We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay near Herrenhausen Gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
818 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“A good place to stay near Herrenhausen Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent three nights at the Savoy and thought we got excellent value for money. Our room was comfortable but the shower room was small and we were on the main road so it was a bit noisy when the window was open. I advise that you ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.

The staff were very friendly and efficient and breakfast was good with lovely fresh orange juice.

The hotel is well situated on good tram and bus routes and the walk to Herrenhausen gardens is through a fine park, It is also an easy walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back and stay off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
14
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We (2 couples) stayed at the hotel for a week-end i May. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Especially the breakfast was so good - fresh orange juice, a wide choice of cereals, bread, cheese etc. Fresh coffee and eggs with bacon. As we were participating the TUIfly Marathon on the sunday they offered to serve us breakfast before they even opend the breakfast restaurant.
The price 99 euro for a double room was very reasonable - compared with e.x. Paris where we just stayed in a hotel at the same price - hotel Savoy was a luxury hotel.

We will for sure be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BullerDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed at Hotel Savoy in July. What a disaster. On check in everything went smoothly. We were checking out the next day. When I went down to breakfast that morning of check out I asked what time check out was. At first I was told 4pm by the young women who worked there but within 5 minutes she came back and told me she was wrong and check out was 11am. We weren't leaving the area till around 3pm. She told us we could safely leave our 2 pieces of luggage and 2 backpacks behind the front desk. I had also emailed them prior to arrival and was given the same information. When we came back less then 3 hours later our luggage was there but our backpacks were gone. By then the manager was there who had no idea what happened. He question the young women and she said she didn't know what happened to them. They have a bell that rings when someone enters or exits the hotel at which point they are suppose to go to the front desk. The manger seemed to be very nice and help us while we were there. They called the police and we filled out a report. The manager told us he contacted his insurance company. The only thing he offered us was to stay another night on them to see if our backpacks showed up. We were heading 30 minutes away for a wedding and could not stay but told him to contact us if anything showed up. We stayed in contact via email throughout the rest of our trip but nothing showed up. Right before we left Europe I contacted him again asking if anything showed up and what was going on with the insurance. At that point I was told the manager was on holiday and would contact me when he returned. After we were home he contacted me by email letting me know that there insurance didn't cover anything. We lost over $1,700 worth of stuff in our backpacks, including cameras and ipods. I then emailed and asked him how his hotel would go about reimbursing us.He then told me his hotel was also not responsible. Our things were stolen I get that sometimes things happen we cant control but for the hotel not to take any responsibility is unheard of and someplace I would never want to stay. They didn't even offer to reimburse us for the night we did stay there. Does this hotel really care about there guests, I think not. We did learn our lesson and made sure our luggage got locked up the rest of our trip. They should have never told us to leave it someplace unless it was going to be watched at all times.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank LUVTRAVEL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 7 hours as I had missed the last train out of Hannover. Handy for the train station - 15 minute walk or 5 minutes by underground. Bright, well appointed room, friendly receptionist showed me to my room. Wide choice and good quality of breakfast. Ten-second check-out. Great price at 50 Euros for a single room. Only downside was that noise travelled easily through the room door. In fact, you could see the light from the corridor shine through the door at night!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Mabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2006

This hotel is located not far from the main train station and within walking distance of the Herenhauser Garden and University. Our large room was very clean. It gave the impression of being a bit small perhaps because in addition to a bed, it was furnished with 2 nightstands, a desk with chair, overstuffed chair with an end table and a lamp. The nicely-equipped bathroom was very narrow. Friendly English-speaking staff members were extremely helpful and graciously agreed to store some of our luggage while we took an out-of-town day trip, including an overnight stay, before returning for the remainder of our stay. A reception clerk also researched a train departure schedule on the Internet for us. The hotel has no restaurant but provided a very good continental breakfast; the selection of nearby restaurants and cafes within walking distance was somewhat limited.

  • Liked — The friendly, accommodating staff members
  • Disliked — Relatively few nearby restaurants or cafes
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2006

A new parking facility was being added to the hotel during our stay in March 2006 which disrupted the outside appearance of the hotel, but inside, we did not even notice the construction. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. The bathrooms were clean and newly renovated. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was excellent. The hotel overlooks Hannover's Christ Church, is only about two hundred yards from a subway stop and in easy walking distance from shopping/restaurants. Overall, an excellent value. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Design Hotel Wiegand
Design Hotel Wiegand
#36 of 161 in Hannover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Mitte
Intercityhotel Hannover
Intercityhotel Hannover
#25 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Mitte
Concorde am Leineschloss Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Loccumer Hof
#17 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#26 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
List
prizeotel Hannover-City
prizeotel Hannover-City
#2 of 161 in Hannover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Schlosswender Strasse 10, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing