We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel "technically" ok but with charm of a youth hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GHOTEL hotel & living
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel is a former "german postal service" building, located next to a park area and with lots of free parking in front. I stayed there for two nights. Technically the hotel is to be rated ok, you can enjoy tranquility, the rooms are ok as well. "Ok", not less, not more. There is a huge lack of charm all over. It is a 3 star hotel like 1 Million others. Finding your room can be a bit confusing, the hotel is "rambling". The variety at breakfast was good, the quality could be lot better. In summer you can sit outside on the terrace to have dinner or breakfast. My experience with the staff was good, everybody was friendly and helpful. I would go back to this hotel, but only if I really need to. In general Hanover offers a lot better + charming + more unique places to stay. Sometimes I had more or less the feeling of being in a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living Hannover! We are sorry that the style of the hotel and your room didn't suit your taste. The structure of the hotel might make it a little hard to find your room. Should you have difficulties, please do not hesitate to ask our team for instructions - they will be happy to assist you! Furthermore, we would like to thank you for the praise to our staff, which we gladly passed on to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you as our guest again!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for GHOTEL hotel & living
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stopped there to spend the night on our way from the UK to Berlin, so this was basically "the place to sleep", and it did work work perfectly for this.
the breakfast was excellent, and the surroundings of the hotel are very green (when we just arrived we felt as we found ourselves in some sort of the resort).

You need a car to get to Hannover centre (or use taxi/public transport), but the price was very reasonable - at least compared to other venues in the area.

Staff was polite and always helpful (though we tried to speak in some funny German to them, so this could be an ice-breaker)...

Overall, keeping in mind the fair price, nice breakfast and helpful staff we would definitely recommend staying there, especially if you have a car with you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Traveller,
thank you very much for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living Hannover and for recommending it! We are happy that you liked the surroundings and the location of the hotel. Many thanks for the praise to our staff! We will be happy to pass it on to them.
We would be delighted if you chose to stay at one of our hotels again!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We had a 4 night stay here. The hotel is situated outside the city, so a 10 minute walk and a train ride get you into town easily. This can be a bit expensive though, as it's a one stop trip only. Trains stop in the evening and taxi fares are about €15 one way. So not the best location, as there are no other restaurants/bars nearby. Nice parkland setting helps make up for this, however.
The room was small but very well appointed and delightfully clean.
The service at reception was mainly good, although this definitely depended on the staff in attendance. The hotel claims to cater to English speakers - I would seriously recommend they train some of their reception staff in using good manners in addition.
Your only option with eating is the onsite restaurant, which is the damning failure of the whole place. The service is hit and miss - again depending on the staff - some are blatantly rude, and clearly stupid. The menu is a disaster with no real options. The food is appalling - most of it is out of packets, full of fake flavour and the salads usually limp. Worst of all, expect to pay through the nose.
No excuse for this in Germany where fresh food is plentiful and available everywhere!!! New chef needed, and service training for wait staff.
Overall, the great price and clean, convenient rooms made for a pleasant stay. Just take your own large picnic basket and pay a little extra for a room with a fridge ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellsonhertoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living Hannover! We are happy that you liked your room and enjoyed your stay.
Concerning the food in the restaurant, please be sure that we only work with fresh food. Retrospectively, we cannot explain why you got the impression that the food was not freshly prepared. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences!
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our service staff. As we are always trying to improve, we will take your comment as a basis to talk to them, so that similar cases can be avoided in the future.
We would be happy if you would visit us again and gave us the chance to convince you of our usual service standards!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The room was very clean except for a little bit of mold in the shower stall.The location is not easily accessible for people without a car. Beware of the lack of security in the parking area. It is isolated and very dark at night. We were told by the staff not to be concerned that they had good security. We were mislead, the security patrol comes by 4 times per night. Our car and 2 others were broken into overnight, windows smashed. The staff were not very helpful either, they seemed to be annoyed and inconvenienced when we asked them to call the police, they did not seem to care about our predicament and offered no help what so ever. I would not recommend this hotel, if you park there overnight you are taking a huge risk.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing G, Marketingleiterin at GHOTEL hotel & living, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Dear user of Tripadvisor

Thank you very much for choosing a hotel of GHOTEL hotel & living during your recent stay in Hanover.

GHOTEL hotel & living is situated in a calm residential area with public institutions like schools, in the near surrounding. In addition security patrols indeed pass by several times at night. We were shocked when we learnt from the situation described. Obviously this also referred to our staff. Even though this is more than a weak explanation for their hesitating behaviour, it is the only one that we have right now. We feel very sorry for what happened and we highly appreciated if you accepted our sincere apologies.

Your team
of
GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

"nothing". Free Internet at the Business center available as part of the package. But they deliberately to make more money from CeBIT visitors. We had to cancel the rooms early, the ladies at the reception were so rude, don't know the manners; they did not give 20% back to us after cancellation. They won't take US dollars, they won't take Travellers Checks....

One of the rude hotel I have ever come across...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravi Sankar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkeGreiling, Marketingleiterin at GHOTEL hotel & living, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at GHOTEL hotel & living Hannover and for sharing your impressions.

CeBIT is one of the most important German fairs and the demand for hotel rooms is respectively high. As a result, non-refundable high-season rates apply in hotels throughout Hanover during this period. We are sorry that you had to cancel your reservation which was based on this rate type.

All hotels of GHOTEL hotel & living accept Euros, American Express, Diners Club, Maestro/EC card, MasterCard and VISA as means of payment. The demand for payment by traveller cheques is quite low at the moment. However, we thank you for your information in this regard and we will keep an eye on the further development.

Best regards,
your team
of
GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel for six nights. The service from the male receptionist and brunette was disgustingly rude. The blond man at reception actually asked me: "What is it NOW???!!!!" in a really rude and irritated way when I approached the counter to ask for help about something. I asked for directions to catch bus and tram to the city center, and he gave me incomplete instructions. He rattled them off like it was a speed contest and he left out a lot of necessary information. I ended up waiting 20 minutes waiting for a tram that never came because of the lousy instructions, and spent 15 euros on a taxi instead. Another time, I had to walk 30 minutes to get back to the hotel because of the lousy directions and I got lost. Getting information about anything from this receptionist was like getting blood from a stone. For example, how to use the internet in the lounge downstairs - there is NO FREE INTERNET in the rooms (10 Euros an hour in the rooms). He told me I needed a LAN cord and he was so unhelpful he didn't tell me they supplied LAN cords to guests. I was about to go out and buy a LAN cord, he was so unkind and uninformative. He seemed to want to get rid of me as quickly as possible. Also the brasserie is terrible. I ordered pasta and water. I paid 2 euros for a tiny glass of (probably) tap water and she didn't even bring the bottle. It was not mineral water. Then the pasta dish was so salty and I got food poisoning from it - abdominal cramps and diarrhea all night. If you are not a German or European, you will probably be given terrible treatment from the arrogant blond male receptionist and the stupid ditzy brunette female receptionist who couldn't even give me instructions on public transport to and from the city. The blond FEMALE receptionist was good though; she seemed the only one who wanted to help. WARNING: Don't go here unless you are a German and have a car. You will be treated like a leper for asking questions and will pay through the nose for something like a glass of water (2 euros for a small glass (60 mls) of tap water and no bottle brought to the table.. ). It made me really upset. Lost tons of money catching taxis and spent tons of time walking around lost trying to get back to the hotel. Only good thing about the hotel is the park setting (including a lake with ducks) which is good for guests with pets but be careful there is dog poo everywhere - I almost sat down on dog poo when I sat down on the grass in the park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoneybunzTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Close to motorway, airport and city centre by car. Quiet location. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Very good, clean room. Very good, modest, in house restaurant. Conference facilities are good too. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatherof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
601 reviews
List
prizeotel Hannover-City
prizeotel Hannover-City
#2 of 159 in Hannover
197 reviews
Dormero Hotel Hannover
#9 of 159 in Hannover
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Ibis Hannover City
#16 of 159 in Hannover
433 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Suites Hannover City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living

Address: Lathusenstr. 15, 30625, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: £49 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GHOTEL hotel & living 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business and conference hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing