We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern efficiency with genteel charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is steeped in history. The original 'Belle Epoque' features have been retained, while facilities have been completely modernised. Don't miss out on the superb buffet breakfast. Rooms and beds very comfortable. Soundproofing is excellent. Service is superb across the board.

Room Tip: The upgrade to 'business class' is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank andrewmbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear andrewmbnl,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay from our hotel, Europe´s oldest traditional hotel. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable in the whole hotel. We will share your feedback with our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future in our hotel, restaurant and SPA Area. Thank you!

kind regards
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has many beautiful touches such as the recently renovated rooms which are large and comfortable and the beautiful downstairs bar. The hotel does need to update its air conditioning. And, hopefully when the outside entrance is completed, it will be beautiful and welcoming. We would stay here, again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank TLSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear guest,

thanks for the very positive review. It's nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you, kind regards
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here's what I emailed Steve, who inquired about Wiesbaden and the hotel via Trip Advisor.

What I love in particular is the hotel's location. You can just meander via the long pedestrian walk stretching all the way thru town, and not have to use a car. Matter of fact driving around town is quite a different experience than driving in the States. Streets are very narrow, parking impossible down-town.

In walking distance from the hotel is The Kurhaus and it's Kurpark behind the building. It's a must see and walk. The restaurant Käfer's is a lovely restaurant in the Kurhaus. The casino is a great place to lose a little money...or perhaps win some. Walk down Langgasse for a cup of fine coffee and a piece of wonderful cake, at Cafe Maldaner, one of Wiesbaden's finest and oldest Establishments. http://www.cafe-maldaner.de/

Take the bus, right outside the hotel, the hotel will be able to assist you, to the Nerotal, which is the end of the line, before it turns around and goes back (about a 10 minute ride one way). There's a nice restaurant named the Weihenstephan. Stop in and have Schweinebraten or Goulasch with Klöße (potatoe balls).

To the right of the restaurant is a path leading into the woods. Very pretty, if you like to walk. Inquire about the Leichtweißhöhle at the hotel if you walk down that path. http://www.showcaves.com/english/de/showcaves/Leichtweis.html

Take the Nerobergbahn, a funicular railway, up the hill for a beautiful view of Wiesbaden and surroundings. Read here about what else to see and do once you get to the top. http://www.wiesbaden.de/en/living-in-wiesbaden/recreation/recreation-areas/public-parks/nerotal-vineyard.php

Go here for all you ever wanted to know about Wiesbaden and it's surroundings. This site provides the data in several languages, English being one of them. http://www.wiesbaden.de/en/index.php

Drive up the Rhine and stop in Rüdesheim. Walk the very narrow Drosselgasse with wall to wall restaurants, shops, etc. Continue north along the Rhein (Rhine) to the Lorelei.

Hope this helps you enjoy the wonderful town of Wiesbaden, considered the 'greenest' town in Germany and... my hometown. It only rates second to Southern California, my adopted home. But then of course I'm a little biased.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out onto the street and watch local activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, General Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Etessi,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay from our hotel, Europe´s oldest traditional hotel. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable in the whole hotel and surrounding Wiesbaden. We will share your feedback with our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future in our hotel.

Thank you!

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff seemed to get warmer as visit went on, at first I found the staff a bit stuff but they really warmed up by the end of the stay.
The Hotel is a classic old fashioned style which has been modernised. Some of the rooms are on the small size, and it's worth checking this.

Big bonus is the This Works products shampoo and other things which you can only get in Radisson's, best shampoo ever.
Nice area and overall a good experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Pheephox,

Thank you for your booking at the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel and taking the time to give us your feedback.
It is a pleasure for us, that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable with us.

We would be very delighted to welcome you again in the future with us.

Thank you!

Kind regards
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I travel a lot and I have never had friendlier staff, and staff willing to help at a moments notice than at this hotel! The location is within blocks of the best Wiesbaden has to offer: parks, shopping, restaurants, casino, German Fests, and anything else one wants for a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Gray S.,

We highly appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay.

As a host, it is always our goal, that our guest feels comfortable at our hotel.
We will share your great feedback with our hotel staff.

On behalf of the entire Radisson Blu team we like to thank you for your visit
and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Europe’s oldest hotel.

Kind regards
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stay at the room 117 for 2 nights. atfirst floor facing the courtyard, it was new ,fresh and peaceful, I'm quite happy with the room coz of good AC helps you sleep better in the hot summer, the location is near perfect, people are friendly, if I have to complain something that will be spa area is totally new, I thought they should keep some old part to memories the old history.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank lambrettakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear lambrettakay,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay from our hotel, Europe´s oldest traditional hotel.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to feel comfortable in the whole hotel.

We will share your feedback with our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future in our hotel.

Thank you!

Wolfgang Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is situated in the heart of the town, everything is in a walkable distance. The rooms are huge, clean and extremely comfortable. I liked especially the athmosphere in the hotel. The spa is recommendable and the service is unique.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evafoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang W, Manager at Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Evafoi,

we highly appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay.
As a host, it is always our goal, that our guest feels comfortable at our hotel.

On behalf of the entire Radisson Blu team we like to thank you for your visit
and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Europe’s oldest hotel.

Kind regards
Wolfgang Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.8 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
1,111 reviews
0 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#14 of 45 in Wiesbaden
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#19 of 45 in Wiesbaden
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel

Address: Kranzplatz 12, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#8 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range: £83 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel in Wiesbaden, the oldest grand hotel in Europe and home to a historic bathhouse and spa. The hotel is located in the centre of Wiesbaden. Its excellent location on Kranzplatz square allows the guest to explore the city by foot. The Hotel has 142 rooms and suites, which combine a traditional atmosphere and timeless elegance with modern technology. Choose from one of four room categories. All rooms have air-conditioning and Internet access included. A relaxed atmosphere and historic flair give our Bar 1486 a unique feel. Whether you are in the mood to round off a successful day off with a glass of fine wine or something to eat, our bar has everything you could possibly wish for. Start the day in our restaurant "Le Capricorne" and enjoy a varied breakfast buffet. The elegance and charm of our restaurant provides the perfect setting, making it an ideal venue for celebrations, weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing