We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool out of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Wiesbaden
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool out of the city”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is quite a cool hotel. Funky but functional. Rooms are everything you might need but nothing more as you would expect for the price. Having lived in Wiesbaden for a few years in the past this hotel is too far from the city centre to be convenient for what Wiesbaden is worth visiting for. As a business hotel if you don't intend to go out it is great with a decent bar, food and rooms. It's location, some way from the centre and on an industrial estate is it's only downside. Depends what you are here for that should help make your decision.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailblaser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaartenNieuwenhuize, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Trailblaser22, great that you took the time to express your experiences in our penta Wiesbaden !! On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for this and hope welcoming you again in our hotel !! Regards, Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    434
    252
    45
    22
See reviews for
105
248
30
539
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

First impressions aren't good as you check in at the bar, but good selection of drinks and nice food.

Rooms are very eclectic and no specific theme....just lots of random colours. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable.

Breakfast is fantastic. Very tasty and lists of choice.

A 10 mins taxi to the centre of Wiesbaden and close to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaartenNieuwenhuize, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear WorldTraveller82 !!! we are delighted about your nice comments during your stay !! It always motivates the entire team and helps us to keep up the good spirit !!! Thanks again and hope to welcome you again soon !!! Regards, Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I’ve stayed at this hotel several times and finally it has worn me down enough to look for a different place to stay next time.

First the positives:
Efficient check in although it strikes me as a little chaotic sometimes as the bar and reception are one desk.
Rooms are a reasonable size with 2 large single beds often joined together to form one huge bed. The mattresses are very comfortable.
The rooms seem to be getting gradually refitted and baths are being replaced with large walk in showers.
Good breakfast buffet.
The hotel generally seems very clean.

Negatives:
I’ve never walked into such a hot bedroom in my life! Luckily I could open the window (I couldn’t on my previous stay!) but the room never seemed to cool down enough because you can’t really leave a sideways opening window open wide all night. The problem is when you do have the window open, you get disturbed by loud traffic noise. Typically for a German hotel, you can’t use the aircon to cool a room in winter – they just like to blow out loads of hot air!
This hotel always strikes me as style over substance. For instance, the bedside shelves (whilst I haven’t actually measured them) must be about 25cm x 15cm? Pretty useless. There is no electric point near the bedroom mirror.
I find the bedding to be much too hot (I’ve tried both feather and hypo allergenic) and combined with the overly warm rooms, it means I never sleep well in this hotel.
The TV is very limited for English speakers with only BBC and CNN, although in fairness, this isn’t unusual for German hotels. However as this is very much an international business hotel, a little more choice would be nice.
It’s hard for a woman to travel on her own and eating dinner is always a problem. I find the restaurant in this hotel particularly intimidating so I would not use it on my own. It’s difficult to say why apart from the fact it’s normally very loud and bustling. The room service menu is very limited with basically a choice of pizza, burger or club sandwich. I was charged 6 euros for a bottle of water!

Overall, whilst this is hotel is adequate, I’ll be trying somewhere else next time. Somewhere where I hope I can sleep!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank English_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaartenNieuwenhuize, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear English Al, thank you for your feedback during your stay in our Penta Wiesbaden. We are very happy about the positive ones and we will definately discuss your tipps to improve. In our weekly Head of Department meetings we discuss these and you helped us a lot to get better !! And for your hopefully next stay please contact us directly so we can make arrangements for a "quiet" room. Regards, Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I've been in this hotel few months ago for business fair in Frankfurt.
Excellent reception. The rooms, although small, are very comfortable and nicely designed, nice after a day standing completely for work.
I did not partake of the breakfast, but I must say that the staff at the lounge bar is very professional. Parking is very easy just outside the hotel.
Good overall hotel's cleanliness

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaartenNieuwenhuize, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Gabriele !!! It is great to "read" that you enjoyed a good sleep after a long day at work. Next time try our breakfast because its worth it and ofcourse I passed your positive notes to our lounge colleagues. Welcome back for the next fair !! Regards, Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We made an overnight stopover at Wiesbaden. Though very short we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is nicely decorated and check in and out was prompt and staff welcoming. Our quiet room was very clean and spacious. Off street parking is offered at an additional fee (€15 p/day). A good option to stay. Look for (very) special offers on the Internet for weekend days.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaartenNieuwenhuize, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear FransV, it is great to hear that you had a nice experience in our hotel !!! We look forward to welcome you back ! Keep us in mind for the next stop over ! Regards, Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We traveled to Austria and stopped there for 1 night. We were nicely surprised by the lounge and the atmosphere (check-in is actually in the bar..). Try any of the cocktails on the card. Bedrooms are comfortable and functional. Try the rib-eye steak, it was tremendous. The burgers are generous as well. Breakfast: traditional, extensive with plenty of choice to fulfill everybody expectations and tastes. Only negative: far away from city center and expensive night parking (15€). We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten N, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear MB-Lorrez, thanks for your comments !! Great to hear that you like our ambience in our hotel, i forwarded your food experience to our chef and he is thrilled to welcome you again to serve another steak or burger. All the best ! Regards , Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Christmas Markets Coach Tour, no problems with the hotel, clean, modern rooms, great selection of food at breakfast and friendly staff, however it is on the outskirts of the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten N, General Manager at pentahotel Wiesbaden, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Rosiem9, Great to hear that you had a good time in Wiesbaden !!! It is always a big motivation for the team to get responses on a job well done. Hope to welcome you again and all the best ! Greetings, Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oranien
Hotel Oranien
#3 of 45 in Wiesbaden
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Toskana
Toskana
#11 of 45 in Wiesbaden
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Wiesbaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Wiesbaden

Property: pentahotel Wiesbaden
Address: Abraham-Lincoln-Str. 17, 65189 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wiesbaden
#4 Family Hotel in Wiesbaden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wiesbaden
#13 Business Hotel in Wiesbaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Wiesbaden 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What can you expect from us? You will find a warm, modern atmosphere that you might expect to find in Milan or London - pentastyle. Designed by Matteo Thun, our pentalounge exudes this relaxed, friendly style and the air-conditioned rooms continue the design approach. Our practical, comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night's pentasleep. The pentapeople always provide a sense of lively community amongst hotel guests, drop-in customers and hotel associates and give our guests pentafun and surprise in lounge and guestrooms. You'll feel comfortable immediately. Start the day raring to go with the abundant pentabreakfast. Pentahotel Wiesbaden, your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your pentahotel Wiesbaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penta Hotel Wiesbaden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing