We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the center of Hannover”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I staid one night for business. the hotel is in the middle of Hannover. Near to the Railway. Lucky I slept at the other side (streetside). a lot of noise from the cars but during the night it is rather quiet. Inside the hotel, you don't have noise ! No closing doors, no noise of showers ore toilets. it is really silent. The bed is very good. The breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed one night there. The room was extra large comparing other hotels. The staff was very helpful. There were everything we needed. It has a good and free parking lot. Even the corredors were the largest ones I've seen. The room was warm and quite. The minibar was free at the room. Also the breakfast was excellent with hot and cold dishes. Unlimited coffee was available at the breakfast. The hotel is not fancy not huge but very central position and very convenient. It seems old from the outside but it was new in the inside. The bathroom was very good with a bath tub and a shower.The air conditioning system was enough to make the room what you want. Internet was free and fast. Cable and wi-fi is both available at the rooms. Comparing the price we had paid, this hotel is the best one in Hannover City. I will definitely stay there and take no chances for the other hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room number 420. It was extra large. Don't worry about the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oguzcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I spent one comfortable night at the Grand Palace. My room was quiet, even though it was at the front and I feared for traffic noise. However, I slept well. The room was large, warm and had everything I needed except tea/coffee making facilities. I went towards the restaurant for an evening meal and as I passed the bar, a member of the staff overtook me, entered the restaurant and turned on the light. Not a good sign, so I ate down the road at the Ruethai - excellent Thia food.
The hotel breakfast was excellent - good range of cold foods, delicious hot plates and very swift service. Perhaps the coffee could have been hotter. The 12.00 check-out allowed me a couple of hours walking around the city - well worth the effort - before my flight. I wouldn't hesitate going back to the Grand Palace.
B&B cost €116.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Super friendly staff, great hotel to stay at when visiting Hannover. Right in the center of Hannover, and close to shops, attractions, and train station. Great brick hotel, looks like it was newly renovated and very cozy. Rooms are large, and quality. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbdullahDakroub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I just returned from CeBIT where the number of visitors typically far exceed the capacity of the hotels, which means that the pricing is very, very high during the first week of March.

That being said, the Grand Palace is a beautiful older hotel that offers many architectural features to be expected of an old hotel with the smaller corredors leading to the bar and breakfast year, etc.

Since this isn't a modern hotel in the sense of being a new construction, there are things that you must be willing to accept. However, typically the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and offer a good night's rest. The bathrooms can be spacious as well.

I had an opportunity to look through several of the rooms since I was traveling with a large group, but there does seem to be a difference in room type, so some care should be given upon arrival to make sure you're in a room that will offer you the greatest pleasure and comfort.

The staff is primarily German so English & German do not seem to be a problem and everyone is rather friendly at check-in and all questions seem to be answered efficiently.

However, if you are so lucky, then you'll have an opportunity to meet with Julia, Benjamin and Sandra who are exemplary employees and went FAR above the call of duty in making sure that the needs of their guests were satisfied. I actually changed rooms and can tell you that they were very gracious and kind. They really bend over backwards to assist their guests. Some of the other staff were polite, but I wouldn't go so far as to say friendly....however, as long as Benjamin is working there you'll be in good shape for a pleasant stay.

The proximity to the railway station and city center also make this hotel a good choice! It's walking distance and is safe.

The airport (Hannover Airport) to the hotel will run you about 40 euros, but the return trip was only 25 euros. This may be a CeBIT additional airport fee situation that caused the difference, but there is trains and other modes of transportation that offer lower cost alternatives.

I would recommend the hotel if being downtown is what you're looking for and are willing to pay a slightly higher price for the Grand Palace ambience, etc.

Room Tip: Avoid the 307, 407 & 507 Rooms. These are small, small, small and not so comfortable. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A36127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

It is not Grand and it is not a Palace. Small room, internet only in lounge. Breakfast ok. It was not too expensive, but on balance I would not stay there again. At least parking is on site so convenient.


  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Grand Palace Hotel is the Best Hotel in Hannover region for the price and the service quality that they offer. The best thing is that it is so close to the main train statin and center that it takes you just 5 minut to reach. Also, it is a new hotel with comfortable furniture and high quality service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdurraxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Grand Hotel Mussmann
Grand Hotel Mussmann
#16 of 159 in Hannover
197 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#5 of 159 in Hannover
480 reviews
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
617 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#29 of 159 in Hannover
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Lavesstr. 77, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: £79 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing