We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Would I stay again and would I recommend to a friend? Yes, on both counts. The only downside is that, although the address is Preston, it seemed closer to Lancaster. Good recommendations for an evening meal approx. 1/2 mile walk. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was just what we needed to break our journey driving from Inverness to London. Easily accessible from Motorway, parking easy, room quiet.

The room was comfortable - everything just right.

Mega breakfast was very good (you don't need to have everything. My partner left a few items out of the fried feast). The hosts very accommodating and friendly but not in your face.

If you have time to explore the area, the Forest of Bowland is close - part of the heather-clad Pennines.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Middle Holly cottage is easily reached from M6, lots of off road parking, excellent stopover as we travelled south.
Comfortable room, peaceful location, beautiful garden and tasty breakfast made our short stay a happy one.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alkay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Middle Holly Cottage is just on the edge of one of the most beautiful areas of Britain. The Trough of Bowdon is a hilly,farming area full of sheep and stock with beautiful views. There is even a church dedicated to Shepherds in Abbeystead where there are hooks inside the door for crooks and clogs! Hilary and Ian Jarman, who run the Bed and Breakfast are charming and very welcoming. Our bedroom was better than an expensive hotel with blue flocked walks and a spotless en-suite. The breakfast was excellent with local produce and eggs from their own hens. We walked to a local Italian restaurant in the evening and it was most authentic with delicious pasta and tiramisu! Would certainly go back...

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. Ours at the front was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilljo073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent, clean, warm , excellent facilities and friendly welcoming hosts. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom modern and spotless. The breakfast had a lovely choice and really good quality

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Middle Holly last summer and just loved it. The folks made us so welcome, and I must say it was the best farmer's breakfast I've enjoyed in a long time. It was a delightful few days while we visited with my aunt nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Middle Holly Cottage is a great location for visiting our family north of Preston, Lancashire. Lovely house, great hosts, excellent breakfasts (my wife says thank you for the scrambled eggs and I say likewise for the sausages)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range: £81 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Holly Cottage Forton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing