and the readers about: you find the WIFI login details in every room twice, on the information card beside the complimentary water bottle and in the provided A - Z information booklet with all the information about the hotel and Rüdesheim. In this little brochure you can also find a lot of old pictures of the hotel and village, even the interesting history, everything translated in English. Of course you get the code also at front desk when you ask for it. And there is a guest computer with free internet access on the 2nd floor on the corridor if you don't have your own appliance with you.
We would appreciate to welcoming you again as our guests one day! We wish you all good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The owner and his staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an excellent room with large balcony and great views of the river and all its traffic. Even though weather was very hot the room stayed cool. Parking is tight but again staff helped with this. We were not disturbed at all by the regular freight trains outside or the Irish pub below, indeed the owner roped us in to singing along with Irish songs in the bar. Drosselgasse with all its restaurants is just steps away. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: Recommend room with balcony on the river for views and interest. Maybe not so good for light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BritRich750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review! We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you all good and hope that we can accomodate you again one day! Best wishes from Rüdesheim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a Week-end staying at Hajo's hotel Germania Rudesheim. Firstly when making this booking direct with the hotel (better rates) I e-mailed The hotel several times to ask various questions about the things we wanted to do & see when there, Andrea answered back every time very quickly and her help on all my question was fantastic. We decided to drive from Koln rather than the train & the drive was straight forward 1 hour 30 minutes all motorway. Found the back entrance to the hotel easily, walked in the back door to be met by Hajo the hotel owner. I asked how much to leave my hire car in a secure space & Hajo said it was 10e but there was a car park at the railway station which was only 5e and only a short walk, well car hire have lots of damage extras and charges for various stuff & the thought of returning to my car in the train station on bricks told me to take Hajo's secure space for the sake of an extra 5e a day.
Anyhow, we had booked room 2, a 1st floor double with bath & balcony. Hajo carried both our bags up which was a nice gesture & explained to us all we needed to know.
Our trip to Rudesheim was to take a trip down the Rhine by boat, do the cable car and chairlift and see all the sites to which we was not disappointed. We explained all this to Hajo and he told us all the best ways to do what we wanted as in the boat times, pier number, which way to do it all and even had the tickets at the same prices that we would get from the pier (saved queuing)...Now back to the hotel, we had read reviews about room two & four (front 1st floor over the bar) and the noise at the weekends, Yes Fri night the bar had a singer on who never ended until 1am and we could hear him but with cotton wall & a few beers we slept, Saturday night the cellar bar was open until 4am but we didn't find this to much of a problem (however we had drunk a lot more in the bar watching the football)..Thanks for the free beers Hajo, hope your team wins again next time we stay lol. All in all if you are a light sleeping teetotaller ask for a high floor room at the back to be safe from noise. The prices in the bar are very reasonable and the quality of all the beers, spirits etc good,
There is even a massive glass fronted fridge with ice cold everything on the 2nd floor that you can help yourself from 24 hours, wine, lager, fizzy drinks, water you name it, there is a price list again reasonable on the wall next to it, you just help yourself and tell the hotel what you have had,...now that to me is something special. this hotel is a place in time. It's location is the best, its rooms are the best, its staff are the best. Breakfast served until 11am was lovely, help yourself to as much as you want, your own named table, what can I say, top marks.
Thank you Hajo & all the staff at Hotel Germania, we will be back..

Room Tip: If you are a teetotal light sleeper book a high floor back room as room 2 & 4 front with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenthouseCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guests,
a very big THANK YOU for this great review. We feel highly honoured!
We wish you all good and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed Hajos Hotel Germania one night a short time from 21:30 to 8:30, nevertheless Andrea and Maria gave us entirely comfortable treatment with complete hospitality. Our room was faced with the Rhein in south as well as DB railway, so night freight trains ran throughout the midnight, however noise of the trains was completely shut out with fine airproof windows. That brought us sound sleep. More over, breakfast was so delicious that we could save lunch with a little sandwich. From check-in to check-out, we always were at home indebted for them. Why not hesitate about choice accommodation in Rudesheim.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hajo's Hotel Germania even it was a short one. We hope that we can welcoming you again one day.
We wish you all good and thank you for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Hajo's Hotel Germania in early August 2013. We expected a great hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and that's exactly what we found!

The location of this hotel is fabulous. The views (either the Rhine or vineyards) can't be beat. The rooms were large and very clean. We traveled with grandparents, but our family of four occupied a family room. The room was wonderful and included TWO fans which was wonderful since Germany was experiencing a hot spell. The bathroom had double sinks which was a bonus for getting ready in the mornings.

Our floor had complimentary tea and coffee. Also, there was a large refrigerator with cold drinks available for purchase on the honor system (you reported what you drank at checkout). It was reasonable and very convenient.

The staff was great helping us out with boat tour information/reservations and with the delivery of a new rental car due to car problems. When the car was delivered, one of the limited parking spaces was occupied by a delivery car. We left the car keys and a staff member moved the car when the space became available. This allowed our family to leave the hotel and continue with our day instead of waiting for the parking spot.

Breakfast was great with a nice variety of foods.

I almost forgot - the WIFI! FREE!!! What a bonus, especially since we have a teenager.

One downside - the train noise, which we expected from Trip Advisor reviews. It was not an issue since our room was located in the rear of the hotel. Would that deter us from staying at the Hotel Germania in the future? Absolutely not! If we visit Rudesheim again, we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in the rear of the hotel for a quieter room in case you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Gäste,
vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback! Es freut uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat. Wir sind stets bemüht, unseren Gästen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Es würde uns freuen, Sie eines Tages wieder im Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen und senden liebe Grüße aus Rüdesheim am Rhein.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have visited Rudesheim many times before, but this is the first time we stayed here. We loved it! It's convenient to everything and we loved the Irish bar-which was packed-on the ground floor. This is not an air-conditioned hotel, so maybe don't visit in the middle of the summer...it can get hot. But there was a fan in our room and a cool breeze coming off the river. We'll stay here again, for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifeofb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Gäste,
es freut uns, dass Sie einen schönen und angenehmen Aufenthalt in unserem kleinen familiengeführten Hotel am Rhein hatten. Es gibt uns ein gutes Gefühl, wenn unsere Gäste das Ambiente des Hotels zu schätzen wissen. Wir hoffen, dass wir Sie bald wieder in Hajo's Hotel Germania begrüßen dürfen und wünschen Ihnen alles Gute.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had stayed in this hotel 3 years ago and really enjoyed it. (ignore in the title that we visited during 2012) When seeing the reviews of more recent visitors can see that the hosts have kept up the good work. Can remember the plentiful breakfast and also, me being coeliac, took the trouble to buy for me fresh gluten-free bread. Also helped up with the cases when we arrived as the room was at the top, which was spacious and since we stayed for 10 days very convenient.
Should we return to Rudessheim definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAVassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoisinMurphy_1980, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hajo's Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your review. We remember you very well. It was a pleasure for us to accomodate you during your holiday. We always try to arrange special food for our guests if they need, it is no problem at all if we know in advance. It is our ambition to make the guests stay as convenient as possible, even when they need special arrangements.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and we wish you all good and health.
Best regards from the Meuer Family of Hajo's Hotel Germania in Rüdesheim am Rhein.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruedesheim am Rhein hotels
0.2 mi away
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
Bruehl's Trapp Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grunen Kranz
Historisches Weinhotel Zum Grune...
#17 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altdeutsche Weinstube
Altdeutsche Weinstube
#10 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
Hoteltraube Ruedesheim
#19 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Felsenkeller
Hotel Felsenkeller
#2 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Ruedesheim am Rhein
Parkhotel Ruedesheim am Rhein
#13 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hajo's Hotel Germania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hajo's Hotel Germania

Address: Rheinstr. 10, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hajo's Hotel Germania 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hajo's Hotel Germania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hajo's Hotel Germania Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing