We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not more than average, disappointing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel am Stadtpark Wilhelmshaven
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Wilhelmshaven
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not more than average, disappointing breakfast”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night, its located next to a park, outside center of Wilhelmshaven, next to intersection, not far from Autobahn #29. Upon arrival 4 to 5 people were standing at the reception...and the lady was on the phone. No big deal, a little sign..."I will be with you in a second" would have been enough, but she continued her call as if nobody would be there. Finally my room was good in size, but with the charm of the 80ties. Including the smell. In the bathroom the shower head was new, apart everything 80ties style again. Towels quite nagged. The hotel should spend some euros in renovation and redecoration. The biggest disappointment however was breakfast. It was not 4 star, but more 2 star in choice + quality. The very best thing about the hotel: enough free parking in front of the hotel. I personally don´t like hotels that never invest in the hotel , thus don´t invest in the relationship with the customer. I would not necessarily go back to the hotel if others nearby would be available for same price or even bit more.

Room Tip: room to the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
6
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Good service team in the hotel, rooms have been totally worth it, breakfast was okay, the sauna and pool area was a bit outdated
A car is necessary to get around and the hote is perfectly located when come from the Autobahn

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights. Initially, I was a bit concerned because of its location. You need to have a car if you stay at this hotel. If you have a car, the location isn't that bad. There's a supermarket within walking distance of the hotel which is convenient. The rooms are decent size as are the bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is ok with limited options. The staff are friendly but sometimes a bit slow. This is one of those places where you tend to like it better the longer you stay. The setting is peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It was one night stay here but the hotel room was stinking as soon as i entered.
had cranky doors and poor noise proofing done due to which it was hard to sleep with doors banging and water flushing noises in the toilet quite audible.
Cranky bed and mattress was added bonus.
Only good was the restaurant that was serving good breakfast,apart from that,skip if you can stay in any other hotel of the city

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAYED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I travel pretty frequently to Wilhelmshaven and try always to stay at Hotel am Stadtpark.

I have literally tried all other (major) hotels in the town, but only Stadtpark can provide me a good nights sleep and on top of that, a very good breakfast.

Always polite service, english is definitely not a problem for the staff.

You may sense that time has stood somehow still in the hotel, espcially in the rooms. Which should not be seen as a negative comment. Because/thanks to this, there is this very special atmosphere of calmness and peacefulness in the entire hotel. The hotel is very quiet, despite the fact that its located between a police station and a hospital! You hardly hear any disturbing noice from the outside (or inside).

The rooms are very clean. They have modern flatscreen TV:s, free wireless internet and a mini-bar with remarkable low prices (a bottle of beer only 2.50 €). Fresh fruits in the room and many times even a free mineralwater bottle. Bathrooms have either a bathtube or just a shower.

If you are travelling with car, then the location is excellent. Close to the autobahn and free parking places. Wilhelmshaven city center is located roughly 5 km from the hotel. If no car, then the easiest way is to grab a taxi if you need to get to town. The hotel has some sort of shuttle service, though not sure what it covers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhentKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I stayed in this hotel for a recent business trip to the nearby chemical plant.
Arrived around 8pm and the receptionist spoke perfect English (after she realised my German was not so good).
Rooms are very minimalistic but clean and have everything you require.
Bathrooms are clean and the shower was excellent - good water pressure and easily adjustable temperature controls.
Large 32" TV in my room although only BBC World Service channel was in English (but you are in Germany so don't expect Eastenders & Corrie).
There was the opportunity to purchase English language pay movies if you wised.
Free high speed Wireless internet available in the room (once you obtain log on details at reception).
Food in the restaurant is very good quality.
Not sure if the menu is typically German but there was a reasonable choice on offer including sirloin steak, grilled haddock, chicken etc.
Staff in the restaurant could also speak English as well although I think it's polite if you try to order your food in German if you can.
The beer as you would expect in Germany was also very nice.
Parking available out front within a short driving distance from the motorway/dual carriageway.
I didn't travel into Wilhelmshaven town itself so I'm not sure how easy it would to get into town.
The hotel is close to a hospital so I would imagine it would be possible via bus.
Reception would no doubt be able to advise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustCallMeBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
211 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

The hotel is in a quiet area outside the city centre. Reception has no atmosphere at all and only has a high table and chairs, no place to really sit down and wait or relax . And when you get to your room it is the same, only a couple of very uncomfortable chairs, a desk and the smallest TV I have ever seen in a hotel room. Bed was OK and the bathroom too. Had dinner in the Alkoven Restaurant. Excellent service, the food tasted good but nothing special. Breakfast buffet was included in the price and was very good.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilhelmshaven hotels
2.8 mi away
ATLANTIC Hotel Wilhelmshaven
ATLANTIC Hotel Wilhelmshaven
#1 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nordseehotel
Nordseehotel
#10 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
City Hotel Valois
City Hotel Valois
#4 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
AKZENT Strandhotels Seestern & Delphin
1.8 mi away
Ankerplatz Hotel
Ankerplatz Hotel
#5 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banter Hof
Banter Hof
#6 of 17 in Wilhelmshaven
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Stadtpark Wilhelmshaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Stadtpark Wilhelmshaven

Property: Hotel am Stadtpark Wilhelmshaven
Address: Friedrich-Paffrath-Str. 116, 26389 Wilhelmshaven, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Wilhelmshaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Wilhelmshaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Stadtpark Wilhelmshaven 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel am Stadtpark Wilhelmshaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing