We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost 5/5 but for cost of wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Wolfsburg
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost 5/5 but for cost of wi-fi”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel itself is a credit to the Holiday Inn chain. A good bar with a good selection of drinks and a good atmosphere. The restaurant looked good (although it was not used by this reviewer). The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of the normal continental buffet cold meats, cheeses, as well as yoghurts, fruit, cereals and hot food.
The bedroom was very good and comfortable with a good bed. The bathroom had Dove dispensers for cleanser and shampoo rather than little soap bars and small bottles.
The disappointment was the wi-fi. The last Holiday Inn I was at had slow free wi-fi which was OK for emails, and chargeable fast broadband for streaming. Holiday Inn Wolfsburg only has the expensive charged connection - where the minimum fee was €5 for 1 hour. They could do something like make the first 30 or 60 minutes free, and then charge.
I can thoroughly recomment a visit to VW Autostadt while you are there. It was worth the admission to watch the car park towers in operation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Edmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    79
    30
    13
See reviews for
48
44
14
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I took my partner on a short trip out to Wolfsburg basically so he could stare at cars for 3 days, there was no way I could afford the Ritz Carlton so the Holiday Inn seemed to the safe choice.

It was clean, the staff were friendly but it really could do with a spruce and a bit of modernisation. I was a little annoyed by the bed situation, I booked a queen bed and got what appeared to be two doubles each with a duvet cover that barely covered the bed; I called the reception and asked for a bigger duvet only to be told that was the biggest! It didn't matter anyway as the beds appeared very old and soft and my partner spent both nights sleeping on the floor due to getting a bad back; I however can sleep anywhere so it didn't really bother me.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have one drink in the bar; bar staff seemed friendly and the drinks weren't too expensive.

Internet access said on the website it was only 7Euro but it turned out to be a lot more, so no communication with the outside world for us!

I've stayed in much better for less than the 85Euros a night but as another reviewer mentioned there aren't many places to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear GemsG,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the bed size confusion and the internet access charges. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarajevo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Hotel is good, nice location, service OK. However, this is business hotel and it is ridiculous that you have to pay such a high charges for internet. During the stay there was a very noisy group of Germans, and it was impossible to sleep before midnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidasba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A disappointing stay in a slightly run-down hotel. The bathroom faucets were missing the finishings and a few other fixtures were damaged / missing. The staff were OK, but when I showed them my Priority Club number on my phone, without typing it in, they said it wasn't one (=more work for them to type it in?)! I double checked it on my computer and I was correct. One of my colleagues was charged EUR 9.60 for a bottle of water. Front desk gets stymied when more than two people show up to check in or check out. But the biggest insult of all was the Internet, which they charge EUR 17.00 per DAY for. Come on, guys, not gaining a lot of good will with business travelers there!

Room Tip: Don't know, mine on the 1st floor was not very good, faced the front with large neon signs on al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear ctinct,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to write our hotel a review. I am glad that you found our location satisfactory for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by some amenities not working during your stay.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wolfsburg hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September for the local half marathon in September,which was ideally situated at the start and finish were less than a 5minute walk
The hotel is at the far end of the pedestrianised street where there are restaurants,bakeries,banks,shops,etc.The reception and the front of the hotel is facing residential houses so is quiet,but there is local traffic during the busy times of the day.
The hotel is nice and clean,it just felt as though it could do with brightening up.I cant honestly say it was very good but was better than average.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful
The rooms were very spacious,pleasantly decorated,which large windows that opened.The bed and pillows were so comfortable.No kettle or safe,but the info said there were deposit boxes free of charge in reception.The room was very quiet,which we had asked for
The bathroom had a full size bath
There was a free indoor swimming pool and sauna.I used the pool once,it is only small and the whole area felt dated.The sauna wasnt even on.So if you plan to use it make sure its on 1st
Outside of the main restaurant there are some wooden tables and chairs.which I just sat in,in the sun

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Why go to Wolfsburg my German builder told me .. Well for the family this location was perfect. The children loved Autostadt a totally unique experience, the magical water displays, the Monkey man activity centre and science museum. Then the shops, within walking distance which for my elderly mother in law, perfect. My youngest daughter adored watching the rabbits at breakfast time and from our room. The hotel team were superb. A special mention to the barman who was highly attentive providing unique insights each evening and the restaurant team too that made my daughters birthday really special. Wolfsburg for a leisure break - perfect I now say and a great location for also visiting Berlin and Hannover. Highly recommended, thank you...

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms available which provide great flexibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were charmed by this hotel and the bunnies. I traveled with my 12 year old son and we like that kidn of stuff. The pool was small but clean, and we enjoyed a dip or two in it. Very clean and nice sized rooms. The breakfast was good too - great variety, nice hot coffee and fresh. It`s not really in the midst of the city but we were able to walk from Phaeno to the hotel with no problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolfsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Innside by Melia Wolfsburg
Innside by Melia Wolfsburg
#2 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Wolfsburg Hotel
Tryp Wolfsburg Hotel
#5 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Wolfsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Inn
Global Inn
#4 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#16 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkhotel Wolfsburg
Parkhotel Wolfsburg
#6 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center
Address: Rathausstr. 1, 38440 Wolfsburg, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Wolfsburg)
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Wolfsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wolfsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You need a hotel for your business or weekend trip in Wolfsburg? Our Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center will be the right choice! The hotel is perfectly situated next to the City Center at the southern part of the pedestrian area, the museum of modern Art and the theatre. The principle plant of Volkswagen AG, the Autostadt Themepark, the Volkswagen stadium of VFL Wolfsburg, the Convention Center and the Designer Outlet Center DOC are just a few minutes walk away. Due to our friendly service and the relaxed atmosphere we offer a perfect home on road for everyone. Most of our 207 spacious and comfortable guestrooms are newly refurnished and have a complete modern design. All guestrooms and public areas are equipped with air conditioning (HVAC) and free High Speed Internet Access (WIFI). The 6 conference rooms can accommodate up to 220 people. Our banqueting team will help you to turn your business meeting or your anniversary to a great event. Apart from that we have a buffet breakfast restaurant and one hotel bar serving lunch, dinner, hot snacks and cool drinks. We also offer a Indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium and next to the hotel 160 car parking and bus parking lots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wolfsburg
Wolfsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing