We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, depending on which rooms.”
Review of Hotel Garni Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Aurora
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place, depending on which rooms.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a nice stay at the Aurora. It is a small but comfortable and clean hotel. If possible, reserve rooms 30 or 31 which are MUCH larger than the others our friends had, which were very small and cramped. Room 30 was clean and comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very good and affordable. Note that the hotel does not have air conditioning so there is street noise from the open windows. We would stay here again but ONLY if we could guarantee a reservation for room 30 or 31.

Room Tip: Reserve room 30 or 31. Other rooms tend to be very small as indicated in other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
21
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed at this Garni for Business. Customer booked single room for me. Looked nice on the internet but do not let this fool you. I even called to make sure I was getting a nice room but no one knew of the phone call. What kind of customer service is this? The single room was not bigger than a large closet and very narrow and claustrophobic as ever. It felt as if in a child's room with no decor and OLD closets jsut missing the bunk beds. OH, Bed was very old too. I have stayed in better youth hostels. Had words with the young evening check-in girl as she was very harsh with her tone and tried to argue that the room was nice. Customer service was not up to par. She gave me a double room on the street, (and charged extra for it!) windows directly by sidewalk and where cars park. Loud and noisy! I specifically asked for a quiet room Slept terribly!!! Bed very low and way too hard. NO shampoo, or amenities except for sample packs of liquid soap and lotion. Breakfast was good, nice variety but getting a coffee took at least 10 minutes. Would I book again, NO. I would stay in the Motel One instead!!

Room Tip: Book a different Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvhighexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wiesbaden hotels

Essen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

部屋は思ったより狭いのですが清潔でした。深夜にホテルに戻り、ベットに寝るとマットレスを支える下の木が壊れていて体が沈むだけでなくベットがギーギーときしみ全く眠れませんでした。部屋には電話もなく連絡のしようがありませんでした。チェックアウト前にレセプションにその事を伝えると『ホテルの入り口にインターフォンがあるのになぜ電話を掛けなかったのか?』と言われましたがチェックイン時に何の説明もなく不親切だと思いました。また一晩中眠れなかったにも関わらず、駐車場を使っていればその分をサービスしますがそうでなければ€10のディスカウントをオファーされました。あの状態の部屋に€69も払わせるのかと驚きました。もう2度と泊まることはないと思います。

We came back to the hotel after 1 o'clock midnight. A bed in the small room was broken that was really uncomfortable with funnu noise and I could not sleep at all! No telephone in the room, how could we contact them?? Following day, I complainted about a mutter to a reseotion lady and she said " Why you didn't call us from the phone where is at entrance at the wall." No instraction at all when we checked in. This hotel offered me free car parking or €10 disscount. I can not believe that I have to pay €69 even after disscount. Never back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombon_chocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I regret not to have read the tripadvisor reports before. Recommended by the fully booked Motel One I was faced with a very friendly reception clerk and a modern atmosphere. The hotel inside (no lift) might have a few stylish modernm rooms, but the rest is outdated , worn outand uncomfortable. Back to the website: it creates an illusion In short : never again.

Room Tip: At least insist intotally new room, and avoid breakfast,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We chose Hotel Aurora based on reviews, and its proximity to our friends' home downtown, where we were attending a holiday gathering. What a pleasant surprise! We were welcomed warmly by Galore at the front desk. She spoke perfect English and gave us tips and directions, along with a friendly greeting as we came and left throughout our 2 day stay. It was only a short walk to the square, Christmas market, central train station, and baths.

The hotel is tucked into an historic building, where the family owns and runs this charming business. There are marble floors in the halls, and original details remain intact. It is well-maintained, and very clean and neat. An added bonus is the private parking area located behind the building, in a courtyard. While there is a small fee (7 Euro), it is much less than the other hotels and public parking lots nearby.

The breakfast was wonderful and generously laid out! There were many choices, that included vegetarian-friendly & soy products. Much appreciated by this vegetarian! We enjoyed fruits, vegetables, homemade jams, crepes, at least 3 kinds of eggs, and so much more!

The next time we are in Wiesbaden to visit family and friends, we will definitely stay here again! Thanks for a great, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Because the halls are marble, there is an echo with each step through the halls. So, if you are sens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Centrally located, not far from the main railway station, is the pleasant little hotel Aurora. The email correspondence ahead of our stay was prompt and friendly. The ambience of the room is an interesting mix of modern and classic design (e.g. modern leather couch and chandeliers), which was quite appealing to us. The room (No 30) and bathroom were clean, with a Buddha statue overlooking the rather old-fashioned wall tiles.
The fan in the bathroom which automatically started when turning on the light, was quite noisy and it stayed on for a few minutes after one left the room – makes sense, but was a bit annoying because of the rather loud hum.
Breakfast has a wide variety, cooked breakfast and waffles, fruit and veggies and the service for coffee was efficient. Checkout was just as efficient.
Overall we would stay here again if we were in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandMBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
605 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We've recently stayed here and it was great, from the moment of arrival nothing was too much trouble. Admittedly the room was on the small side but it was spotless as was the bathroom. The bed very comfortable. The position is great near the old town an easy stroll away. We were particularly impressed by the breakfast, buffet style with a great choice of both hot and cold items, including smoked salmon which at the total price was excellent value. The people who own the hotel are Italian and were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.2 mi away
Favored Hotel Hansa
Favored Hotel Hansa
#15 of 45 in Wiesbaden
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
TOP Hotel Alexander
TOP Hotel Alexander
#19 of 45 in Wiesbaden
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaegerhof
Hotel Jaegerhof
#35 of 45 in Wiesbaden
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.2 mi away
Motel One Wiesbaden
Motel One Wiesbaden
#2 of 45 in Wiesbaden
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Aurora

Property: Hotel Garni Aurora
Address: Untere Albrechtstr. 9, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garni Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing