We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dis the job and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gasthaus Alter Wolf
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Wolfsburg
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a concert in the Autostadt.

+
Very good located for this purpose. 5m walk to the venue
Very good steaks!
Very quiet location.
Clean
Off road parking spot
Nice terrace

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

This hotel is wonderful, not necessarily for the rooms, but for the excellent location. A 5 minute walk takes you to Schloss Wolfsburg - an excellent piece of architecture with picturesque grounds. There is also a wonderful horse stable/riding school nearby - providing plenty of old world scenes for those with cameras. The in-house restaurant at the hotel is excellent and highly recommended for those seeking authentic Deutsches cuisine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

In planning to attend the U.S. Women's Soccer World Cup game with Sweden in Wolfsburg, I happened upon the Gasthus Alter Wolf, which is in walking distance from the Volkswagen Arena and Schloss Wolfsburg. To make reservations there, one needs to go to the hotel's website (in German, but easily translatable using Google Translate) and use their online reservation form.

Our room at the Alter Wolf was rustic but clean. Our stay included breakfast which was good and offered some variety. When we arrived at the hotel, we had a light snack at the hotel's restaurant, but didn't have dinner there since the restaurant closed prior to the ending of the game--a bit of an inconvenience since there were not any eating establishments in the immediate vicinity.

If you are in Wolfsburg for soccer or to visit the Volkswagen factory, the Gasthaus Alter Wolf would be a reasonably priced hotel away from the center of town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I stayed at Gasthouse Alter Wolf with a German friend as we were in town to watch the football. The hotel was an incredible find (and only found through my friend's local knowledge) - very cheap compared with other hotels in Wolfsburg and still retaining a very rustic charm. the rooms, whilst not spectacular, were very clean and well presented. My friend's room was smaller than mine and both only came with single beds; however I can't fault them for cleanliness or for the comfort of the beds - both of which were excellent.

The hotel is situated just outside of Wolfsburg proper; about 10/15mins walk from the football ground and about 30 minutes walk from the city centre. This proved no problem and cabs back from the centre of town were very reasonably priced.

Overall this was an excellent experience. I may have had trouble as an English speaker on my own had I not had a local with me though!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

A characterful hotel just a couple of minutes walk from the castle. A pleasant area nicer than the city centre.
We were visiting Phaeno and VW and walked to the hotel from the city centre. Tip: on foot after crossing the river, continue to the end of Berliner Brucke and take the footbridge that points towards the castle. It's a much quicker and more pleasant walk than going the long way on Schulenburgallee.
We didn't have an evening meal but the restaurant looked busy with predominantly middle aged and older diners.
Breakfasts we're good and varied with great scrambled eggs with cheese and ham in (only on Sunday)!
Courteous staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RolandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rollstuhlreisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Gasthaus Alter Wolf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wolrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centro H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Gasthaus Alter Wolf, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolfsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#13 of 27 in Wolfsburg
34 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel An der Wasserburg
3.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Strijewski
Novum Hotel Strijewski
#15 of 27 in Wolfsburg
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
TRYP Wolfsburg
TRYP Wolfsburg
#3 of 27 in Wolfsburg
239 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel zur Boerse
Hotel zur Boerse
#19 of 27 in Wolfsburg
21 reviews
1 mi away
Innside by Melia Wolfsburg
Innside by Melia Wolfsburg
#2 of 27 in Wolfsburg
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Alter Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Alter Wolf

Address: Schlossstr. 21, 38448 Wolfsburg, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Wolfsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Wolfsburg
Price Range: £48 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Alter Wolf 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gasthaus Alter Wolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing