We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back to Hotel de France”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Hotel de France. It is located within easy walking distance to the Alt Stadt and on a lovely street in Wiesbaden. It keeps getting better:) This time our room was bigger and situated on the garden... but what we really appreciated is the great attention from the staff! Everyone is so very helpful, friendly and nice. Breakfast was again more "gourmet" than the usual and the outside dining was really great on the hot weekend. The only problem was the
lack of street parking due to the wine festival... next time I will reserve a parking place ahead
with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent two days in Wiesbaden at Hotel de France. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable and beautifully designed. We got an excellent support from the hotel personel and all were very friendly. The location is very nice and the price was remarkably low for the high quality we enjoyed. If you go by car you have to remember to book the garage beforehand.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a lovely small hote on a tree lined street not far from the center city of Weisboden.
The rooms were a bit small however I upgraded to a llarger room that was not that much more then a single room.
The restruant attached to the hotel was sold by the hotels owner however it was very good.

The hotel owner chef has mioved his resrtruant to a lovely spot just a mail or so from the hotel. In the hills and just behind the tree line you will find Villa im Tal.

Just next door to the hotel you will find a small chees shop and accross the street on the cornor a lovely produc market.

Thereare anumber of restruants along the street and a large number in the city center.

When in Weisboden this place is a must stay.

Room Tip: ask for a double room on the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Really great experience. We booked the Austrian Junior Suit with handmade furniture for 2 adults and baby daughter. Size of the room wasn't big as suppose to be, but you should understand that this is very old town spa town, and it is impossible to get really big room in the city center. On the town outskirts-no probs, but not in the center. Room had entrance in the garden. Food was great, breakfast is really delicious.Staff is very helpful. Home cinema in the room. Located on the shopping street, but amazingly quiet inside. 10 min walking to main sights. Good shower and 5stars hotel toiletries.Private GARAGE in 7-10 min walking with automatic door and your private remote control just for 12 euro per night(for Wiesbaden it is top of luxury) Overall excellent experience.From contras: small lift. As we have been with pushchair, it makes a little problem. But I don't think that many people going to Wiesbaden with baby, so you can count this as irrelevant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

BEWARE THE 4TH FLOOR! We got stuck in a tiny room w/ cheap looking stucco walls, mangy looking carpeting & zero artwork. We had a small window over the radiator offering a "garden view". Maybe if I hung my head outside the window I could see a plot of dirt waaaaaay down below, but all I saw were the windows of the other building 15' away. The bed is similar to sleeping on box springs w/ no mattress. The linens are clean. The ancient hotel elevator (one car) holds two people snugly w their luggage or four people who don't mind close body contact & have no luggage. The elevator wait & travel time was so lengthy we used the stairs even though we were five levels above the entry. It was faster. The bathroom had room for one person to stand (no more) and lacked a fan. The door to the bathroom was paper thin & located at the end of the bed so make sure you don't mind hearing EVERYTHING that goes on w/ your travel companion as they use a bathroom. The hotel front lobby is unimpressive even by cheap motel standards. The large candy vending machine next to the lobby sofa wasn’t exactly a 5 star element. The used condom we stepped over on the sidewalk next to hotel didn’t speak well for the immediate area. We also did not appreciate the commentary on our teenage daughter from the other hotel occupants who stood in front of the hotel while smoking their cigarettes. Ugh. Would never stay here again or recommend it. There are far better hotels w/ better locations at the same or lower prices. Do not trust the hotel website photos. They are well edited & only show their best rooms.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Having stayed here several times I would not have any hesitation in both recommending and staying at the Hotel de France. The staff are excellent, rooms comfortable and the restaurant serves imaginative and creatve dishes. Fairly near the Centre of town and the spa.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed 3 days in this hotel. First we had a classical double room, at the last level of the building ( the 4th) and it was ok, nothing special, the furniture was kind of Ikea style, out of fashion and cheap, but the room was perfectly clean. The only problem was that the heating stopped working on the second day, the staff tried to solve the problem, but, in the end, they upgraded us and we received a much more beautiful room ( 104), a lot of space and better decorated. We appreciated the effort they made to ensure our comfort, taking into consideration that the hotel was fully booked. Anyway,inside the hotel was a little bit cold everywhere, the central heating has to be improved. The breakfast was not included in the price, but it was very cheap( only 8 euro/pers) and varied, served in the restaurant of the hotel, a nice environment, thus a nice way to start a new day! The garage was a little bit further, and cost 12 euro/day.
I would recommend this hotel, the position is fantastic, only few min walk from the center ( to the left) and a wonderful park and residential area ( to the right). If we are back in Wiesbaden, we will choose for this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for the backside view, we had the frontside and it was noisy
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mihaela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
416 reviews
2.1 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#4 of 45 in Wiesbaden
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klemm
Hotel Klemm
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Taunusstr. 49, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range: £61 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing