We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things are looking up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Things are looking up”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed again at this hotel and was happy to see that they are underway on a major renovation of the rooms. I was fortunate to be one of the first to stay in a renovated room and it was a real treat to see the grand hotel being updated.

The staff is still fantastic, the room is great, and the price is reasonable. I just wish they would get a few American TV stations.

Room Tip: Get a room on the fifth floor, it is the only one renovated at this point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    199
    85
    31
    15
See reviews for
73
152
33
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel Property - very nice.
Spa - looks terrific, but pool is about 90 degrees (a bit warm for laps for me). Very nice spa facility with massage rooms etc - very nice masseuse.
Food - breakfast was very good.
Room - nice with very high ceilings. BUT the A/C is TERRIBLE. It was completely useless. No cool air comes out - it only blows warm air. And other rooms were no different. They claim it's because they are located above hot springs. But any decent a/c system should blow whatever temperature air you ask for, regardless of where it happens to be located. After spending one night here, I began reading reviews of other Wiesbaden hotels. I couldn't find a decent place in town which appeared to have effective a/c, so the next day we moved to the Marriott Courtyard (which is very pleasant and does have working a/c) for the rest of the week.

I'd be happy to return to the Schwarzer Bock if they can convince me that they have updated their a/c system.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonext32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It was our second time at the hotel and I was disappointed, because I remembered it was nicer the previous time. They are renovating the hotel, so there is structures everywhere. We asked for a bath and had a difficult time to get a room with a bath and not a shower. The spa area changed so it lost it's atmosphere and it was very crowded. Some of the staff was helpful. The breakfast was too expensive so we ate in the shopping street. It is located close to the bus stops

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

After reading some of the other reviews prior to our trip, I was concerned we would be disappointed with the hotel but we actually enjoyed it. We had a business class room which was extremely spacious with 2 bathrooms and a large entry way. Our only problem with the room was the temperature. April was very warm for the area so they had trouble cooling the building. It wasn't uncomfortable, though, just a bit warmer than we prefer. The rooms do need updating but my main concern is always cleanliness and that was not a problem in our room. It was extremely clean.

The service was great and it was a relief that the staff spoke English since I know about 5 words in German.

We liked the breakfast as well with enough variety to please everyone.

Also, the hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEG1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lander, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I spent 13 nights at the Schwarzer Bock in April/May for business. The building is very historic with a nice ambience. The hotel is located at the end of the pedestrian way, very convenient to shops and restaurants. Beautiful parks are an easy walking distance. Great places to run and the hotel will give you a map on lanyard so you won't get lost. A long, but doable, walk to the train station. Room 339 was a typical size room for German hotels. It was well maintained every day. The front desk was welcoming and polite. So, why only Very Good? When I checked out the computer system was down and was told they would mail me the final statement. Three weeks later, it hasn't arrived. I emailed the hotel asking about the statement and a charger I left in the room. Three weeks later, no response. Beware of the breakfast price! A short walk down the street and you can get the same for 1/2 the price.

Room Tip: Fourth floor was being remodeled in May 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Rooms remind a little of hostels. Bathrooms are great, spacious and remodeled. Location is right at the end of the pedestrian shopping district so ver convenient. Breakfast was extensive and very good. There are not many great choices in Wiesbaden.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a nice old building but feels a little half finished. Room felt very dated despite clearly being newly decorated.

Weird shower which only pointed one way and soaked the floor.

Good, free wifi, nice breakfast, didn't use restaurant. Staff friendly and efficient, good central location if you need to be in Wiesbaden.

Didn't feel like a Radisson.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oranien
Hotel Oranien
#3 of 45 in Wiesbaden
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Address: Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#8 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel in Wiesbaden, the oldest grand hotel in Europe and home to a historic bathhouse and spa. The luxury hotel boasts an eventful history going back to 1486. The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel is located in the centre of Wiesbaden, the capital of the region of Hesse. Its excellent location on Kranzplatz square allows the guest to explore the city by foot. Saunter along Wilhelmstrasse, Wiesbaden's magnificent boulevard, or visit the numerous attractions, such as the Kurhaus, Casino, or Hessian State Theatre, which are all just a stone's throw away. Frankfurt International Airport is located 28 km from the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, which is approx. a 30-minutes drive. The Hotel is also easily accessed by public transport. ROOMS & SUITES The Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, Wiesbaden has 142 rooms and suites, which combine a traditional atmosphere and timeless elegance with modern technology. Choose from one of our four room categories: Classic, Superior Class, Business Class and Suites. Enjoy the unique charm of our historic hotel. All room have air-conditioning and Internet access included. The Business Class rooms offer the following additional amenities: a complimentary gift upon arrival, a daily newspaper, bathrobe, free TV entertainment program, a Nespresso(R) coffee machine with a selection of specialty coffees as well as the "Super Breakfast" buffet in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne". RESTAURANT & BAR Bistro-Bar 1486 The Bistro-Bar 1486 combines traditional with modern architecture as well as regional and international cuisine. A relaxed bar atmosphere and historic flair gives the Bistro-Bar 1486 a unique feel. Whether you are in the mood for an exquisite menu or just want to round a successful day off with a glass of fine wine, our Bistro-Bar has everything you could possibly wish for. Restaurant ,,Le Capricorne" Start the day in our Restaurant "Le Capricorne" and enjoy a varied breakfast buffet. The elegance and charm of our restaurant provides the perfect setting for your breakfast,lunch and dinner, making it an ideal venue for celebrations, weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing