We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent city hotel, close to Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent city hotel, close to Old Town”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

From the outside the hotel is not the most attractive building.. however, inside is tastefully decorated and plenty of sofas near reception. Quick check-in with helpful and friendly staff.
City maps are in a rack by the lifts with other info leaflets but not much in English.
A taxi from the main train station cost about 6euros. The Old Town and main centre are very close by and the Old Town is a 'must see' with lovely restored old buildings and plenty of pubs, restaurants, shops etc.
My room was large, clean and comfortable, rooms at the back have views towards the Old Town and station direction. The 2 nearby church clocks can be heard quite clearly so a room at the front is quieter despite overlooking the main road. The breakfast buffet isn't cheap but it has a huge variety of freshly prepared hot and cold choices so worth it if you want to skip lunch! The bar is not huge and has a cosy feel to it, I stayed in December and the 'real' fire was lovely to sit near to after a day sightseeing. The Maritim would be my 1st choice if I return to Hannover.. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Church clocks are audible from rooms at the back, rooms overlooking the road and Town Hall at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    72
    109
    39
    26
See reviews for
27
46
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Nice and central, room of a good size but getting on a bit.

The carpet was severely worn in the room, dirt is building up in the places the cleaners don't get to. It just needs a revamp. Breakfast, service and location not really faultable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The rooms are pretty good, a bit old-fashioned but comfortable. The staff are very friendly and ready to help. The breakfast are very good. The hotel is good both for business stays and private vocation. Located very close to the center and Old city.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view to New town hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Robert137_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bancffosfelen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Rail Tour. Check in was very good, front of house staff where friendly and helpful. Breakfast was of a good standard with a very good selection, catering for both continetal and english style breakfast. Bar had a small selection of malt whiskys as well as local beers, barstaff were friendly. Room was very good, however the hotel only provides one pillow per bed, so it would be advisable to request an extra pillow when booking in, if required. Rooms have a very good view, especially the rooms facing the front side which have views of the Rathaus. Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities. Hotel is within 5 - 10 mins walking of the Alt Stadt and shopping centre, railway station is about 15 mins walk. Would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billgorwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This well located hotel is a good deal for a business stay. Almost in the center, not too far from the exhibition center. It offers a good breakfast. Staff is friendly. One can enjoy a beer in the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanMoerbekeWaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
559 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I checked into this hotel to find that they had expected my arrival enough to turn the TV on ahead of me entering the room, but not enough for them to turn the heat on at all so, although check-in was fine, the room itself was a very chilly welcome. The room is pretty much a standard room for this type of hotel, but yet everything was a little bit lacking – whether it be the cheap sheets on the bed, the really old television or the tired carpet. This combined with the price annoyed me since it was charging as a better hotel (presumably because Hannover gets lots of visitors and can charge this much). From the outside as well it is just a solid block – which is ironic since it is opposite the Mayor’s house, which is a great building. Location is good though – both for driving and also for walking into the center area.

The windows are single-glazed; I was to the rear of the building (which meant I didn’t have the road noise) but every single one of the 5 days I was here, I and all my colleagues in other rear-facing rooms, were all woken at 6am each day by some sort of jet-washing or motor noise which would last for 20-30 minutes each and every day; not the hotel’s fault perhaps, but it seemed to be a regular occurrence to the point that I just set my alarm for 6am instead of being woken up by it.

Speaking of windows, for some reason on several of the days, the cleaning staff decided to turn off all the radiators in my room and leave the window open; since I was leaving at 7am each day and returning after 9pm, this meant my room was freezing several nights as it was late October and the heating was not fast enough to bring the room up to temp. Just another annoyance the hotel could have done without. Add to this the lack of any sort of gym and my usual gripe that a business hotel charges a ridiculous amount for a short amount of internet access simply because they know companies will pay for it. Breakfast was OK though – not great, but at least OK.

Overall it is not an awful hotel and maybe some of my experiences with the 6am noise, the freezing rooms and such were just one-offs; but it is still a fairly basic hotel for what they are charging an dit isn’t like the décor or service really does much to compensate for the basicness.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hannover hotels

England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Have stayed in this hotel several times over the last 10 years and it now is due for a revamp. It does look very tired. However it is very Germanic in that it is functional and serves a purpose. Benefits from tea and coffee in the room but wish there was proper milk for the tea instead of creamer. Situation is good very close to centre, train station a 10 minute walk. Taxi's always available outside. Breakfast selection good. Downside as with most European hotels wifi is chargeable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonrthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Luhmann's Hotel am Rathaus
Luhmann's Hotel am Rathaus
#49 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Cityhotel Thuringer Hof
#76 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Mitte
Atlanta Hotel Central
Atlanta Hotel Central
#68 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Reverey Garni
#112 of 161 in Hannover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Mitte
Concorde am Leineschloss Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover

Property: Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover
Address: Friedrichswall 11, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Grand Hotel Hannover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Grand Hannover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing