We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Wolfsburg
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel again after avoiding it for many years due to my impressions from previous stays. I was pleasantly surprised to find the decor in the lobby more modern than last time I was there and my room clean, fresh smelling and comfortable. My only small negative was that it was a bit too warm, even with the heat off and window open (cold outside). Service at the desk and in the lobby bar was friendly and prompt. The parking garage is a bit difficult with any thing bigger than a VW Beetle - I had a rental mid size car that took some work to get up and down the ramps between the levels - watch the high curbs. The hotel is at the end of a shopping area pedestrian zone so there are some shops and casual food within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfarm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    78
    30
    13
See reviews for
48
44
14
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the 28th of Juky 2013.
Outside it was 35 degrees C.
So than one would expect that the window in the room was not open, but it was. So all the hot air came from outside into the room. Small detail.
The room had airco, so it had to work to make the room comfy. Strange however that the curtain is partly blocking the cold air flow. Small detail.
In the bathroom some tiles had a rather big hole. Why ? Small detail.

The bed was good I slept well. Important detail.
I had diner in the hotel and that was good. The breakfast was also good.
Also I used the pool, that was very welcome with the 35C outside.
Very nice pool.

Parking the car is a challenge, as the parking garage seems to be a prodcut of the zeventies.
A VW Golf from 2013 is as wide as a Mercedes in 1976. So the parking lots are a bit crampy. Small detail.
But the ramps to go to the higher floors is also rather small. It seems that a lot of cars damaged the alloy wheels at the side congrete of the ramp. That's a rather big detail.
It's not easy to change those ramps, but be aware if you have a big car. The parking garage is a kind of challenge.

Summary, not a bad hotel, it's clear it's a product of the zeventies. Some details (maintenance and design) needing attention.
Good food.
Crampy parking garage.
Very friendely staff.
Worth the price

Room Tip: Don't go for the ground floor, everyone on the street can look into your room. I would like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa3ddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed here. We booked a 'superior' room with a queen size bed. We checked in to find the room was not one of the modern rooms pictured all over the holiday inn website but a run down room and complete throw back to the 80's. The room itself was completely different to the room we had actually booked with two small double beds as opossed to the queen size bed we had paid for. To make matters worse each of these double beds only had a single duvet meaning that only one person could sleep in the bed. Went back to reception to ask what the 'superior' room included and if there had been a mistake. Unfortunately the German receptionist didn't understand what our complaint was regarding due to the language barrier and automatically assumed that two men would want two separate beds. Highly embarrassing trying to explain whilst other guests were queuing behind us, I eventually gave up. We tried using the wifi which apparently came free with the 'superior' room as the receptionist explained but there was no option to login, after calling reception we were told we needed a pass and would have to go all the way back downstairs to get it. We didn't bother. The next morning we went to the pool and sauna to relax, the pool was excellent but the sauna was not working at all with no signs to say otherwise. We then proceeded to eat breakfast which thankfully was very nice. In conclusion the breakfast was the only part of our stay that we actually enjoyed. The hotel was very run down (see pictures). Wall lights missing from the walls with exposed wires taped up, dark and dingy decor and out dated bathrooms. Exactly the opposite of what is pictured on the website. It really was not a pleasant experience at all and even after complaining through the correct channels two weeks and two chaser emails later sadly no response from management. Poor show! My advice would be; GO WITH THE RITZ CARLTON!

Room Tip: Go with the Ritz Carlton, in the grand scheme of things its not all that more expensive, is very clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Kevin C,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wolfsburg hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this an hour before arriving thinking that Holiday Inn would be a good known standard.
The 2 disabled spaces near the door were being used by able bodied drivers of flash cars but reception didn't care.

Our room was clean and spacious and noisy. It was on the first floor above the boiler room and we were treated to a regular harmonic noise. The deputy manager came up and listened, she was most surprised as no-one had ever complained before. ?? The only room they could offer as an alternative was a long walk from the lift so we declined. No other reparation was offered. Not impressive.

The staff we met at the Terrace restaurant were delightful and we had a pleasant but expensive meal.

Luckily we were only staying one night

Room Tip: Don't accept room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear alisongs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Guest Relations via email at HI-GuestRelations@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up on your experience.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the worst IHG hotel. On the first day they did not bother to clean our room , but took the glasses away, yes they refunded the night stay, but this is not the end of our headache.

On Monday at 9am they started drilling on the roof, without any warning. When asked them to stop it was if we where in the wrong, surely a Hotel is run for its guest and they should have decommissioned the room to allow for building work. We then told them when when we where going out and they told us the work would be over by the time we got back. We got back to make an international call and guess what the drilling started again and again we asked them to stop, on the third call to reception they asked me to stop shouting at them, who was I meant to shout at? I then asked to speak with the manager who stood there with his hands on his hips in a defence position. The whole team seemed to have forgotten what a hotel does, provide a clean a quiet room for its guest.

On check out no appolgy was made and we shall never stay again. We would recommend the Alte Wolf in Wolfsburg which offers clean and quiet rooms with nice food and respectful staff.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear lozza21,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We loved food in the bar as the restaurant was closed that night, but we received a fantastc service from the waier who worked in that hotel for long time named schulc( not too sure sorry) . Our filet mignons were superb. Kids menue was very impresive as well. Would come back for the food and bar service back!! Hotel was dated. We went to swimming pool and there was a beer party in sauna which put us off so havent used that facility.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joasiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was here for one night only for the conclusion of the Movimentos festival held in Wolfsburg. The hotel is about 15-20 min walk from Wolfsburg Hauptbahnhof through the centre of Wolfsburg. The property is situated south of the city, there is a Bavarian restaurant very close to the hotel (Paulaner Botschoft) which was very good.

The hotel is good, admittedly some parts of the room look slightly dated, but you can not upgrade rooms all the time? Rooms were very clean, spacious and very comfortable bed. For one night, I could not ask for much more. Check-in took slightly longer than expected, with no rooms available at that time (at 14:45 on a Sunday afternoon) but the reception staff took charge of the situation, I was asked to be seated at the lobby and within 5-10 minutes there was a room available. The situation was well handled by the staff and they were always courteous.

As others have pointed out in the review, the Wi-Fi is not free, but for one night this was no big deal, I simply used my Data connection on my German mobile. Remember that people do not usually visit Wolfsburg for pleasure, it's the HQ of VW and hotels are looking to make profit from the business guests, that is fair to say.

The bar was good and was happily surprised that at 1am on a Sunday night (Monday morning) it was still open and with my friend we enjoyed one last beer before sleeping. Never took breakfast, since my train was relatively early next morning and I grabbed something at the station.

Wolfsburg does not have too many choices for hotels and if I ever come back to Wolfsburg to stay, this will be the first hotel I will check. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolfsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Innside by Melia Wolfsburg
Innside by Melia Wolfsburg
#2 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp Wolfsburg Hotel
Tryp Wolfsburg Hotel
#5 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Wolfsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Inn
Global Inn
#4 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#16 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkhotel Wolfsburg
Parkhotel Wolfsburg
#6 of 26 in Wolfsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center
Address: Rathausstr. 1, 38440 Wolfsburg, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Wolfsburg)
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Wolfsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wolfsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You need a hotel for your business or weekend trip in Wolfsburg? Our Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center will be the right choice! The hotel is perfectly situated next to the City Center at the southern part of the pedestrian area, the museum of modern Art and the theatre. The principle plant of Volkswagen AG, the Autostadt Themepark, the Volkswagen stadium of VFL Wolfsburg, the Convention Center and the Designer Outlet Center DOC are just a few minutes walk away. Due to our friendly service and the relaxed atmosphere we offer a perfect home on road for everyone. Most of our 207 spacious and comfortable guestrooms are newly refurnished and have a complete modern design. All guestrooms and public areas are equipped with air conditioning (HVAC) and free High Speed Internet Access (WIFI). The 6 conference rooms can accommodate up to 220 people. Our banqueting team will help you to turn your business meeting or your anniversary to a great event. Apart from that we have a buffet breakfast restaurant and one hotel bar serving lunch, dinner, hot snacks and cool drinks. We also offer a Indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium and next to the hotel 160 car parking and bus parking lots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Wolfsburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wolfsburg
Wolfsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing