We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixing my mistakes with a smile”
Review of Hotel Sprenz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sprenz
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Oldenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I showed up to learn that I booked the wrong date (or I showed up on the wrong date, whichever.) The woman at the desk not only helped me find the next room, but she did it at the bare minimum of hassle and cost. She found me an excellent room with a rooftop terrace, which I assume from the other reviews, was one of the better ones. Shame on me for not getting her name, so I could call her out directly.

Saying the old town area is walking distance isn't doing it justice. It's crawling distance. Several wonderful outdoor cafes, shopping, ice cream shops and general stores have turned a medieval downtown into a relevant and walkable downtown. Lots of bike riders, pedestrians and handsome people enjoying the summer day… Oldenberg is a great summer day trip intro to Germany and this hotel is a perfectly easy place to enjoy that trip.

Room Tip: maybe try to get a room with windows NOT facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to reach by foot from Oldenburg central station, Hotel Sprenz offered a clean and above average sized room with a small roof-top terrace. The hotel and rooms were clean and well presented. During my stay there was scaffolding blocking the view that was of course temporary but showed me that the hotel building was being kept modern in its appearance. The hotel's travel bag was a good idea for those on the go.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank tototronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

For business purposes I visited the Hotel Sprenz for one night. The location is ideal: city center at walking distance and excellend bus stations right before the hotel. The room I stayed in was basic, with a small kitchen. Nothing special, but no complaints. The breakfirst was fantastic, both qualitatively and quantitatively wise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartenHoukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Sprenz for two weeks while at a Summer programme. The extensive breakfast, with many cheese, fruits, meats, breads, muesli, and assorted honeys/jams definitely keeps this at the top of my list for return trips. The single beds are very narrow compared to most hotels, but the room was clean and nicely kept. Staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel is an easy walk from the train station, bus, and markets. Best of all they have the most delicious marshmallow mice at the front desk...

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street, can be a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Friendly desk service, good rooms, nice breakfast, fair rates, good location, but don’t stay at the street side in Summer: with open windows in Summer it can be noisy. We have been there for several times, but not yet in Summer. Our room had no A/C-rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hajo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed at Hotel Sprenz for 2 nights during a business trip to Germany. Our office is in Rastede but there was no decent hotel available there for the duration of my visit and started looking in the vicinity - ~10km drive.

Sprenz is quite small but well located, clean and the service is outstanding. The rooms are spacious and clean, updated bathrooms and you can also benefit from free Wifi throughout the hotel. Free parking available too. For dinner options there are quite a few good restaurants around the hotel – 5 min walk.

The room rate was inclusive of breakfast which was served at the ground floor. They have a very good selection, cold cuts, cheese, eggs, vegetables, yummy breads – everything you need for a healthy breakfast.

I definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were warmly greeted by a freindly staff and were easily upgraded to a new room when we changed our requirements (one sick traveller needing some extra privacy). The room had a small kitchen which was very well equipped. If you get a kitchenette there is a Bio and a Netto to pick up groceries down the road to the right as you exit the hotel (about 2 blocks). The breakfast was very good, laid out with colourful dishes, and in a very creative way. Everything was clean and well maintained, and the selection of extras from coffee in the foyer to dispensing machines.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room with a separate bedroom and a couch that we could make into a bed. The deck lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oldenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Altera Hotel
Altera Hotel
#6 of 17 in Oldenburg
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosenbohm Designhotel
Rosenbohm Designhotel
#9 of 17 in Oldenburg
33 reviews
0 mi away
B&B Hotel Oldenburg
B&B Hotel Oldenburg
#2 of 17 in Oldenburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel Oldenburg
Hermes Hotel Oldenburg
#1 of 17 in Oldenburg
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Wieting
Hotel Wieting
#3 of 17 in Oldenburg
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Heide
Best Western Hotel Heide
#5 of 17 in Oldenburg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sprenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sprenz

Address: Heiligengeiststr. 15, 26121 Oldenburg, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Oldenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Oldenburg
Price Range: £98 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sprenz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sprenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing