We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“(Not so) Good Italian restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gattopardo

Gattopardo
Ranked #479 of 1,089 Restaurants in Hannover
Price range: US$12 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“(Not so) Good Italian restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

As this restaurant was highly recommended we made a booking and came for dinner to this place. I admit it was a evening of big exhibition and the place was full but still I didn't find it to meet the reputation. I didn't find it anything special or extraordinary. I have eaten better Italian dishes in better Italian restaurants. The place was in many ways disappointment as my expectation was very high and there was many small things ruining the experience. The menu was unimaginative, some dishes were unavailable because of the lack of main ingredients, flavors were average and boring, even slightly tasteless, the service was slightly too slow, aperitif sparkling wine unbelievable and unexceptionable sweet, the daily special dessert was disaster (the worst cheesecake I have ever eaten and the used orange looked canned, not fresh). This was place of big almost and failed details. On the surface it looks good but it just fails to meet the promises. Almost but quite not enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel next door to this restaraunt very late on Friday evening to find that both the bar and the restaraunt of the hotel were closed and would not be opening that night! The journey from Calais had been a nightmare and we did not want to have to search out food. Although we asked the hotel about possible local places Gattopardp was not mentioned to us.

We set off to look for something to eat and spotted the terrace with people eating so took a look at the menue which was in English so a goo start. Sounded good they had room so in we went and what a meal we enjoyed. Food and service both excellent in first class surroundings, so good we returned on the Saturday for a second visit and again nothing could be faulted.

Will defiantly call again if we find ourselves in Hannover, thank you very much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to find better in Hannover !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

An excellent restaurant with expeptional service of Stephanie, land lords wife!
The cusine meets all needs.

You like to modify, you are welcome!
....and the wine selection is superb, just follow Stephanies recommendation !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C_J_Consul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The owners of this restaurant are unforgetable! the food is spectacular. I wish the weather was warmer for us to dine alfresco because the location is very nice. My husband has dined here several times and raved about the food so I planned to visit on my recent trip to Hannover, I was not disappointed! I am a vegetarian and had no problem w the fares offered, the prices are a little on the high side but for the quality of the food offered it's okay and the desserts are mouthwatering!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamita646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The host and hostess were exceptional. Well done!
The food matched the service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gattopardo also viewed

Hannover, Lower Saxony
 
Hannover, Lower Saxony
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 

Been to Gattopardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing