We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middle Holly Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Forton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High quality bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

This is a very good b&b. Everything is immaculate, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are brand spanking new. It's far enough away from the main road to be lovely and quiet, but still within walking distance of a pub that serves food in the evening. All in all it is reasonably priced luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkcar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
93
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I stayed here for two nights...as a female solo traveller, it was everything i could have wished for. Hilary and Ian are fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.. Middle Holly Cottage is luxury...Super clean and tidy, bedrooms are very comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was beauitful, something for everyone. Ideally situated, easy to get to places. Will definitely be going back... Going to recommend it to family and friends..
Thanks for a wonderful weekend Hilary and Ian..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippychick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We were looked after from the moment we got out of the car. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the garden is wonderful. Breakfast has everything you could ask for and cooked to perfection. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_taylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Augustine
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Very well run B&B. Hillary and Ian are great hosts. Room was very quite and bathroom was larger than many in the U.K. Outstanding place to see the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed at Middle Holly Cottage for 1 night and wished I could have stayed longer. As a single female traveller, safety is high on my priority and I was not disappointed. Hilary & Ian are brilliant hosts and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The property is immaculately maintained with the gardens having won a lcoal award. My room was spotless and furnished extremely tastefully . Good quality bedding, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern with an efficient shower and lovely fluffy towels. Great sized flat screen TV. Ian's breakfasts are fantastic including local free range eggs - in fact, so local, they come from next door! Hilary & Ian are the type of hosts who have worked hard to provide qualilty accomodation and good old fashioned customer service to a very high standard. I will be going back without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here for one night en route to Scotland but would have loved to have stayed much longer. We got a lovely warm welcome from Hilary who showed us to our beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room before making sure we knew where we could go to get a good meal that evening.

You can tell that Ian and Hilary have travelled a lot - they have used their experiences of staying in other places to ensure that the rooms have the sort of touches that make all the difference (bottle of water, quality fittings/soft furnishings, bathroom well equiped, hospitality tray etc).

The thoughtful touches don't stop at the rooms either. There is a welcoming sitting room for guests, with a sofa and table and chairs, overlooking the pretty garden - great if you're on your own and don't want to look at the same 4 walls all evening.

Ian cooked a delicious breakfast in the morning and Ian and Hilary's friendliness meant we ended up leaving much later than intended and reluctant to go. You really can't get much better than that.

The only reason we give the location 4 stars instead of 5 is that you do get some traffic noise in the garden (which is really inviting with tables and chairs available for guests to sit at). This is a tiny quibble though and really not an issue (especially as we couldn't hear any noise from the road in the house).

Having a pub and a restaurant within easy walking distance is such a treat too (no drinking and driving worries here). Having arrived late, tired and thirsty we decided to eat at the pub. It didn't look very characterful but Hilary assured us the food there is good and she was right. It has a hugely extensive, and varied, menu that should appeal to anybody (and the beer is good too). We would recommend taking a torch though as the lane would be very dark to walk down on a cloudy night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Review_only_rarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Ian & Hillary are lovely, warm and very welcoming owners of this fantastic B&B!
It felt like home away from home. We were allowed to check in early in order to attend a wedding later in the day.
Rooms were Immaculate and well maintained. Owners have maintained a very high quality decor. Ample parking space & Location is minutes within M6 Motorway. Very well maintained gardens and common sitting area.
Breakfast was awesome - freshly prepared form local produce! Certainly the best full english I have ever tasted in a B&B.
Wish I could stay for couple more nights! Already planning my next visit.
Highly Recommended! This B&B has written superlatives all over it ;)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HrishiLonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
3.9 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
2.2 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
212 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Holly Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Holly Cottage

Property: Middle Holly Cottage
Address: Middle Holly, Forton PR3 1AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Forton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Holly Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old coaching inn built in 1820 has been refurbished to provide hight quality accommodation with a warm, friendly atmosphere. All rooms are ensuite with digital flat screen TV, complimentary Wi Fi connection and hospitality tray. Large private car park. Less than 3 miles from M6 junction 33, ideal for Lancaster (5 miles from university) Heysham (port) and the Lake District and convenient stopover to/from the south to Scotland. Several good pubs and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Middle Holly Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Holly Cottage Forton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing