We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but nothing special.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover
Ranked #112 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is easy to find. Six stops from Central Station on tram line 2. Alight at Buttnerstr and you will find the hotel across the road. Friendly welcome. Check-in handled quickly and efficiently. The standard room was big enough, but the furniture and fittings look cheap, tired and worn. Bed linen spotlessly clean. Bed comfortable. Shower/Toilet clean and towels changed daily. The Wi-Fi is free, but painfully slow. OK for emails but useless for streaming or downloading. The breakfast buffet (not included in room rate!) in pleasant dining room is tasty but overpriced. The room rate was reasonable value, but the hotel is in need of refurbishing to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hello David P, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover. Your comments will of course be forwarded to our management for their attention. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Once again thank you for your valuable comments. Yours sincerely, the Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
1
4
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel group's website fail to mention that there is no safe in the rooms and there is no place to store your valuables in the hotel. I couldn't stay there without having some where to place my passport, i-pad,laptop, and money and the manager was very rude when I demanded a refund for failing to advertise that the hotel does not provide this basic amenity. I never got beyond the reception but the reception and breakfast room looked very basic and dull.

Room Tip: Beware of hotels who post funds non refundable
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 883John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello 883John, thank you for posting your review, it is sad to read of your disappointment with your stay. Yes, it is true that we don't offer safes in our guest rooms. Therefore we do provide all information about room categories and amenities on our website which we do have. But please be assured that we take your mentioned points very serious and we will discuss them with our management. Kind regards, your Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hannover hotels

Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I booked this at very short notice as I was in Hannover recently for football at 96. The hotel was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was in one of the motel rooms at the back, and was able to park right outside the front door. The room was of a decent size, and the bathroom/shower was clean and functional. For the price, I cannot complain. Also, easy to get into the City/HBF, with a U Bahn stop right outside the front door basically. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickW-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hello PatrickW-UK, We would be delighted to welcome you back! Thank you for your comments and for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Hannover. Kind regards, your Vahrenwalder Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmeldrum, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night en route to Bad Iberg. As previously stated by other reviewers, the tram stop is right outside the hotel so great for getting in to and out from the city centre. I was staying in one of the annexes to the rear so there was no street noise problem. The room was basic but clean and reasonably spacious. Breakfast was, of course, in the main building so I was glad it was not raining that morning. Breakfast was typical continental but good and adequate.

The staff at this hotel were polite and tried to be helpful although (unusually in Hannover) English was not fluent. There was a problem when I checked in but the young lady on the desk refused to be defeated and eventually found the solution. It turned out that it was Expedia's fault.

In conclusion, then, I would say that, if you are looking for a base only, with a decent breakfast and a good night;s sleep, then this could well be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: As long as you are satisfied with a basic room, get a room in one of the annexes. Not only are they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello brianpostie, thank you for kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the good customer service from our team. Once again, thank you for your visit and sharing your views and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future to deliver the best of the hospitality. Thank you and kind regards, the Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

As one of the recommended hotels for CeBIT attendees, I reserved it months in advance, as demand is a problem that week.
I have to say that my first impression when I checked in late in the evening, though a warm welcome at the front desk, was not great. My room was located in in one of series of buildings located outside the main lobby, more like a Days Inn type of structure. On the positive side room bedding was fine and very clean, same as bathroom, free WiFi, but I missed some fundamentals for International travelers today like a safety box and a relatively new TV set (I had a tube system from the 80s) with a better channel mix (1 international channel only).

Breakfast service was very good, and their staff very helpful and warm.

Location was ok, about 20 minutes far to the Main Station area (restaurant area) by tram. A stop was right in front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcherre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello rcherre,
thanks for your rating and thank you for lobbing our service, staff and our breakfast, too. We are happy that you pointed this out.

Our target group is a mix of business people and tourists for short trips. Some of them do not need more comfort than others. That's the reason why we have arranged some rooms in the style of American motels, they are small with basic facilities and the other rooms in the main
building are more comfortable and quiet. Next time, we will recommend one of our comfort rooms with more amenities.

Thank you again for your rating and revisit us soon. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
your team of the Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

If your looking to do business or visit Hannover on a small budget then this place is fine.
The location is easy to reach you just have to take a tram (line 1 and 2) from the central station and you have to go just about 4 or 5 stops.
Good rooms but noisy environment (the tram station is right in the front of the hotel) in the front building, very simple amenities but beware of the building in the back - they have less than a 'motel-standard'. The front rooms are quite clean but the rooms in the annex houses are just well-swept.
The breakfast is quite OK - but what I like to say the staff is friendly and helpful.
There is a good pizza and chinese take out very close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HM_aus_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hello HM_aus_K,
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your fair rating. Those were very honest words from you and they equal to our self-description. Thank you for lobbing our staff and our breakfast, too. Kindness and competence are very important basics of our concept. So we are happy that you pointed this out and looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
your team of the Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover · Partner of SORAT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Vahrenwald
Fora Hotel Hannover
Fora Hotel Hannover
#36 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Ibis Hannover City
#17 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Mitte
Atlanta Hotel Central
Atlanta Hotel Central
#51 of 161 in Hannover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schwarzer Bar
#107 of 161 in Hannover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
GHOTEL hotel & living
#14 of 161 in Hannover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover

Property: Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover
Address: Vahrenwalder Str. 181, 30165, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 161 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stadthotel. Zweckmassige, einfache Einrichtung. Das Hotel besteht aus Haupthaus und Nebengebauden. Zimmer im Nebengebaude im Motel-Stil. Zentral in Hannover. Mit der Strassenbahn vor der Tur. Zur A2 sind es mit dem Auto keine 5 Minuten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Vahrenwalder Hotel Hannover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannover Vahrenwalder Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing