We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was our third stay here. Ian and Hillary were as welcoming as ever, serving their usual high quality breakfast on the way up. On the way home we chose to leave early and tried their take away version which was just as good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay for only one night. A peaceful and very comfortable, warm room. Excellent shower bathroom, all very modern and spotlessly clean. A fantastic breakfast the next day. Ian and Hilary give you very helpful advice about the area. A lovely meal in the nearby recommended pub was very useful. We intend to return again and stay longer.

Room Tip: barn is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffandHilaryYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here on 26th May as a stopover. We booked the barn on recommendations on here. Glad we did. I can assure you the fixtures fittings and bedding is outstanding. I even made the point of saying the bedding is something you would get in a 5 star hotel. The room was warm and comfortable. Ian's welcome made us feel at home and showing us around the B & B and for places to eat.

The standard of this B & B is one which I feel would outshine most hotels and I am sure if you stay here you would feel the same. The breakfast next morning was a delight and set us up for the day.

Would I stay here again, you bet.

Long may the success of this B & B continue and Ian & Hilary you are a credit to the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Every thing about this B/B is excellent and can be highly recommended. The standard is one which most expensive hotels fail to achieve yet Ian and Hilary's relaxed and friendly attitude quickly puts their guests at ease. This B/B is a credit to the tourist industry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wotersay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were made very much at home in cheerful bright clean accommodation. The breakfasts were delightful and the quantity enough to last until tea time.
Ian and Hilary gave us lots of travel information as well as other interesting information.
The location was very central for all our touring.
When we left we felt like we were leaving family.
You won't find better.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here to attend a local wedding. The room was very tastefully decorated and was in fact far nicer than some of the most expensive hotels I have stayed in. Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritso351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This wonderful little B&B has been very lovingly and thoughtfully upgraded in recent years to create a first class place to stay. Everything, from the warm welcome on arrival to the excellent breakfast made my stay very pleasant. This B&B is very reasonably priced for such a high standard of accommodation and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience of staying there.

Room Tip: Contact the B&B directly to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Holly Cottage Forton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing