We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry, but no cigar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City-Hotel Braunschweig
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Braunschweig
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sorry, but no cigar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The people who run this place are very nice indeed, but their hotel just doesn't quite cut it. Our room - equipped for the handicapped, for some reason - was smallish and slightly dingy. Minibar but no in-room coffee maker. Bathroom large, breakfast OK and served by helpful, friendly staff. Internet ridiculously primitive and inefficient. Most importantly, our room was burgled and my wife's suitcase stolen. Management was very sorry and gave us a smallish) bottle of wine, but the building's faulty security certainly contributed to the theft. There's one security video, filming the lobby, but the thief could simply have gone down the stairs and exited by the unvideod garage. Need I add that we won't be going back anytime soon?

Room Tip: Facing away from the street if possible (loud 24-hour bars and kebab joints across the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
4
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

been a while want to try this hotel and last week i found their rate fit my expense limit, so why not try this, i knew it would be not quiet, got the room facing the street and i can see in front my favorite turkish restaurant obayaci 54 (must try their lamb).

the room is standard bestwestern with a flat screen cable tv (cost 12 euro per day for movie and stuff) and got a small toilet with small shower, no water boiler, and a standard freeze and standard minibar.

the restaurant is ok, not so many spread of food but good enough.

they got a basement parking that cost 10 euro per day, small and fit 15 cars or so, need to point your gps to leopardstrasse 38 to reach this parking.

somehow after few night i feel like in bronx US, a lot of peoples hanging out and dont know what their doing and beside the hotel is casino and notorious redlight district, so its happening but not in good way

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetterThanNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Quite standard hotel. Nothing to complain about, nothing very special. Very good location, nice big and clean room, tasty breakfast. Personnel is friendly. There is shopping center and park nearby. About 5 min by cab from train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartekSeeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I was in Braunschweig for work and stayed at the city hotel for five nights. Found the room clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included and the spread was beautiful.
Very close to the centre of the city and the public transport system.
Dont get lost wandering the stone cobbled streets - its a great place to explore!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

It was my first trip to Germany and I was not sure how the hotel will be but when I went to Citi Hotel the experience was really good. The rooms were good fully heated with roadside view mainl in December month was ossum snow falling. The breakfast was good a lot of varities. The staff was excellent and fully cordinating. Overall I can say its worth paying not so far from Braunswieg Houft BahnHof and good shopping mall like Galaria KaufHof.

Next time also i will stay in same Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuldeep_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

The bar immediately outside the hotel building (streetside) has drunk smokers that make noise throughout the night - sound travels. Sleepless at 3 AM, I called the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do to help. The next day I was told that I should have called the police, and that I would need to pay an extra night (and breakfast!) if I were to cut my stay short. The receptionist was unreasonable and impatient. I paid in the end, and will not return here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitrogenase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

The City Hotel is a modern hotel and very well located in the city center of Braunschweig. Tram stop just in front of the door. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and big. I have enjoyed the the great breakfast buffet every morning.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braunschweig hotels
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Braunschweig
pentahotel Braunschweig
#2 of 32 in Braunschweig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.3 mi away
FourSide Hotel Braunschweig
FourSide Hotel Braunschweig
#3 of 32 in Braunschweig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stadtpalais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Parkhotel Braunschweig
0.2 mi away
Altstadthotel Wienecke
Altstadthotel Wienecke
#5 of 32 in Braunschweig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Braunschweig
BEST WESTERN Hotel Braunschweig
#11 of 32 in Braunschweig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN City-Hotel Braunschweig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City-Hotel Braunschweig

Property: BEST WESTERN City-Hotel Braunschweig
Address: Friedrich-Wilhelm-Str 26-29, 38100 Braunschweig, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Braunschweig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Braunschweig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN City-Hotel Braunschweig 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN City-Hotel Braunschweig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing