We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed here for four nights at the tail end of a seven week trip in Germany. After having spent so much time in dingy hostels in bigger cities, this was just what I needed. The hotel is located in a nice quiet neighborhood well served by public transit but also easy to navigate on foot if you need it.

My room wasn't fancy, but it was clean and comfortable with the basics of bed, chair, table, sink, and small TV. The wifi connection was very reliable. During the day and early evening I got a bit of noise from nearby rooms, but nothing terribly loud or at odd hours. I shared a bathroom with a couple of other rooms but had no issues getting to it when I needed it. It had a toilet and shower (no tub) with good pressure and all the hot water you could want.

Breakfast was quite good. As others have noted, the hotel puts out a good spread in a cozy common room. When I stayed there, they had a variety of cereals, cheeses, sliced meat, eggs, bread, tea, and coffee.

The staff were all very nice and helpful when I had questions. Not being a German speaker, I was a little concerned about making myself understood, but they all had more than enough language to assist me with whatever I needed.

The location is a bit removed from the city center. However, it's easy to get there by bus, though I always walked it in about 20 - 30 minutes. For someone looking for a relatively quiet place that's still accessible to downtown, this would be a good compromise. If I ever go back to Hannover, I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LM606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Flora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was in Hannover for a wedding and my friends booked me into this small Hotel, which was close to their apartment. The property was small, but very clean and comfortable. All the staff spoke English, which was a plus as the Hotel is not in the central area of Hannover.The room was comfortable, and there was a lavish breakfast. The property had a "family" atmosphere and I felt very welcome. It was within 10 minutes' walk to the city centre. I paid 49 Euros per night, including breakfast. I would stay there again and recommend Hotel Flora to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here for one night, and all I can say is that it's a very professional place. There is nice sauna, and the Rooms were clean, comfortable and big. There was free Internet as well. And the breakfast was great by European standards.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Hiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Alas: I had to go to Hannover on business and as I had absolutely no previous experience of hotels there, I followed my business associates' advice and chose their 'partner hotel', the Flora in Heinrichstr. It must be admitted that Hotel Flora suited my needs perfectly locationwise (it is situated in a quiet residential area in the Eilenriede/Lister Meile area), as it was literally just a few steps away from the meeting venue. Unfortunately, there was not much else to endear it to me in any other way.

Reception was friendly and though I did not venture to ask, I believe that I was dealing with the proprietor in person. After a few warm words of welcome, currency exchanged hands (credit cards accepted) and I lugged my luggage up to room 11 on the second floor (or the third, depending on whether you are British or American). I had booked a single room w/ shower and lavatory; there are also rooms without either one or both of these amenities. The bathroom was pretty cramped but workable. It was also reasonably clean. Unfortunately, this was not the case with the bedroom. TV remote was grimy; windowsills and spaces between bed, armchair etc and walls were dusty. The room was stuffy, the heater was blasting and there was a musty smell in the air. Tired and worn furniture. I called reception and asked how to turn off the heater but it appeared that it was one of those automatic contraptions that are supposed to keep the room at a certain temperature (a poor man's a/c, if you will, at least if you like it hot).

So it could not be helped and a change of room was useless as this was the same in all the rooms. A friendly pat on the back (really) was all I got out of it. The bed was ridiculously soft and the pillow almost not extant it was so thin. After a rather uncomfortable, hot, and flustered night I got up bleary-eyed. Breakfast was nice, however. A good choice of cold cuts, cheese, rolls etc.

In conclusion, I cannot really recommend the Hotel Flora to anyone staying for more than one night and/or not needing to be in that part of Hannover. It is relatively cheap (I paid 49,-) but in summary it does not offer enough comfort or nice touches to really be worth one's while. Acceptable if your standards are not high and if you are on a tight budget.

PROs
- location (15 mins walk from central station)
- friendly reception and staff
- breakfast
- clean bathroom

CONs
- substandard furniture
- slightly grubby bedroom
- hot and stuffy room climate
- musty smell
- terribly uncomfortable bed

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I checked in to this hotel on the information given that they had WI FI - I need it for my job.
I tried to log on, without success, I went and asked the man on the front desk, who basically did not care, and gave no good reason why it was not available, he was just RUDE!

I also inquired to check out early as my father was taken ill in the UK, but there was no reasoning with this hotel, even though I had not slept in the room!!! In the end I stayed out of spite!
I will never stay at this hotel again. VERY BAD SERVICE.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The hotel has rooms with bathrooms and without (in this case, the bathroom is in the halley and it is shared with others guests). I had a room without bathroom. Very small room and bed. Television was not working.
There is an internet connection though that is pretty good.
Bad thing: the walls dividing the rooms are very thin. You can basically hear everything that happens around you and this does not allow you to sleep properly.
Main station is only 10 minutes far, by walking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dachzimmer zum Innenhof war angenehm ruhig
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heinrichluedeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Oststadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#42 of 159 in Hannover
45 reviews
List
prizeotel Hannover-City
prizeotel Hannover-City
#2 of 159 in Hannover
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
601 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Elisabetha
Hotel Elisabetha
#65 of 159 in Hannover
30 reviews
Wyndham Hannover Atrium
#21 of 159 in Hannover
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: Heinrichstr. 36, 30175, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Oststadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: £59 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Flora 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing