We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least its Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Mussmann
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

2 Days stay in the Hotel, nothing to write home about, but a few lines here will not hurt. We arrived on a rainy day by car, nobody from the the Hotel seemed to be interested to help us to unload the luggage or bring an umbrella. The car park is not with the hotel but a few blocks away, we asked them to park the car, but they said "we can not do it as we are not insured for that", so get an insurance please!. Anyway the rooms were okay, quite big, but not very Grand or something...Seems the GM or owner is an eccentric as the rooms have no numbers but names only, in German, so good look to you non-german speakers finding your room. The shower plays "Raindrops falling on my head" in an endless loop, which is funny the first time, but after taking a few showers its only annoying. At least keep you from showering too long and so the water bill low...The breakfast is standard, lets say it fills the belly. All in All its all about location for this hotel, nothing special, but German Hotels are always a little less Grand. Still dont know why they call it a Grand-Hotel, nothing Grand about it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pulleyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is well located in the centre of Hannover, near the shopping district, main station and key business areas.

Rooms are a great size, well appointed and maintained. They offer an excellent breakfast buffet, but the hotel doesn't have a restaurant that's open in the evening. This means that you have to explore the city centre for restaurants - only a hassle if you have had a long day.

The staff are friendly and are willing to give tips about places to visit and how to travel on the excellent transport network.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend and we both loved the hotel. The rooms are huge with a big bed, sofa, coffee table and large desk. There was also a large walk through closet and a stunning bathroom. Everything in the bathroom is button operated (don't worry, its a simple 'on/off' 'hotter/colder' system) which meant you could get the shower to the perfect temperature and top up the bath without even having to move. We were also very grateful for the excellent air conditioning system as it was very hot when we visited.

Breakfast was good, it wasn't the most extensive buffet but they had everything we wanted and it was of a high standard.

The location is excellent, right by the main station and about a 10 minute walk to the Old Town. The staff were fantastic and really went out of their way to make us welcome.

My only criticism would be the lack of wifi which you would really expect from a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pundle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We rely heavily on trip advisor reviews to choose our accommodations and usually are very satisfied. However this hotel did not live up to its reviews for us, so I thought it necessary to write this, to assist others make a more informed decision.

We chose Grand Hotel Mussmann for an overnight stay between train trips. Location was great, as just opposite the station, and it is close enough to restaurants.

However, apart from that, we were quite disappointed.

Their website (and also an actual sign in the room) suggests wifi is available. However, wifi is only available in the lobby downstairs, which is not really a place one would wish to sit in and pay usage costs for (If I am going to pay for wifi, one would expect this to be in-room)

We had also wanted to print some documents. There is no business center, only a phone booth downstairs which had a computer which was not connecting to the internet. Staff were quite rude when asked to assist with this and treated us as though we were stupid foreigners, even though the problem was found to be in their own setup. Laughing at customers behind their back (we saw this via a mirror) is very poor customer treatment and has not endeared us to the hotel at all.

Our room was furnished very unimaginatively, with uncomfortable ‘office furniture’ in the living room. Shabby and outdated curtains, no tea/coffee facilities at all. Basically lacking ambience and general traveler comforts. So not sure why there are so many rave reviews here?

Whilst the hotel tries to offer some gimmicky things like shower music and lights and other entertainment, the ‘in mirror’ operation panel was not working at all, so we had to listen to the same piece of classical music the whole time. Seems like someone put all these features in at some stage but then did not decide to maintain them.

We have stayed at many lovely hotels in our lifetime, but the Grand Hotel Mussmann was definitely not one of them.

Not value for money here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oz_muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Hannover opposite the station & 10 minutes from the motorway. Crazy underground parking & you drive your car into a lift to access this. Massive room comfortable bed & excellent air con. Walk in shower with touch button controls, raindrops keep falling on my head plays for the duration of your shower which can get on your nerves a bit !
Buffet Breakfast was exceptional the only thing that lets the hotel down is the fact that there is no free WiFi in the room or hotel for that matter.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank DaveWright1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Convenient for the station, as everybody says. Huge room, but it was a 'superior' one I think, which was clean and had silent aircon. Excellent breakfast buffet and crazy musical showers, which are amusing for the first ten seconds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days in early March 2013. Very happy with this hotel and would happily stay here again. The rooms are very comfortable and very quiet, the windows are dual, double glazed and really keep out the noise. The hotel is on the edge of the shopping area just across the road from the main railway station and tram stop. The staff were really friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable and modern.
The breakfast in the basement had a vast choice of good quality food in a pleasant environment with attentive staff. Evening restaurants are available across the square and daytime shopping around the corner. It has a novel approach to room names and internal decor, an interesting alternative to room numbers.
Really pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itilldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#5 of 159 in Hannover
481 reviews
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#9 of 159 in Hannover
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Mussmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Mussmann

Address: Ernst-August-Platz 7, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hannover
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hannover
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hannover
Price Range: £112 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Mussmann 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is located in the heart of Hanover, right across from the main train station. It offers spacious and elegant rooms with luxurious furnishings. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Mussmann are at least 269 ft² in size. They feature hardwood floors, leather seating and granite or marble bathrooms. The Grand Hotel Mussman also boasts soundproofed windows. The Mussmann's Röhrbein restaurant is just 151 m away. It serves seasonal German specialties. Hanover's stores, opera, museums and several restaurants are a short walk from the Grand Hotel Mussmann. A parking spot in the hotel garage is available for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Mussmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Hannover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing