We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye-catching rooms, friendliest staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Eye-catching rooms, friendliest staff...”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

While it is located a few kilometers from the city center, the hotel is still located in a nice neighborhood with convenient access to main roads and trams. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the friendliest hotel staff I've met in a long time. The lady behind the counter was so helpful when I asked for walking route recommendations. Two blocks over is a stunningly huge park which is just beautiful. I could also walk to a shopping district pretty quickly.

The rooms themselves were immediately eye-catching. Each wall was a different vibrant color, but they all meshed perfectly and seemed to flow into each other. The ceiling felt like it was about two stories high and there are intriguing light fixtures on the wall wherein you can control what color light (out of red, green and/or blue) you wish to emit. The bed comes straight out of the corner instead of being perpendicular to a wall, so it was very different than most other hotels I've stayed in. It was just a different, fun, modern room to break up the monotony of most hotels.

All of the staff was super friendly, as well. I already mentioned the patient lady who gave me walking directions, but all the others I encountered were just as friendly, offering smiles whenever eye contact was made.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileigh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia1977, Assistant to the General Manager at Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Dear rileigh15,

thank you for providing feedback on your stay at the Sheraton Pelikan Hotel. We depend on guests feedback in order to improve our service and to exceed our guests expectations.
It is a pleasure to receive your nice comments and rest assured we will forward them to our team.

We would be happy to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards

Julia Goossen
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    126
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
31
68
40
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

You rarely travel for pleasure to Hannover and the sheraton Pelikan makes your stay easier. Located in a former pen factory, rooms have unusual high ceiling and unconventional decoration which are nice. The Gym club to which client of the hotel have access is one of the best you can think of. Staff is friendly even if mostly pretty young. Price are cheap vs. international benchmark but expensive for Hannover. good breakfast. Would recommend to a friend. Is not located downton or near anything, so travel with your car or be prepared to use cabs.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia1977, Direktionsassistentin at Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
Dear pprhh,

thank you very much for taking the time to give some impressions of your visit at the Sheraton Pelikan Hotel Hanover.

We are pleased about your positive comments regarding the friendliness of your staff and we are delighted to read that you will recommend us to your friends.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Julia Goossen
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I had a great weekend stay in this hotel. The staff throughout all departments was extremely friendly and helpful. I liked the colours of my room and the bed was fantastic - had an excellent rest. Breakfast was served until 1pm!!!
I enjoyed a very delicious four course menue at the restaurant. My two highlights were the gym and Harry's New York bar. The gym is probably the best hotel gym I have ever been to - it's state of the art! The Bar was great - wonderful selection of cocktails and single malt whiskys. And also the cigar lounge was great. I definitley will come back.

  • Liked — the gym and Harry's New York Bar
  • Disliked — .
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Metzgermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

A weekend get away to watch the international firework championship display.

Arrived on the Friday night. The hotel is about 25 EUR in a taxi from the airport. The reception desk were really friendly. They had upgraded our room.

With the package booked for the hotel a bottle of champagne was included. At the desk I arranged this to be brought the next day. My other half had contacted the hotel a few weeks before to ask them to book the firework tickets as a Euro credit card was required. They had reserved these for us.

The room was really nice. The high ceilings make the room seem very spacious. There was a desk, sofa, table and the huge bed was in a separate room. Lots of wardrobe space.

Harry's Bar in the hotel was lively and a nice place to people watch. Breakfast was great buffet plus a chef to make eggs. Great choice.

The gym was fantastic, there were classes and various machines. The only down side is that at the gym they charged you for water, so take a bottle with you! There was also a sun deck on the roof.

The hotel was near the forest, very nice for a morning stroll. The tram stop was close by about 2 minute walk. The hotel sold tickets for the trams, they were clean and punctual. Once on the tram it was less than 10 minutes to the city centre.

The hotel was great and service was good. Can not wait to go back!!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank MissKandMrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I am currently on a business trip to Hanover, so I am coming back to the Pelikan every week.

Rooms:
I always received a complimentary upgrade to the executive rooms, so I cannot comment on the standard ones. Executive rooms are located on the 4th floor, but the elevator is only going until the third level, so you have to take the stairs for another flight. It is not so bad if you travel on light luggage, but with a bigger suitcase, you can only hope that someone is assisting you.
The rooms are spacious, equiped with two single beds, flat screen TV and some sort of a kitchenette with tea and coffee making facility. You also have a big desk where you can hook up to the internet. However, using the cable provided will lead you to the hotel network, which charge you approx. 18 Euro per 24h. In addition you have the possibility to take the wireless connection of T-Mobile, which charges you 12 Cent per Minute or you can choose a flat rate. I preferred the T-Mobile solution.
Coming to the furniture. It is really not what I expect from a 4 star hotel. If you want to see all of the furniture outside the hotel, go and visit the next do-it-yourself store. It is really cheap and not very nice to look at.
The bathroom has a separate shower and no bathtub though. Same cheap furniture there as well. The shower is clean, but not very good. In addition, the bathroom is totally mirrored.
Every room has a complimentary newspaper...ok, its a standard thing.

Staff:
Staff is very friendly and helpful, althought the reception desk is sometimes understaffed.

Breakfast:
We only have a rate without breakfast, but I have somehow the suspecion, that there is no rate incl. breakfast. Breakfast costs 19 Euro, which I found extremely expensive, at least for me having two croissants and a glass of water for breakfast only. Anyhow, breakfast is tiny, have seen better ones in most of the other 4 star hotels I have seen. But again, the staff is friendly and one gets the impression that they have one staff per table.

Bar:
Opposite the hotel is Harrys New York Bar. It is ok, the food and drinks are priced reasonably. But however, although it is not really packed there, staff is not really capable of handling a order or getting your bill. It takes ages and ages...
And for the smokers, since the hotel is totally non-smoker, there is a smoking room in the bar. Smokers told me that the exhaust fan is good, but for a non-smoker, it stinks like hell.

Location:
The hotel is located at the old Pelikan site, so it is not in the city centre. You don't have to wait long for a taxi to arrive, at least in the morning as this hotel is used by a lot of business travellers. A taxi fare into the city centre is around 20 Euro.

Conclusion:
As a colleague said, if you know hotels in Berlin, Hamburg, Frankfurt and Munich, you are dissappointed...but this is Hanover :-)
People say it is the best hotel in town...which gives you some hints about the rest.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dergiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tübingen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Hotel is very far from city center (taxi: 9 - 10 Euro to the station) so would not recommend for anyone with business in the center. Rooms are architecture designed and rather posh but are really too small (especially for two) and the beds are strangely soft. Everything is pretty but I found the desk tiny and not practical. The rooms cannot be made dark, the blue curtains let in a lot of light in the mornings. On the weekend of my stay the hotel was uderstaffed (one lone person in the desk). The spa is just two dry saunas, no swimming pool, but a very extensive fitness area. Breakfast the usual sheraton standard but pricey if one (like me) only needs toast and tea (19 Euros). Hotel is quite difficult to find at night (out of the three nights there, twice a taxi could not immediately find it). I just cannot see where the great value is for rooms that cost (my average) 150 euro per night including breakfast. Alas the crown plaza where I often stay was full, and perhaps the comparison is not fair, but the rooms at the crown are thrice the size of the sheraton's, and a good 30 -40 percent cheaper...). I would recommend this hotel for business travellers with an expense account that do not need to be in the center and are into fitness but otherwise there are better options.

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — location and room size
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peteranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2008

Lovely place.

Not directly central, but as my appointment was next door, it was ideal for me.

The hotel is a converted pen / pencil (Pelikan) factory, i.e. in a lovely historic building. I had a very nice room, with extremely high ceilings. Service was also excellent.

The spa next door (guests were allowed to use it for free) was one of the best I've been to. More of a small theme park.

All in all, I was a very happy customer at the Pelikan!

  • Liked — The place itself, spa
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank London-Travella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 161 in Hannover
570 reviews
Südstadt
Courtyard Hannover Maschsee
Courtyard Hannover Maschsee
#14 of 161 in Hannover
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#9 of 161 in Hannover
699 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#6 of 161 in Hannover
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel
Address: Pelikanplatz 31, 30177, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hannover
#8 Family Hotel in Hannover
#12 Business Hotel in Hannover
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hannover
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Hanover Pelikan Hotel, in the former Pelikan fountain pen factory from 1906, is located just 10 minutes from the city center and even closer to the trade fair grounds. The industrial monument now houses an inventive design hotel with high ceilings, large windows and modern interior. Treat yourself at our 5th Avenue Restaurant which offers you refined delicacies from all over the world or enjoy classic cocktails in our legendary Harry's New-York Bar. Connoisseurs will appreciate the adjacent Bowmore Cigar Lounge, which offers a wide range of whiskey and selected cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Hannover Pelikan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hannover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing