We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here on 26th May as a stopover. We booked the barn on recommendations on here. Glad we did. I can assure you the fixtures fittings and bedding is outstanding. I even made the point of saying the bedding is something you would get in a 5 star hotel. The room was warm and comfortable. Ian's welcome made us feel at home and showing us around the B & B and for places to eat.

The standard of this B & B is one which I feel would outshine most hotels and I am sure if you stay here you would feel the same. The breakfast next morning was a delight and set us up for the day.

Would I stay here again, you bet.

Long may the success of this B & B continue and Ian & Hilary you are a credit to the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
83
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Every thing about this B/B is excellent and can be highly recommended. The standard is one which most expensive hotels fail to achieve yet Ian and Hilary's relaxed and friendly attitude quickly puts their guests at ease. This B/B is a credit to the tourist industry.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotersay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were made very much at home in cheerful bright clean accommodation. The breakfasts were delightful and the quantity enough to last until tea time.
Ian and Hilary gave us lots of travel information as well as other interesting information.
The location was very central for all our touring.
When we left we felt like we were leaving family.
You won't find better.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here to attend a local wedding. The room was very tastefully decorated and was in fact far nicer than some of the most expensive hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritso351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This wonderful little B&B has been very lovingly and thoughtfully upgraded in recent years to create a first class place to stay. Everything, from the warm welcome on arrival to the excellent breakfast made my stay very pleasant. This B&B is very reasonably priced for such a high standard of accommodation and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Contact the B&B directly to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We spent a night here. The accommodation is very comfortable, the welcome was warm and friendly and the cooked breakfast was superb.
The beds were very comfortable and we were surprised by the high quality of the facilities. Ian was very informative and helpful in directing us to a suitable place for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Ian & Hilary have really got it right, they provide a superb B&B which is spotless clean and everything finished to a very high standard. The room, bed and large on-suite was faultless with the room kept nice and warm . The breakfast was absolutely delicious with all local produce used.
Well done to you both as you provide a first class B&B. If you are looking to stay in this area we can certainly recommend a stopover here, one we will definitely use again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which overlooks the road but with the double glazing we had no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
0.5 mi away
The New Holly Country Pub & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Property: Middle Holly Cottage
Address: Forton PR3 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Holly Cottage Forton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing