We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try - but if they offer you room 119, run......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Favored Hotel Hansa
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I landed up here because of an error on the part of the Crowne Plaza. On arrival the rather jolly reception staff began by apologising that they only had room 119 available and offered me lebkuchen as a preliminary commiseration.

Room 119 is directly above either the restaurant or kitchen, and had the benefit of sitting directly in the beam of one of the arc lights that shine on the “Best Western” sign. So aside from the light and the noise and the tiny single bed, the bathroom smelled like it had a direct connection to a small intensive sauerkraut facility. But internet access was free.

I was instructed by the reception staff to leave my bags and clothes in the room and someone moved me to a “proper” room sometime during the following day. The contrast was significant – large, bright, airy, quiet, free from the “sauerkraut experience” and great value for money at €99.

One drawback is that the hotel appears not to have parking, but there is a garage under the Crowne Plaza on the other side of the street that is available for use

The reception staff alone were enough to make me want to stay here again, so provided you avoid room 119, this is a keeper.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

The hotel is ok for people looking primarily for a central location and an affordable rate. You can walk there from the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) and the Rhein-Main-Hallen are also just five minutes away.

When I stayed there for a night, the staff was friendly, my room was huge and clean, but not what I would call homely. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radgivare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I have stayed here several times and found it to be value for money. Its sits between the CBD and the train station. It was value for money, especially if you're like me and just need somewhere to stay that is comfortable while you spend most of the day being a "tourist." Breakfast was as expected - continental and well done. Overall prefectly okay for the business traveller and for stopover but would still recommend to people staying up to a week or so.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjwoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

I was staying here with a bunch of collaegues on a business trip. This is typically one of these hotels who do the job, and you'll not remember the've done it the day you leave.

Myself, I was booked in a single room and they serve their purpose; You can sleep in it. I've seen walk-in-clossets in normal average houses which are bigger. The bed is small, the furniture is functional and the bathroom is simple but clean. Good shower, pillow menu, crappy TV with mainly German Channels and housekeeping who loves to keep the heating on max. even if you turn it off. The bed is reasonable comfy (springbeds, but rather old I had the feeling)

The bigger rooms were spaciously and good according to my traveling friends. Breakfast buffets is rather good and eggs are made to order if you like. You can even get a latte instead of the buffet coffee, which is good service.

The appending Italian restaurant, which you can reach via a inner-door is of good quality, but somewhat pretentiously boring. Pricing is on the high end for German standards.

The parking is hilarious, only few spaces with somekind of an elevator system to make some extra space. However if some unsocial hotel guest parks a bit sloppy that becomes unusable, thus having to park along the streetside, which is not easy to find but free of charge until 09:00 am. There is a bigger (paid) parking around the corner.

Typically German is that Internet is not for free, which is very annoying!!

All in all of good standard, but stay away from the single rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Good: The price was excellent at appx. $270 for 3 nights & parking appx. $12.00 day. Hotel well located only a block from the Walking Zone where the shopping is located and 1/2 block from the Crown Plaza which is more than double in price. We have stayed there also. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly, rooms small but adequate. Breakfast was plentiful and overall tasty but see next.

Bad: 1. Worst mattresses we have ever encountered in Germany and we have stayed at dozens of hotels, guest houses, etc. We had trouble getting a good night's sleep because of this. The hotel really needs to upgrade to good foam German mattresses in all their rooms. 2. By our observation, apparently at least some of the food at the breakfast buffet not eaten by guests is re-served the next breakfast. On Thursday, one piece of sliced luncheon meat that I attempted to eat was spoiled (soured). By Friday the brotchen were stale although they were fresh at the beginning of the week. Some the the sliced and chopped vegetables did not look fresh at all by Friday, The tomato & cheese caprese salad were looking slimy and were obviously several days old as well as some of the other vegetables. UGH!

Now, with all this said, we would stay here again I think but we'd try to get a room with good mattresses and be careful what we ate at breakfast or maybe eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RETIRE_ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Because of all of the positive reviews I read on this hotel I have to say I was expecting more. My first surprise was that it's in a very old building and to get the lobby you have to haul your luggage up a flight stairs just to get to the check in. Then another short flight to the elevator which is just big enough for two people and two suitcases. So if you're looking for a place that meets ADA (American Disabilities Act) requirements, this is not the place for you.

The staff at the desk were very nice and friendly so kudos to them.

The room was spotless. Very squeaky clean. But there were no amenities. There are liquid soap dispensers mounted over the sink and tub and that was it. The heat was controlled by knobs on the radiators under the window.

The TV was pretty old but it didn't matter. The only channel in English was CNN.

Probably the most annoying was the internet access. You had to pay in 1, 3, 8 or 24 hour increments in advance. And once you logged in and started working you couldn't stop the clock and re-start it later. Since this was a business trip, that was difficult.

Breakfast was included. It was nice and the serving staff was friendly.

For our purposes the location was good. We could walk to the old section to shop and have dinner when our work was done.

If you're looking for no frills, old world charm, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 16 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.3 mi away
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
Dorint Pallas Wiesbaden
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#5 of 45 in Wiesbaden
1,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#18 of 45 in Wiesbaden
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Favored Hotel Hansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Favored Hotel Hansa

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 23, 65185 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hansa)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Favored Hotel Hansa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Favored Hotel Hansa. The Hotel is built on 1898 at art noveau and central located in Wiesbaden. All 76 comfortable rooms are equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, flatsreen, radio, direct dial telephone, safe and more. We offer single rooms, double rooms and a suite with 40 sqm and a conference room with 55 sqm. In the whole hotel is wifi available and free of charge for hotel guests. Please enjoy at our restaurant Rossini mediteran dishes and italien wine. A parking place is behind the hotel, entrance Rheinstrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Favored Hotel Hansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hansa
Best Western Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing