We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS IS HOW ALL B&B's SHOULD BE RUN!! - Simply Perfect!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is how it should be done! Hilary & Ian are the perfect hosts, The cottage is very cosy whilst still offering a guests lounge and many facilities.
My wife & I stayed in room 1, This gave me probably one of the best nights sleep that I had benefitted from in some years, and after investigating I discovered that the matresses were Memory Foam. So now ordering one for our bed immediately!
The breakfast was amazing!!
The place was immaculately kept! spotlessly clean! & a joy to stay in! Home from home! OUTSTANDING!
We will be back , rest assured!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESASTRELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Excellent. Extremely clean room and we were made very welcome by our hosts. They couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, nothing was a problem. It was like a home from home. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hosts are charming, the room cosy and scrupulously clean and the breakfast excellent. I do a lot of travelling for my work and Middle Holly Cottage is one of the best B&Bs I've stayed at. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation and will definitely return when in the area again (if they'd have me back!) 5 stars for both the room and the hosts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our first stay at Middle Holly Cottage, booked on recommendations on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. An overnight stay as we were attending our son's graduation at Lancaster University, wish it had been longer! A wonderful welcome, stunning rooms and a fabulous breakfast. We have found our home from home! Thank you Hilary and Ian, hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Spent 4 days at our favourite B&B with Hilary and Ian.
Mid Holly Cottage just's gets better and better, the rooms are so welcoming, much superior to many top class hotels. How many hotels supply warm bath robes?
Breakfast is to die for, without doubt the best I have ever tasted
Ian and Hilary are so helpful giving details of all nearby places of interest and even where best to park your car.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, however we like the Barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Our third stay at Middle Holly Cottage with the same warm welcome and stunning breakfast. Can't really improve on the previous posts. It's a great place to break the journey between Scotland and the South West and we shall be staying again soon.
The Forest of Bowland is only 20 mins drive away so ideal for a short break as well as a stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Once again we had a lovely stopover stay at Middle Holly and were greeted as always by the very best of welcoming hosts, Hilary and Ian.
Their accommodation is outstandingly comfortable and updates and improvements have been ongoing since we first stayed some 8years ago. Breakfast is a delight, all prepared with a personal touch. Although in the country, an excellent Italian restaurant and a good pub are only a short stroll away.
In the past we have stayed at the Cottage with family, as well as on our own journey breaks. Everyone being delighted with the quality and care afforded.
Hopefully we will have many more opportunites to enjoy this very special place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
3.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
661 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,370 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
1.0 mi away
The Priory
The Priory
#1 of 1 in Scorton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range: £82 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Holly Cottage Forton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing