We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a Mercure Hotel, friendly staff but renovations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hannover City
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not bad for a Mercure Hotel, friendly staff but renovations!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

All in all we had a pleasant stay. But why does Accor not mention on their Website the renovation works that the hotel is undergoing until begin September. The parking is not accessible until September 7th and inside the hotel the renovation can be noisy.
We booked a privilege room. The first room they gave us was incredibly hot: at least 30°! AC was out of order. We had another room: smaller but cooler. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Design was quite nice for a Mercure hotel. Bedlinen is not 100% cotton; this can be a problem if you sweat easily. Strange for a 4 star hotel...
Good breakfast buffet: nice choice and fresh orange juice.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms are nice and worth the 10 euros extra: ask for the view on the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosvoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0S8PB, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Hannover City, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Nosvoyages,
thank you for sharing your review. I apologize that your stay was not overall satisfactory. Renovations of all our 145 guestrooms is completed. The parking garage is closed till beginning of september due to renovations but the next garage is located only a few minutes from the hotel. A failure of the air condition is certainly something that we try to avoid with frequent maintenance checks and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the warm temperature in your room. Our bed linen is of high quality and consists of 80% cotton for your comfort.

Thank you again for your feedback, I am happy to hear that you liked the style of our renovated guestrooms, the lavish breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our staff.

If your travel plans bring you back to Hannover, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With best regards

Ulrich Heim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    184
    61
    13
    10
See reviews for
52
158
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have been at that Hotel two times now in the last few weeks. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast excellent.
Strongly can recommend this hotel for a stay in Hannover.
The renovations will end in midst of July 2013 - this will help to make the stay more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_A_EHDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0S8PB, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hannover City, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear AEmmend,
Thank you very much for your review. Good to see that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are excited to offer our guests comfortable guestrooms with a new style. Renovation will be completed by July 13th. We look forward welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Ulrich Heim
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
508 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Our stay here went downhill before it started, as we tried to park in the hotel car park we were told the car park was full. We ended up parking some 10 minutes walk from the Hotel. Then as we checked in we were told that we did not have a booking but after 10 minutes they found our booking. We were sent as was printed on the key card to the third floor but the key did not function. Back to the reception oh we made a mistake your room is on the 5 th Floor, mmmm.
Then on coming back to the hotel at midnight again our key card did not work. Again back to the reception.And to top it all the air conditioning did not work. The room was OK but that was about all. Not very friendly staff.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Very disappointed that the noise level during renovations was so high and started so early in the morning. Their should have been a discount offered as the noise level was very disturbing, Staff were very courteous but was surprised the Hotel was still operating whilst renovations were on going. If I had known of the renovations before we arrived I would have cancelled and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Avril512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel reflects the city it calls home. It is nicely understated, in many ways.
We chose the relatively inexpensive room upgrade and appreciated the extra sapce, large windows and view of the park. Staff interactions, once we were beyond the cool and matter-of-fact check-in, were warm, positive and helpful. This was especially true in the restaurant wherea staff member went out of her way to be kind and helpful. Shuold also mention that the breakfast ( included) was one of the best experiences we had during our three weeks of European travels.
Hannover seemed more relaxed and welcoming than its bigger city relatives. This Mecure hotel experience helped to create this impression. We would certainly choose to stay there again.
Additional note: Renovations occuring which may mean that you would want to be out and about each day. We were, so it did not impact our experience in any way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank onemoretiime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our recent stay was fabulous! My husband collects maps and the people at reception were happy to help him locate antique shops and old bookstores to see who might have some maps he would be interested in. They called each and every one and helped him locate them on a map of the city. What service! They were always very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable as well, and it's location couldn't be beat—close to the lake, the Rathaus, and the town—all within walking distance. We would definitely recommend this hotel if your plans take you to Hannover.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenRZ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

The staff here were awesome. Really friendly, super helpful, and extra sweet to our 3 year old baby girl. The room was always clean and neat. Comfortable bed, spacious room. Room service was great, and breakfast was always yummy as well. A short walk to town, which was nice. Also very close to the train station.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#7 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#5 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Hannover Mitte
Mercure Hotel Hannover Mitte
#14 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Südstadt
Courtyard Hannover Maschsee
Courtyard Hannover Maschsee
#13 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Suites Hannover City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hannover City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hannover City

Property: Mercure Hotel Hannover City
Address: Willy-Brandt-Allee 3, 30169, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hannover City 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Hannover City with 145 rooms is located in the city centre, on the banks of the Leine river. Close to the hotel is Maschsee lake (150 m), the State Museum (100 m) and the Kestner Museum (300 m). In a building dating from the 19th century, the hotel features a restaurant, a bar and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hannover City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing