We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Here is a Great Hotel!”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My wife and I were on a short 2 night trip to Wiesbaden after staying in Frankfurt for 3 nights. We should have stayed in Wiesbaden for all 5 nights! We were greeted by Urs who, without asking, upgraded us to a beautiful suite with outdoor access to a lovely garden. The room was spotless! The breakfast was fantastic value for 8 Euro and the guidance given regarding great restaurants in the area and directions to the nearby shopping were perfect. And there are some excellent restaurants very close! We have stayed in hotels all over the world and I dare say this hotel was one of our most pleasant experiences ever! The service and value were second to none. We will stay nowhere else whenever in the general vicinity of Frankfurt! Just a note: from the Frankfurt airport Wiesbaden is just about as close as downtown Frankfurt by train!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acacia_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is very nice on the outside, it has a splendid facade. It 'a small and very quiet hotel.
The common parts are well kept and beautiful. My room was a bit small but well maintained and clean. The decor was elegant, but needed some element more modern and I didn't like the carpeted floor.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and certainly not expensive!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Small, quiet hotel in great location. Excellent breakfast for 8 euros. Don't expect a lot from your room. It is clean, quiet and comfortable - not luxurious. You can walk to a wide range of restaurants. Central Wiesbaden is at the door. Lost of historical sites are steps away. Don't leave your key at the front desk if you will be out late - they lock the door before midnight. Wireless is free and fast. There is plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the fourth floor as they can have very small windows.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked this hotel because we liked the location in downtown Wiesbaden within walking distance of the old town area and historic attractions. We also liked the fact that it had a restaurant on site that someone on TA had suggested had the best wiener schnitzel. We arrived in the rain and discovered that there was no more parking available on site. We found a place on the street but had to feed the meter regularly for our 1 night stay. While the entry to the hotel is pleasant, our room on the 3rd floor was very small and the bathroom was even smaller! Decor was shabby and it was difficult to find a place to open the luggage without tripping over it. We went to the hotel restaurant only to discover that it had changed ownership 3 months ago and now was very upscale and expensive. We ate there anyway and had a lovely meal with great ambiance and service which made up for the poor accommodations. Would advise requesting a larger room, as other reviewers have noted and viewing the room before accepting it.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room that overlooks the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have just stayed here with four work colleagues for two nights.

The rooms were large and well appointed, the service was excellent, parking available nearby (do book as it is a small multiple car garage nearby), and it is in a perfect city-centre location in a beautiful place. Breakfast is amongst some of the best of it's type. We did not try the restaurant, as there are loads locally catering for every taste / pocket.

Do bear in mind it is a city centre hotel on a busy road, so if you are in a front-facing room with the windows open, there will be traffic noise. There is excellent double glazing if the windows are shut, or quieter rooms at the back.

The weather was blisteringly hot at over 30 degrees C, which did mean that the rooms were quite hot, but there were fans, and to be honest, what else can they do with an older building?

Recommended for those people who do not like the very modern 'clinical' type hotels with neither character nor service orientated staff. This gives you (thankfully) the polar opposite. A find.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GavinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Have to agree with the reviewer who criticized the 4th floor rooms. The room we got was not really the same as the pictures presented in here. Didn't look larger than 6 square meters in total and the bathroom was the size of the train toilet. Anyway, stayed there for one night, so it was ok. Beds were rather narrow, but soft. Overall, nothing special, probably won't stay again there (seems like other reviewers were all staying in luxury suites, as I can't really chime in with the praises for the regular room :) ).

However, the reception staff was *exceptionally* helpful and friendly, especially Jessica, who went out of her way and beyond all our expectations to help us resolve all the issues we had with the booking - thanks to her efforts our short stay in the city did not turn into complete disaster.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackbodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Hotel de France. It is located within easy walking distance to the Alt Stadt and on a lovely street in Wiesbaden. It keeps getting better:) This time our room was bigger and situated on the garden... but what we really appreciated is the great attention from the staff! Everyone is so very helpful, friendly and nice. Breakfast was again more "gourmet" than the usual and the outside dining was really great on the hot weekend. The only problem was the
lack of street parking due to the wine festival... next time I will reserve a parking place ahead
with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wiesbaden hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Schwarzer Bock Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
Novum Hotel Wiesbaden City
#12 of 45 in Wiesbaden
416 reviews
2.1 mi away
pentahotel Wiesbaden
pentahotel Wiesbaden
#3 of 45 in Wiesbaden
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nassauer Hof
Hotel Nassauer Hof
#10 of 45 in Wiesbaden
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wiesbaden City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klemm
Hotel Klemm
#9 of 45 in Wiesbaden
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Taunusstr. 49, 65183 Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Wiesbaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Wiesbaden
Price Range: £61 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing