We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CityHotel am Thielenplatz
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Hannover Mitte(Hannover)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Loccumer Hof(Hannover)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
DORMERO Hotel Hannover(Hannover)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Hannover(Hannover)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Suites Hannover City(Hannover)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Mercure Hotel Hannover City(Hannover)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
10
21
22
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
22
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel has a very central location. It is ok, a little bit fraying at the edges. Good breakfast. The rooms were quite modern, though hygiene could be improved (I discovered a spot - blood? - on my bedsheet, but only in the morning).
The 1hr free internet is excellent, as most people only need to quickly scan their mail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed in the Cityhotel am Thielenplatz (also known as: Smartcity Designhotel) for 3 nights in June 2013. All but one of my places of interest were in the Hannover city center, hence the location of this hotel was next to ideal for me. With the central station (Hauptbahnhof) on 400 meters distance, public transport brings you everywhere around for eur 5.80 per day (hint: a return ticket is more expensive or only a tiny bit cheaper, so the unlimited option is usually the best choice).

Positive remarks:
+ Location, location and location, nearby train station and city center
+ No noise from corridor or other rooms, and even not from outside in spite of tram (30 meters away) and train (100 meters)
+ Breakfast eur 9.50 not overly expensive, unlike most other hotels daring to charge double, and some even more
+ A work desk, offering enough room to be useful
+ Wonderful shower. I want one of those at home!

Negative remarks:
-- Paying for Internet access is outdated, especially when one has several devices (laptop, tablet, phone) that need it
- Bar on ground floor is too dark to be useful for a working traveler (like me) and his laptop
- Duvet on bed a bit short for someone of 1.85 m. I'm used to sleep stretched out, laying on my back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is close to the station. Our room was clean and the beds were good. Breakfast was fine, lots of food to choose from. It's nice that they give you a free welcome drink in the bar. It's also nice that you get a discount for a fitness center nearby. A minor drawback is that they make you pay for the internet; I really think that hotels should stop doing so. We had lunch in the Osteria next to the hotel: very good food!

Room Tip: We had a room with a street view but we were not troubled by traffic noise at all.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchtourist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is within walkingdistance of the station.
The rooms are cheap.
And well up2date.
There is free WIFI in the bar.
You can smoke inside (in the bar)
Love it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

good location close to everything, very professional friendly staff (they let me check in at 7 am after a tiring train trip!), spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast (extra charge), very good value for money (it is not the Ritz, but then you know that in advance).

Room Tip: back rooms might be quieter, but the view is not enchanting, this not a criterium
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rome-weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews