We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience”

Restaurant Taj Mahal
Ranked #145 of 1,108 Restaurants in Hannover
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mitte
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I had visited this restaurant on Mothers day (12th May 2013) hoping to give my wife and my children a good treat. Unfortunately, it was one of the most disappointing experience. The quality of the food was terrible. The service was shocking. Even after waiting for 30 minutes for a cup of chai (tea), they were not able to provide. In the end, I was told that the restaurant was being closed at 15:00hrs. I will NEVER recommend this place to anybody.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JJs_Hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    40
    14
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Other reviewers have already commented on the poor service, which, sadly, I can only echo. I was there very early in the evening, so did not experience much delay, but the story would have been different only 30 minutes later.
I have definitely had much better Indian food, even in Hanover (restaurant Himalaya), however, my standard choice for a first visit, Chicken Vindaloo, Raita was edible, even if I felt I could have produced more authentic dishes myself. I was disappointed in the food and the prices and will not be going back, as there is no guarantee of enjoying the experience of eavesdropping the conversation at the next table, which made the meal bearable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fjh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seen more culinary artistry in a curry stain on my shirt”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The service in this place just stinks!...The worst culprit is the so called manager whose attitude was a real stinker, on par with a fungal infested rotten toe or a well matured full bodied disintegrated pile of $#!T ....I can not emphasise how bad the attitude was in any other words! To truly appreciate the food you would have to down a few litres of vodka or a concoction of alcohols to ensure you have no recollection the next day of the monstrous torture you have dragged your poor sorry taste buds through. No menus, no prices, the manager loves to order the food for you, and then abuse you when it does not arrive!.... The food looks all the same, tastes all the same, you would get more flavour from licking a two week old curry stain from your shirt. All in all if you like getting abused and waiting for food which never arrives and then getting ripped off with the prices, then hey you have found your place!..Go along and enjoy the vast culinary delights of the the Taj Mahal.....where the magic of the east is served with dashings of bad attitude, a mouthful of foulness with a garnish of discontent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank poppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A real let down in every way... DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Decided to go Indian after a long day at Cebit and chose this one as it was suggested many years back. Oh boy what a mistake... Was received with a smile but it all went down hill from there. No menus where available so let alone choose the food there was no indication of price. The Owner acted waiter and chose most of the food and drink for us. The drinks came slowly and the starters where at least an hour even though the restaurant was not busy. Whilst waiting for our main courses 4 separate tables complained and left in disgust. The owner was smug and showed no signs of concern and simply continued seating new customers. Our food arrived very late and back to front, although several different dishes where ordered they not only looked the same in colour and texture but where cooked in the same curry base and tasted bland and dribbly. The salad dish arrived while we where leaving and 2 of the main meat dishes that appeared at the top of the bill never even made it to the table. Our concerns and complaints fell on deaf ears as the owner simply didn't care and refused to hear any constructive criticism, This guy is well established and feels he is right and the whole world is wrong, its surprising to see he is still the owner and not washing dishes in the kitchen. SERIOUSLY avoid this place, it will lead to disappointment and will embarrass you in front of your colleagues. There are other great options locally in the city. If you take the chance then do expect to pay $100 per head - GOOD LUCK YOU WILL NEED IT.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kul555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place and owner ever!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is the worst experience we ever had with a restaurant and the owner. It took a long time before we got our drinks, but it was ok, we were not in a hurry. We also orderded the food as soon as we got the drinks, as we already thought it could might take a while before we will be served. After 1hr of waiting, and all of us pretty hungry, with still nothing brought up to the table, we thought we should ask how long it will take. The owner came to our table, we asked him how long it will take before we could expect something, as we are waiting for 1hr already, The rude answer of the very rude owner was: What do you think? That they are cooking with a magic stick in the kitchen? We were so shocked!! As we are travelling all over the world, and being always very understanding, this was really shocking! We were with a group of 5, after a long day at the fair and this was the last thing we had expected that could happen!! After a few words back and forth, the owner really didnt know how to deal with the situation, we already had dicided do leave, but he was still shouting and like "throwing" us out of the place. My advice, do not even try to go there! This guy really had some issues and is not proffesional at all, as you think that people come there for a good time and to spend a lot of money..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Taj Mahal also viewed

Hannover, Lower Saxony
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 
Hannover, Lower Saxony
Hannover, Lower Saxony
 

Been to Restaurant Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing